We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Friendliness in boutique hotel at great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Promotion
Ranked #15 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“World Class Friendliness in boutique hotel at great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have returned many times to this hotel that has become a home away from home on business trips. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, which is probably why I go back again and again. However, the location itself would be a huge draw since it's an easy walk to the shopping and dining of Westwood and not far from Beverly Hills. Rooms are comfortable and stylish and I always get a good nights rest. If you don't have the energy to walk to Westwood for food, you won't be dissappointed by the hotel restaurant with a wide selection of snacks and entrees. The complimentary coffee bar and wine hour are also nice perks. I think that the price is fair for the location, my biggest warning is to take the cost of overnight parking into consideration. It adds up at an additional $34 / night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Johndals_11,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to Kimpton and to the LA Palomar! I'm so happy to hear that my staff is what keeps you coming back...there's lots of nice hotels in LA, many come with an attitude and we work hard to keep that out of our operation!

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    347
    94
    42
    31
See reviews for
312
347
117
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's not a bargain hotel, but neither is it exorbitantly priced. I'd say it compares to a Westin or a Marriott, both in price and in quality. I was just here for one Thursday night, and spent only a little time in the hotel but enjoyed the room and amenities!

- Beds/linens: very comfortable! I slept like a baby and woke up feeling more refreshed than I expected for the relatively little sleep I got.
- A/C: never needed to turn this on. I love it when the temperature of a room stays comfortable as is, despite not being able to open windows.
- Noise: My room faced Wilshire, so I was able to hear traffic noise pretty much the entire time I was awake. But, with a comfortable bed and blackout curtains, it didn't interfere with my sleep.
- Water pressure: LOVED this. The shower was nice and strong and the the water took almost no time to heat up. This is one of those little things that I pay particular attention to and love when hotels get this one down.
- Cleanliness: Excellent!
- Parking: Hell no. I read here about the $30 valet (EVERY time you need to park) and said f- that. It only took a little driving in the surrounding neighborhood to find a spot, but it was actually north of Wilshire, which means only the bravest jaywalkers should do what I did. Most of the neighborhood parking is permit-only, so READ the SIGNS.
- Hotel smell: I don't know how else to describe it, but Hotel Palomar does a great job of NOT reminding you with this chemical cleaner smell that you're in a hotel - whether you're in your room, in the hallway, or in the lobby.
Wi-Fi: FREE, as it should be.

Overall a really nice, but brief stay. But for the right price, I'll definitely come back here anytime I can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Wilshire if you want to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Nostalgia88,

Glad to hear you slept like a baby! We can always put you on the opposite side to Wilshire BLVD. where you'll see sweeping views of the city all the way to Santa Monica! Bed linens are incredible and can be purchased so let me know if you're interested.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Whenever I head to LA, I make every effort to stay here. Anyone and everyone at the front desk greets me with a warm smile. This time, I was famished and ordered in-room dining because it was mid-afternoon. Again, service with a smile and the selections were gourmet!

I'm usually in town for business: 24-hour turn around trips. If only I could stay longer at the Palomar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Jenny,

I really appreciate the great review and I'm so happy you splurged a bit with our in room dining. For some odd reason we're one of the few hotels in LA that offer it 24/7...anyway, I hope to welcome you back sooner than later so let me know if I can help with reservations!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned home to East Coast from short get away to LA. Took my daughter for her 4th birthday to see Debbie Allen's Hot Chocolate Nutcracker on the campus of UCLA. We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to UCLA and familiarity with the Kimpton Hotel Brand. This hotel did not diappoint. Our overall experience was outstanding. We reserved a Vista King Spa Suite since there were a total of 3 adults and one child in our party. The room was spacious, clean and smartly decorated. Upon entering, my daughter was delighted to find a balloon bouquet with several mini gourmet cupcakes and bottles of spring water with a note from the concierge wishing her a Happy Birthday. They also sent up a goldfish for our stay which she promptly named "Goldie". A Wild Child robe was hanging in the closet for her as well. After the first 2 nights, my sister complained about the springs/uncomfortable mattress in the sofa bed, and I noticed that the pocket door dividing the BR from LR was off the hinges. I notified the front desk and we were immediately moved to the Presidential Suite on the top floor, which was well appointed with a huge LR, DR, 2 double beds, 2 BRs, and a sofa bed with full size standard mattress. It was awesome! Once we settled into the new suite, a bottle of wine and chocolates were delivered with a note apologizing for the inconvenience. Needless to say, all of the staff/service was amazing! Everyone we encountered was friendly, helpful, and professional with a very caring demeanor. The property is immaculate: a very high attention to detail/cleanliness is evident throughout. We took advantage of the perks like fresh morning coffee and the nightly wine hour. On one night, there was live music in the lobby which was lovely. On the night of our event, the hotel provided complimentary transportation for us which was great so we didn't have to worry about driving/traffic/parking. By the way, we rented a car which we were able to safely park on the street each night in 24 hour free zones with no problems at all. The area is residential, with multiple high end condominum style bldgs. on Wilshire Blvd. Don't miss out on Blvd 16 restaurant: the food was delicious (short rib sliders-yum!), sexy/romantic ambience, creative cocktails and stellar service.
This is now our go to hotel when in LA; highly recommended to all.

Room Tip: Total of 19 floors in hotel; higher floors have great views on either side, Wilshire Blvd or Westwoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Raemd,

Your review was such a delight to read! It sounds like we hit the mark on all of the things that were important to you and your family. I am so happy you enjoyed the suite and our friendly staff took great care of you!

I hope your daughter took goldie with her and hope you all return someday soon! Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton and please let me know if I can help with future reservations.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We came for some R & R and to celebrate our 9yr anniversary and we both knew this was the place to stay! They had a picture of us both and a few other requests, in our room, upon arrival.
They had an amazing fire going in the lobby and we love the Happy hour! The weather was chilly so it was perfect for the Cider and Brandy! Visit their gym...it was wonderful!
We met a great couple of ladies there in the lounge along with a great bartender..Reuben. Great conversations and new friendships forged! This hotel is a must stay when in LA...they know customer service...it's in their blood!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the back of the hotel...overlooking the homes and neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Intuitivetouch,

Happy anniversary! We are all about making meaningful connections so whether it's directly with our staff such as Reuben or other guests (sounds like that happened for you) it appears it's mission accomplished!

Don't wait for an anniversary to come see us again and just so you know, we have a great new restaurant in Phoenix called Blue Hound, you should check it out.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has plenty of points of difference including the dogs policy, free evening drinks and morning coffee to top of the great service and wonderful location. The staff were very polite and friendly, the meals very good and location wise (close to Westwood village) it was a great base for 4 nights with the family in LA. Agree with some of the other comments on the air con - when turned on it is very noisy. Overll a great place to stay and I would be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Alain,

Thank you highlighting our touch points! The wine hour and morning coffee hour hopefully makes you feel welcomed and creates an opportunity for you to mingle with us as well as other guests.

I am sorry about the AC and if there's anyway you could let me know which room number it was I will send our engineering team to look into it immediately.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nice, big rooms. A bit run down already. Service is not perfect (laundry was late, invoices not ready). The restaurant ambiance is terrible, but the food quite good. I stayed there for 2 nights, that is enough. BUT: very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Afrika200,

It sounds like there were some definite high points in your stay: the great food in the restaurant, nice big rooms and staff. I do apologize if the design of our restaurant was not to your liking...if you have a moment I would love some additional feedback about it?

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.