We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay, enjoyable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Savings
Ranked #9 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Maria, California
1 review
“Short stay, enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very enjoyable, if short, one night, stay. Personnel are outstanding starting with the valet team. Front desk very welcoming, helpful, to the extent of going off to make needed copies (for our Consulate meeting early next morning) off premise before a copying shop near hotel closed.
Would highly recommend if you need a place in the area. Comfortable, non pretentious. Arrived shorty after 1pm and given room immediately. No rush to check out.

Room Tip: Had a room on 18th floor, very quiet. View of Westwood neighborhood.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel's environmentally friendly practices are very much appreciated. Wish more hotels were as conscientious. From the cleanliness of room, bedding, etc. it is obvious great effort is taken in this regard.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Anna H,

We pride ourselves on service and love putting smiles on our guest's faces. Our people make all the difference and are truly amazing. Thanks for choosing the Palomar and letting us take care of you!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    318
    85
    38
    27
See reviews for
291
325
112
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a great three day stay at the Hotel Palomar and as usaual found the accomadations to be nicly designed and very comfortable. The hotel staff is attentive and welcoming and the extra services like complimentry coffee service in the morning and the happy hour in the lobby in the evening are nice additions that made the stay more comfortable.
The properties location is in a lovely residential area but central to both beach and downtown allowing me to easly mix business and leasure time.
I am making the Palomar my LA hotel.

Room Tip: South facing rooms are quieter since they do not face Wilshire Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear VimMcG,

That's what we love to hear! Welcome to the family! We are all about the work/leisure balance. You know what they say about all work and no play...Hope to see you soon!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights on business in October 2013 and have to say it exceeded all of my expectations. It's a boutique style place with a funky lobby area where they serve complimentary coffee in the morning and wine tasting every evening. A great way to start and end your day when you're there on business. The restaurant/bar has a good vibe and great selections of food and drink.
I stayed in a standard king room which was ample, very well appointed and had a great contemporary feel.
There is free wifi after you sign up to their loyalty program which is great for the overseas business traveller, like me!
Overall, very much punching above its weight and I would go back there for either business or vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Pete L,

Nothing like that glass of wine, or two...waiting for you after a day in the office. Now that the business trip was a success, you get to comer back for a true LA vacation! Thanks for staying with us.

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here one night with our two dogs. Upon arrival (keep in mind we had spent the past 9 days driving across country from NY, so we were probably a little disheveled). I could feel the valet practically cringing but trying to keep it under control. Maybe from all the random bags that we needed to unload, yes for only one night, or maybe because our vehicle wasn't a sports car, or maybe because it wasn't spotless?? I don't know. And the interior wasn't dirty with accumulated garbage either, it was very clean. The doorman, who the valet was exchanging glances with, didn't seem to be a person who liked dogs either, poor guy. Not that he has to pet every dog, but the look on his face when our younger dog was trying to get his attention spoke for itself.
The front desk staff, bartender and room service was all excellent.
We sat with our dogs in the lobby for their cocktail hour and enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine and listened to some live music, that was nice and the wine was very good. The other guests in the hotel who we chatted with were also very nice.

In the morning I brought our dogs outside and luckily grabbed a cup of coffee on the way back to the room. They have complimentary coffee in the morning but it only goes until 9am. When we went back down just after 9, it had already been cleaned up... bummer.
They have a great restaurant/bar/lounge that we enjoyed happy hour in. But dogs are not allowed. They have a decent room service menu though and in my opinion, was reasonably priced too. Seemed very comparable to the prices in the restaurant.

It is nice to know dogs can stay at any Kimpton without paying pet fees. That was a huge plus which helped offset the $11 phone charged we received for making a phone call!!! I think I wasn't even on the phone for 5 minutes. That was so stupid! I called Carmel, CA... not Canada. They have free wi-fi, pets stay free, and then change $2 a minute to make a phone call. I would've used my cell but I didn't have the best reception in the room.

As for the room. It was beautiful! We didn't really have a view of much, we were facing the back of the hotel. But it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear LaceyNY,

I love the DJs at wine hour too! Great to hear the staff made you and your furry friends feel at home.

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Hotel Palomar LA -- a stopover on an international trip. Room was contemporary in styling; not a great view (faced north toward Wilshire Blvd.) But it was QUIET! We felt like we were the only ones staying on our floor. The hotel was convenient to get to the Getty, our primary sightseeing stop. The hotel staff was friendly. They were happy to hold our bags after checkout until our evening flight. Would definitely consider another stay at the Hotel Palomar the next time we're in LA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear acedaughter,

We will get you a south facing room next time so you see the awesome sunrises and sunsets. Come see us again soon when you can stay longer and see all the great spots in LA!

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was a really cool place. The staff were super friendly and the attentive. The foam pillows we requested were in our room when we arrived. The room was decorated in a very contemporary comfortable style. Everything was done really well and the location was great especially for us traveling to see an athletic event at UCLA. The maps for jogging we great and we enjoyed the bar in the lobby. We will definitely return and will seek out other Klimpton Hotels as we travel to other cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear lmh926,

The jog through the UCLA campus is awesome! Great way to see Westwood. We are opening a new hotel and restaurant in Seattle next year, maybe your new local spot...? Come see us on your next trip down the coast.

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A major let down. Having read great reviews on here, I booked a skyline view room through the Kimpton website and made requests for foam pillows through the Kimpton Intouch programme. After a long flight, I checked in with a printed copy of the reservation and was put into a standard room with a view of Wilshire apartments. After a couple of days I asked at reception and they admitted messing up. I was on the floor foam pillows are kept on rather than the top floor I had booked. The hotel had also asked for a photo to be emailed in advance to be in the room when I arrived; it wasn't there and who knows where it ended up - certainly not on floor 16 with the foam pillow stock. Staff apologised, offered a change but I didn't want to pack everything up again and so amended room rate to standard and comped a breakfast.

And that sort of sums up my experience. There is a lack of attention to detail. The check-in saw my booking, but didn't read it. A photo was sent and not used. There is no full length mirror in the room (we're off to a wedding). The lighting at breakfast is so gloomy and the service so slow it feels as if you've slipped into the Twilight Zone.

The staff are friendly, and the valet guys exceptional in speed and service. But it all feels like a lot of talk and not much walk...

Room Tip: Take a print out of your booking and double check you're getting what you've paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear mdrhobbs,

Sorry! We dropped the ball on this one and would love to make it up to you. Please contact me at the hotel do discuss your stay.

Cheers,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.