We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall-ing For You
Ranked #13 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Belton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you want every detail taken care of, book this hotel. Great property, great location, great staff. I met several "locals" that make a daily stop at the Kimpton bar just for the ambience and people. That tells me alot! I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cmoorevision,

We all like to go where everybody knows your name and I'm so happy you learned that BLVD.16 is one of those special places where we do just that!

Come back again soon and hang out with your friends!

Best Regards,

James Dannecker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    341
    93
    41
    31
See reviews for
311
341
117
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel did not live up to the reviews nor what is expected from a Kimpton Hotel. We choose this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday. When we arrived the room was not ready and we waited when they decided to change our room. The room was nice but very small. Did not like the pocket door for the bathroom. Because they changed rooms, our picture was not in the room which they sent us an email a week before to provide a pic to be put in the room. We called about the pic but they could not locate it and advised we would have it in the morning when we checked out. We also asked for a fish which we never received. It took awhile for my husbands surprise to be brought to the room since we moved. We had parking, breakfast and room rate. The breakfast is only good for $20 credit not a free breakfast so be prepared to pay as the food is pricey. When we checked out the next morning they did not have the picture, nor was the manager on duty very concerned about our complaints. We left very unhappy with the treatment? Received an email a couple days later from the assistant manager which his response to my problems during our stay I found offensive. I will not return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Vacationlady,

Wow! We really messed this up and I would love to chat with you about making it up to.

Please reach out if you can?

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really like this hotel. I do a lot of travel on business, and this hotel is located near the places I need to be. The staff is excellent. They pay attention to details, and respect your privacy. They offer a complimentary wine hour in the evening, and you can sample their wines. They also maintain a citrus cooler (sliced citrus fruit in ice water), and it is placed right by the entrance. So, when I return, I make my way over to the cooler. It's refreshing. In the morning, they offer fresh coffee in the lobby and they also offer decaf as well as hot water for those who want tea. I made use of the fitness room, and it's well equipped. I did not see any towels in the fitness room, but that was the only thing that was missing for my stay. They have an outdoor pool, but I did not use that. I wish I had more time. The location is near the UCLA campus and there are a great number of different places to eat for a very good value (can't charge too much if you want college students to eat there).

Room Tip: I've stayed at the hotel about four times, and there's no bad room. My last stay had a grea...
See more room tips
Green Features: I think the hotel is mindful of ways in which they can make as small an impact on the environment.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Bill,

Wow, what a great review! You highlighted so many of our important touch points, thank you!

Hope to have you back soon!

Best,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Drove my daughter back to UCLA and got a special rate from AAA that included parking and breakfast. Also joined the Kimpton club and received $10 minibar credit and free wi fi. Enjoyed getting foam pillows, being able to text for my car, and the free wine hour. Will stay here again. Very quiet rooms. Everything is clean, everyone is friendly, and it is easy check in and check out. They even have a bike you can use!

Room Tip: like the view to the back side better than onto Wilshire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Babygame.

Congrats on your daughter at UCLA, what a great school!

I's so happy you had a great time and loved our rooms...it's a long school year so I fully expect to see more of you!

Best,

Albert Smith
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was greeted at the desk by the kindest receptionist ever. He actually volunteered to (and did) buy my wife some contact lens solution the next day. He found out it was my birthday and gave us drink coupons. Nice comfortable rooms with excellent service!

Room Tip: Great reasonable priced hotel for UCLA or Westwood. A bargain with great service. I have stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Happy birthday Alan! I'm so happy my team took great care of you and glad the contact solution was sent...

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel was ok, nothing to write home about, special little things written about were just not there or that special. Staff were helpful and friendly just like any where else. Place was nice and clean. Negatives; alot of small things rather than one large one,
no newspaper in the morning as requested
coffee machine provided for me but no coffee for 3 days
very much just a business hotel
Fine wines served by awine expert? No just 1 red and 1 white wine...
but the worst thing for me was we had to checkout by 12 midday and we decided to go to the beach as our flight wasn't until 9.30pm. There was no place to shower and change before leaving. I was directed to the public toilet to change. Not nice 24hours traveling with sand everywhere. Uncomfortable end to what should have been a luxury trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Rosy,

I'm so sorry you were disappointed that we did not staff wine hour with a sommelier. It is a complimentary service for our guests and an opportunity for our managers to socialize and meet all the wonderful people who stay with us. While late check outs can be given, 9:30pm is a little past extending a courtesy. Really sorry about that and happy to discuss further if you would like.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We planned a last-minute birthday/Labor Day getaway to Los Angeles with our new dog. My expectations were pretty low as I did not spend a lot of time searching, but found this to be the best value with Triple AAA discounts and it was centrally located. We were truly amazed at the discovery of such a gem!! And, our new dog felt right at home too! My daughter also loved the zebra print décor in the hotel room. Room/hotel overall very clean and staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Happy birthday and thank you for spending it with us! Glad you loved our kitschy decor and hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.