We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service beginning to end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful service beginning to end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited first week of April 2013. Excellent service with a smile beginning with the bell staff continuing with the front desk, dining room, phone staff, room service, and valet. Live music in the lobby but we were too tired from our drive to take advantage. Bed was very comfortable too. I'd suggest a high floor to help with the street noise. Great location for visiting UCLA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Liz,

It looks like you were treated with love and smiles from all of our staff so thank you for sharing in the TripAdvisor universe. UCLA is a stone throw away and as you know, Westwood Villiage is beautiful as safe!

Hope to see you again soon...

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    328
    90
    40
    29
See reviews for
305
333
113
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Palmor with my wife for 3 nights in December and once again Kimpton hotels don't let me down. Excellent service from the staff, very nice rooms, enjoyed complimentary morning coffee and evening wine. My only complain is the price of valet parking but I think this is pretty much standard in California. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Miguel,

Thank you for the awesome review and I'm glad you plan on returning...I noticed you're a Longhorn fan so perhaps when USC has the National Title re-match in the Rosebowl?

Good luck next year and hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was a little bit concerned with a few of the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised with every SINGLE aspect of this hotel. From the valet parking ($35/night was not unreasonable compared to other hotels), to the restaurant, front desk staff (Christian knocked it out of the park!) to the rooms.....it was 5 star all the way. The attention to detail was unbelievable. Christian attended to our every need, was fun and professional. He made us want to take up permanent residence. Our pillows were a bit uncomfortable, so he sent up feather pillows which, if I had room in my suitcase, would've taken them home! (Kidding Mr. Albert Smith!!) He had every bit of information we needed, and made sure everything was perfect during our stay. One tip, join the rewards program if you aren't a member. The benefits begin immediately and it is free to join. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel in the LA area. I hope to return again and again. This was one of my best hotel experiences ever.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kimmie,

I am so happy you loved the pillows and also happy they're too large for your suitcase! It really makes us all happy to see that this was one of your best hotel experiences ever, we work hard at it. Thank you for recognizing Christian and come see again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had an awesome time at the Palomar. Westwood is well-positioned for getting around LA, so the location was excellent. The service was super, breakfast downstairs was great, and coming home in the afternoon to a free glass of wine in the lobby, and a goldfish in my room that sorta, kinda acted like it might have missed me while I was out (or maybe it was just scared I'd make sushi out of it)... By the end of my stay it felt like home, but without the clutter and dishes to wash, and someone to make my bed for me. Home's looking a little shabby...

Room Tip: I had a room facing Wilshire Blvd. It wasn't too noisy for me, but people who are sensitive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Joe,

Our fish have been known to develop an attachment to our guests, clearly this is what you experienced! You mentioned it felt like home towards the end...this is always our goal and I'm so happy we achieved it with you.

Come see us again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First trip to L.A. and first stay at a Kimpton Hotel. Complimentary coffee service in the morning and wine in the afternoon. The bar was nice and the restaurant menu looked good, but I didn't eat there. Pet friendly. Everyone was very helpful and polite (that doesn't always happen!). The rooms were updated and comfortable. The bed was better than most 4-star places. Overall, no problems -- it's rated 4.5 on trip advisor and I think that's a fair rating. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends staying in L.A. --RNS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear RNSDFW,

Thank you for agreeing with our high rating and I truly hope you return. Kimpton is not your usual pretentious LA boutique hotel, our employees care and we care for them (note...we're the highest rated hospitality company on Fortunes 100 Best Places to Work List).

You'll have to try our restaurant, BLVD.16 next time you're in town. We have a new menu and our mixologists are simply incredible!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Palomar for four nights, using it as a base to see Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, Malibu and Palm Springs/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park. We arrived when the computer system was down and no card keys could be generated, but Christian escorted us to our room with many apologies and a cheerful smile. The room was fine, beds very comfy, but pillows too big. We did have to go back to the desk later when we needed to visit the gym ( very well equipped) since we had no key, and then go back again when it wasn't coded for the gym. Minor inconveniences. Morning coffee was a plus but too weak for our tastes. Wine hour fine when we were there. Did not receive newspaper at door as Kimpton members are supposed to , but picked one up in lobby. Wifi was mostly ok except for that first night. We would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Travellersthree,

Thank you for hanging in there with us while we worked out the key card reader issues! It sounds like Christian and team did the best they could with their usual warm smiles and gracious care.

Hopefully you had a great workout and thanks for using us as home base during your LA visit.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dos Vientos Ranch,
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This stay was a business trip not a vacation. I am a premier member of the Klipton hotels and have been completely satisfied with this chain. This time not so much. My room on the seventh floor facing Wilshire Blve was as noisey as if I had pitched a tent in the parking lot. I had to go down to the front desk at midnight to get ear plugs. To my suprise not one of the three desk mgrs asked my name, what room i was in and how they could help. After that sleepless night, I went to the front desk in the morning and told the mgrs if they could not find me another room that I would check out and drive home and return to my meetings on my own. They upgraded me to a suite on the 19th floor and I was then treated like a rock star. The worked very hard to please me, maybe more that necessary. We all have hick-ups at times. this was their's. I will return to Kipton hotels but not this one. As I read these other reviews my incident seems to be a rare one.

Room Tip: one ;poor room one excellent one. Low rooms facing the Blvd very noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Michael,

I was happy to read you were treated like a "rock star." As you noted, things happen and I am grateful you gave us the opportunity to remedy the situation. It looks like we still have a loyal Kimpton follower and if there's anything else I can help with, please let me know!

Best,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.