We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean, questionable neighborhood.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W. to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W.
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   4122 South Western Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Savings-Save 15%
Ranked #268 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not very clean, questionable neighborhood.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

For the price you can do better than this. I wish we could stay at Jerry's motel downtown one more night but they were full so this was a spontaneous decision. A few hairs in the sink, mirrors on the ceiling-quite a sleezy place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
3
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

- booked the room for 2 nights.
- was supposed to be non smoking - was stinking with cigarettes as hell!
- the King Room with Spa Bath is a joke, no shower inside just a big bath tube with mirrors so gross that i did not have courage to bath in it.
- I've canceled the second night almost immediately and the said it is ok and no problem
- in the morning we were woke up by the water coming out from the bath tube area on the floor. It created a stream of water to the restroom!!! (photos attached)

- next day i was just happy that the car was still standing in front of the hotel

-when checking out they said they are sorry about the water and said something from what i understood 30$ discount and I got 80$ refund. I was not sure what it means so I asked them is this 80$ the price for one night we have spend there. They confirmed.
It occured later when i checked the account that it was a refund for the whole 2 days reservation after taking 30$ penalty

in total it costed me around 190$ for one night in this s*it hole! I would never stay there again even it they paid me to


STAY AWAY. Place is good just for having cheap prostitutes i guess.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Older property, that they try to keep it up. Price isn't bad for LA., within a couple miles of USC. Carpets and tile floors need a good cleaning. Bed was okay except it had a plastic cover on the mattress. New big TV on wall but channel selection is not the best, no HBO, etc.
This property is not in the best part of town but I've stayed here 5-6 times and never had any problems whats so ever.

Room Tip: I like 2nd floor rooms near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

OMG! The information I found online on this hotel does not even begin to warn travelers about this place! My business partner an I arrived late for a stay here and found the hotel in a neighborhood that one should not even frequent at night.

There were families living there, people we thought might be prostitutes, and commotions and arguments in the parking lot all night that could barely be heard over the car alarms that were constantly going off!

My associate’s room was disgusting and mine was barely livable (they were non-smoking rooms that reeked of smoke with ashtrays in them). They were filthy, dusty and dirty, with cigarette ashes on the floor and dirt piled in the corners. When she called the front desk they told her they would clean it “tomorrow.”

The next day we complained to the owner and he said he would give her some credit for the room and we should call him back later after he spoke to the night manager. However later on he said the room "wasn't that bad" and wasn't sure if he "was giving credit or not."

The rooms looked like a property that hookers take their johns to with mirrored ceilings and free porn on the TV. Broken fixtures, AC that doesn't work, torn linen, comforters, and carpet, with sink faucets that wobble when water comes out of them, and that you can't turn off! I've attached some oics but unfortunately a few got deleted before we thought of doing this.

Extremely disappointed. I give it 1 because I can’t give it a zero. This is why travelers have to put in reviews so their fellow travelers can know where to go and what to avoid.

Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week during my trip to LA. The rooms are very spacious and definetly value for money. But the only thing which surprised me is that, it being a suite, did not have a microwave in the room. we had to go down to the lobby all the time for using a microwave oven. We had a 20 month baby with us and felt a little uncomfortable with no microwave. The one in the lobby can be used 24 hrs though. Good location and best rooms i have seen till now in ABVs. Value for money. Very good service, quite location.

Room Tip: Its good to stay overnight. Need to think if you are staying with babies, as there is no Microwave i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever encountered. Checking in, the office had the lights off so I felt like talking to a wall. Employee was RUDE and unprofessional. Went in the room and it was DIGUSTING. You call that a clean room? There was bugs on the walls, the beds, stains on EVERYTHING. The manager couldnt even manage to update the bed sheets and renovate the rooms? I felt like this was a joke. I went back down to the office and asked for a refund, so instead of responding to my question... he wanted to see what was so wrong... he swiped his finger on the table and smart mouthed me where is it dirty? I dont see dust. First of all.... look around! This hotel was a MESS. I work at a hotel and this was inappropriate and embarrassing. He insisted on giving me a "better" room. If that was the case, why not give me that room in the first place! I still wanted my refund and he went back in the office, lights off and crossed his arms with such poor attitude. Ha! Employee was wearing sweats, sandals, and a tee.... COMPLETE JOKE!!!!!! HORRIBLE HOTEL. He should be fired for POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a ghetto hotel. The second I got out of my car I saw a mom cursing at her brood and slapping her little boy around. The next second a prostitute checked in. The next second I cancelled my reservation and was GLAD to pay the $30 penalty. If you're looking for a economical hotel...keep looking. This isn't economical, this is dangerous.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W.

Address: 4122 South Western Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W. 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Los Angeles Downtown/S.W., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.