We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Promotion
Ranked #15 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Palomar on 4 separate occasions in the last year and each stay was very enjoyable. The service from the bell staff to the front desk staff to the bar/lounge employees is excellent. Everyone makes you feel very welcome, and they are genuinely committed to taking care of you. The hotel has a good work out area, and I have been particularly impressed with the quality of the food from the hotel restaurant. I typically eat from the full menu in the very comfortable bar/lounge area. Ruben, one of the bartenders, is outstanding. The neighborhood adjacent to the hotel is also nice - good for walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Palomar. You mentioned our great employees and highlighted Reuben...he is amazing and one of the reasons why so many guests continue to come back.

Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    347
    94
    42
    31
See reviews for
312
347
117
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times while in LA on business. I have enjoyed my stay each time. This last time, though, I became ill with a stomach virus. I ended up having to extend my stay to recuperate. The staff was incredibly understanding and helpful, and offered on numerous occasions to bring me tea, sparkling water, or whatever I needed. I really appreciated this as everyone needs someone to take care of them/watch over them while they're sick! I will definitely stay at this hotel whenever I am in LA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Genuine care is what we're all about! I'm so glad my staff made a connection with you and did their best to comfort you while you weren't feeling great.

I hope you're better now and come see us again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for business, great atmosphere at the htoel, valet service was quick and friendly and rooms were well designed and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the bar was a good spot to unwind at the end of the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear TOTraveller81,

I am so happy you were able to enjoy our restaurant and unwind at our bar! Nothing like quick, friendly and efficient valet and it sounds like that's exactly what you experienced.

See you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've stayed at this chic little hotel on Wilshire a couple of times now. The staff at the front desk is so welcoming and polite. The concierge goes out of his way to help with small details. A great neighborhood too. Walk the little side streets to check out classic stucco LA bungalows with beautifully landscaped gardens of succulents and palms. Across Wilshire and up the street a bit is the UCLA campus. Worth seeing! And it's an easy shot to Santa Monica in one direction, and Melrose in the other. Again, staff is terrific. SIgn up to be an In TOuch member and get perks like better rates and your pick from the mini bar. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for stellar views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Rose,

I couldn't help but notice how often you referred to our wonderful staff, thank you! They are truly amazing and the care they show our guests is why so many keep coming back.

Thank you for pointing out how wonderful it is to take a stroll through our lovely neighborhoods on the way to the Westwood Viiliage. It is such a beautiful and quaint little community!

Hope to see you again soon and thank you for the review.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a spectacularly run hotel!! I've had to be in LA part time for the last 3 years and it has met and exceeded all my expectations! I'm not one to write reviews (I should do more of it), but this hotel demanded :) that a review be written. The people are great. Unbelievably dialed into their guests. Everything they do (it's not all perfect) is real (never fake, never snooty). Rooms are solid. Hotel restaurant (BLVD 16) is great! Valet team are helpful and concierge staff are the best. WIne hour is a great perk and Kimpton's raid the mini bar is also a nice touch. All for a very reasonable price. If you're in the Westwood area or need a great place to stay on the west side, you can't go wrong with Hotel Palomar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Sign up for Kimpton rewards and immediately get a $10 raid the mini bar ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kory,

Thank you for the ringing endorsement on TripAdvisor! I was most excited to see that my staff made such a difference in your stay and also happy you enjoyed our restaurant!

I hope you come back again soon and please let me know if I can help with arrangements.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Westwood Palomar on business for several trips - enjoyed my stay each time.

Some tips -

Definitely sign up to be an in-touch member, as that gets you a mini-bar credit and sometimes a little something extra (drink at the bar).

Go for a walk in the neighborhood - plenty of beautiful homes, UCLA, and the Westwood village shopping and restaurants. It's not in a touristy part of town, but there's certainly more to do than just order room service.

Breakfast at the restaurant is tasty, but otherwise the food for dinner is just "meh". Good fish tacos at the bar, though.

Ask for a room with a view - a small tip will usually get it for you. The rooms overlooking Wilshire boulevard aren't very exciting and could be loud if you're on a lower floor. The rooms looking out on LA are fantastic and seeing sunrise and sunset over the city is worth it.

Yes, the valet is expensive, but all hotel valets are expensive.

All in all, a recommended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Majawat,

Thanks for posting those tips! Kimpton InTouch is a great loyalty program chock full of wonderful perks. Like you, I just love those fish tacos...actually I'm addicted.

Hope to see you again soon and thank you for your loyalty!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I frequent the kimpton Palomar Westwood CA. I'm in LA for work about every other week and this my hotel of choice. Not only is the location perfect for my needs the friendliness of the staff is unlike anywhere else I've stayed. I travel all over the world and have stayed at everything from discount chain hotels to luxury resorts and when I say the service and staff are one of a kind I mean it. They greet you with sincere welcome and are always willing to help.
The rooms are decent size with everything you would need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. There are outlets for use as well as docking station for iphone. Plenty of closet and drawer space and room to breath. Only negative is there is limited counter space in the bathroom.
The in-room dining menu is a bit limited but everything I've tried is good and the service is quick and friendly. The bar / restaurant has a good atmosphere and is perfect to meet up for drink. The lobby is more like a lounge with a fireplace and plenty of comfy seating to meet and mingle with friends or clients.
I coming to LA you should definitely give the Palomar a try, you will be pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Clegirl,

We can make a commercial based on your review! Wow, that was a great read so thank you and I really hope we have a chance to meet in person.

Thank you for your loyalty and we'll see you soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.