We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, Warm, and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Promotion
Ranked #14 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
cookingmdmom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hip, Warm, and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently had our 4th stay in 3 years at the Palomar. We come to Westwood to visit our daughter who is a student at UCLA. The hotel is very convenient to campus. We decided to bring our golden retriever with us and she felt very welcome as well--her name was on a bone-shaped blackboard at the entrance, and she was provided with treats and a cushy dog bed.
We needed to print up theater tickets and this was taken care of very quickly at the front desk.
The room was spacious and the decor is slick and modern. A nice touch is that they ask you in advance to email a personal photo so when you arrive, there is a framed picture on the desk, making it more like home! They were also savvy and respectful of our Sabbath observance.

Room Tip: The upper floors have great views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling is practiced, and guests are encouraged to save water.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words. I'm happy to hear that our team was able to meet every expectation that was important to you. We hope you keep coming to see us even after your daughter finishes school. Thanks again and Go Bruins!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    352
    95
    42
    31
See reviews for
313
349
117
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely hotel in Westwood district of LA. Don't be put off by the fact that it may look a little far out. LA is so spread out the you will never be close to all the attractions and Westwood is a good safe area and has easy access to transport links. We used public transport and a hop on hop off bus for the whole trip and it worked really well. Hotel is modern and well furnished we had a great room with a fantastic view. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you, we appreciate the feedback about our great location. Westwood might not be as familiar as Beverly Hills (despite only being 2 miles away) or Santa Monica (only 3 miles) but our central location makes it a great jumping off point for everything great in LA. Have a great summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing like the personalized attention of a boutique hotel. The Palomar is one of the best; from the friendly smiles of the valet guys, to the warm welcome of the front desk people, they addressed us by name-and treated our dogs like they were their own best friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks we love all of your family including the four legged ones! We appreciate the kind words and do hope you come back soon, dog and all!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I am a 5 time return visitor to the Hotel Palomar and each visit gives me more reasons to return. From the moment reservations are made, to my arrival with a picture of my pup frame next to the bed, I feel welcomed, conscientiously considered and indulged. The happy hour is a real plus at the end of a long day at an academic conference. The plush robes, comfy beds, extra pillows--simple yet meaningful additions that translate into a relaxing and comfortable home away from home. I get so spoiled by the service and amenities at Hotel Palomar that subsequent hotel stays invariably disappoint and frustrate me! I look forward to seeing the staff each year and have written the hotel management to applaud their efforts and expertise. Put this hotel on your list if you're in the UCLA area and bring your pups! Water bowl and treats await them too!

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room so i have no specific suggestions in this regard
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm thrilled that the hotel goes out of their way to be environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
That's wonderful to hear and thank you so much for your loyalty! I can't tell you how thrilled I am to hear that our people make the experience special for you from the framed picture of your pup to our great Wine Hour. From the bottom of our hearts thank you for being a repeat guest. It means everything to us.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a great hotel. Friendly and welcoming staff. Convenient to everything. Fast and efficient valet and free morning coffee in the lobby. Easy, relaxed feeling. Will definitely stay there again. Nice (small) pool area and great lobby. Dog friendly. Best thing - they put a goldfish in our room (which they took care of) and we loved having it there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you, we truly appreciate it. I'm also happy to see you took us up on our Guppy Love program. Our guests (and staff) really enjoy it. Please come back soon, we'll have a fish waiting to welcome you!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Sometimes when you vacation and travel in excess you get tired of the same hotels. This hotel is what the major chains are trying to replicate now that they realize travelers are looking for a unique place to stay with consistency.
This hotel is in a great location and has a comfortable unique feel that is perfect for anyone headed to LA.
Heather, a student who works in the restaurant at breakfast, is incredible at providing good customer service and should be looked at by management for upward mobility.
I loved the room and the bathroom. I will come back for sure.
One final note to management....my maid left a note in the room that totally impressed me. She is a WOW,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank so so much! We truly appreciate the wonderful feedback about Heather and the entire team at BLVD16. She's a very special person and we're lucky to have her. Also glad to see that our Housekeeping team surprised you with a note; they enjoy being a memorable part of your stay. Our thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Kimpton hotels are always exceptional. The properties are great, but its the service that really sets them apart. From the small gifts for my kids, to the free wine delivered on one stay as I had a long flight in, to remembering me from prior stays, the staff are fantastic. It's not hard to do, yet so many businesses are horrible at service. Kimpton excels here and it is clearly by design and a corporate expectation. Stay at one. You will be a raving fan like me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HotelPalomar, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you, we do expect the best from ourselves and it's very rewarding when we hear we delivered. Our people are the Secret Sauce and they always deliver for us! Have a great spring and please come back and see us this summer.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Palomar LA - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.