We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book your Spring Escape
Ranked #9 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a fantastic, luxury hotel that's a really great value. Beautifully appointed room and great robes! One of the best touches was the courtesy wine from 5 - 6 p.m. in the lobby! Everything about the hotel was very easy. From the minute you step out of your car, the staff is very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Gail,

Come back and see us again soon and I'll have a brand new leopard print robe wrapped and waiting for you take home with you!

Thanks for the wonderful review and I truly hope you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    304
    80
    33
    26
See reviews for
273
308
110
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in early November. Check in was quick and easy and the bell desk brought the bags up to the room quickly. They have a wine happy hour in the lobby from 5-6pm and we arrived a few minutes too late for it as they had put everything away already. We asked though if there was anything still open and it was no problem for the bellman to bring up 3 glasses of wine to our room. Above and beyond service! Another highlight were the fish tacos in the hotel restaurant, delicious and the happy hour special was a good value.

The room was large, modern and clean. We had a Vista King Spa Suite. The bathroom was as large as some rooms I've stayed in in NYC or Paris. You could swim in the Jacuzzi.

Overall a complaint free and fantastic stay, Will recommend to friends and stay again when in LA. Easy access to the West side, Santa Monica, Getty, and Beverly Hills.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Redline325,

It sounds like our bellman really took great care of you! Also, I was so happy to read that you enjoyed our Spa Suite, the jacuzzi's are incredible!

I hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Clean, comfortable bed in a small, but adequate room. Hotel lobby seems to come alive during the afternoon wine tastings, which also featured a couple of nice cocktails, apps and desserts. Location is good if you're doing something at UCLA but is a decent drive to the water or downtown LA.

Unfortunately, room type wasn't available at check-in; I had to be moved to a different room on the 2nd day of a 3 night stay; both the first room and the second room were directly next to the elevators on a middle floor rather than the away from elevators on a high floor, which was confirmed at reservation. Didn't seem like anyone was focused on fixing any of the issues. Pretty disappointing Kimpton experience.

Room Tip: Wilshire is a relatively big and busy street so ask for room high floor away from Wilshire if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Woody1811,

I am delighted you enjoyed some cocktails, apps and wine hour! I was also saddened to learn your room type was not honored and hope I can personally make it up to you during a future visit?

Either way, I would love to speak with you further about your experience and how we handled it.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've stayed at the Palomar several times for both business and pleasure, alone and with my family. The staff is unfailingly welcoming and friendly and the vibe in the lobby inviting. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. If you have a dog you can bring it, but if you don't you won't feel in anyway intruded upon by others' pets. When my daughter has joined me she has enjoyed the pool. I'm a big Kimpton fan--they always do it right. The hotel is on a rather deserted strip, but you can walk to Westwood in about 15 minutes. Or, heck, it's L.A. what are you doing walking anyway? DRIVE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear PJfromCA,

I'm so happy to hear your daughter loves our hotel, especially the pool.

I hope you stay again soon and thank you for your loyalty to the Palomar!

All my best,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

After attending a conference in Anaheim me and my friend decided to venture into Los Angeles for a few days and found the Hotel Palomar right in the middle of everything we needed. The rooms where spacious and well kitted out and if there was anything you needed including a coffee maker, toothbrush, hair brush or anything else you might have forgotten their concierge team are always able to help out.

The one fault I found was that the Internet connection was very intermittent. As someone who was sat planning meetings with prospective sponsors for an event skyping was almost impossible. I did make the front desk aware a few times but the internet is dealt with by an outside company who made a log of the issue. Not the hotels fault but it did cause an inconvenience.

All in all it was a nice hotel and the staff where very good :)

Room Tip: If you have any allergies make sure you let the hotel know in advance, they use down in the pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ben M,

Thank you so much for the great review and for highlighting the helpfulness of our incredible staff. They truly love to make our guests feel at home and it sounds like they were successful with you!

Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Palomar is a great hotel that is centrally located, too centrally located with the exception of UCLA you have to drive or take a taxi everywhere, especially for some night life. The lobby is inviting yet small, the bar has a lot of potential but didn't seem to have a crowd. The rooms were great, very clean, nice amenities, room service was quick and delicious especially the omelette. Parking was expensive at $34 a night but I guess that's fairly standard in la. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RWSD,

Thank you for staying with us and I love hearing you'll come back! As noted in your review, we are centrally located so activities in Hollywood, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and Downtown LA are a short drive away...

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I selected the Hotel Palomar in the Westwood area of Los Angeles to be near the apartment of our son and daughter-in-law. We have now stayed there three times.
We visited Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Chicago several times and loved the vibe, so we thought the Kimpton Hotel Palomar would be similar. Actually is is better. The staff is young and very just plain nice. We are a youngish 60-ish and sometimes experience patronizing staff when we travel. We have gotten to know the concierge, desk people and our especially our waitress, Shannon as very helpful and attentive. By the time we left, we were getting hugs.
The decor is fun. The fireplace and sitting areas, fruit water, coffee and wine available at various times in the lobby is welcoming and modern. The room is modern and fun- a terrific view of LA outside and funky clashing patterns and colors inside - Red lacquer bedside tables, black tweedy chaise, snake skin drawer-fronts on the console, a turquoise roll pillow on the bed, a black fur throw and of course the animal skin pattern terry bathrobes. Lots of drawer space and a good closet. The bathroom door is a red sliding "barn door". Every room is exactly alike right down to the art on the walls - its like having your own place when you are in town. The restaurant staff is friendly and attentive. We brought our own gluten free bread for toast - no problem. Parking your rental is expensive, but there is no extra charge for bringing the car up. Also, when our car couldn't be picked up until after the day after we were through with it, the desk waived our parking fee.
The hotel is walking distance from Westwood Village, the UCLA campus, 3 or 4 movie theaters, and the Hammer museum. The Palomar is about 2 miles from the beach. Walk south on Westwood and you'll find another wonderful neighborhood with Persian and Israeli shops and restaurants.
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We think the best view is towards the back. It is very sunny and you can see the ocean if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamho, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Samawatha,

We are all about making connections with our guests and making you feel like family! I was so happy to learn that after a few days with Shannon hugs were involved; a little hug can go a long way!

Until next time,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton
Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd at Selby Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.