We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in the LA convention area...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Mayfair Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you're in the LA convention area...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I attended a conference in Century City and chose this hotel (based on ambiance) which is 12 miles away. I took mass transit which is another adventure. The front desk reception is great. The room itself was in need of renovation. The bed is hard. They were very sympathetic when I explained why I needed to change hotels. The water in the shower was boiling hot I had to finagle the knobs for a long time in order to get the temperature to a tolerable level. All that being said, I would stay there again if I needed to be in the downtown area. Great local restaurants close by for Sushi.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Good news, Vanessa -- all the rooms will be renovated! We've started a massive project to update our hotel. Regardless, I want to apologize for the issues with your room. I do hope you'll stay with us again once our renovations are complete.

Take care,
Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    62
    92
    40
    41
See reviews for
38
80
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Mayfair Last August for 3 nights the hotel was good for the price. The rooms could have been cleaner. the price was very decent compared to most LA hotels. The breakfast was also okay could have been cheaper though. the curtains were dirty and the maids were annoying knocking on our door so early. I would come back if anything changes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Good new! Things are changing. We're currently going through major renovations that will improve our entire hotel. I'm extremely excited about the results, and I hope you'll come back to stay with us once they're done.

Best,
Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The most dirtiest place I have ever stayed in my life. The GM should be embarrassed offering such a dirty room to people . Being old does not mean having blood stain on the sheet and the bed skirt. Having shaved hair in the song . The bathroom floor was not mopped or vacuumed . A little Clorox would have gone a long way for this horrible room. I will never stay here and never recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We only booked one night, thankfully. When we arrived the lobby looked nice. It was a little warm but thought that was probably just the common area, boy was I wrong,. The rooms were hot and no way to make them cooler. They were extremely small and the carpet was nasty. The bath was also small and hot water was hard to come by. In the middle of the night we were awakened to arguing next door. The parking is $14.00 and is in a garage that is attached to the hotel but had to elevator that we could find so we had to walk down the ramps to get into the hotel. Overall not a good experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I never want to read that we were a disappointment to one of our guests, Stephanie. I'm so sorry to hear you found the temperature uncomfortable, and wish you would have alerted our staff -- we definitely could have fixed this for you. Additionally, whenever you were awoken by your neighbors, we would have immediately tried to remedy this situation for you as well. Regardless, thank you for this feedback.

Best,
Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!
I Don't even know where to begin. The room was so disgusting that we did not sleep in it. We just left our bags in it and was in the lobby the whole stay. I took bunch of pics to show to everyone in the world. TripAdvisor ashamed to put such a bad hotel on there wed site.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
It's disheartening to know you found your room so unacceptable, Yoann. If you alerted our staff of the issue, and they didn't attempt to remedy it, I truly apologize. If not, I really do wish you would have spoken to someone about the problem. If you have any more concerns, I advise you to contact us directly.

Thanks,
Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart Manor, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Please please please stay far away from this hotel. Staying here was a disturbing experience. I refused to sleep under the covers and I am currently at home washing all of my clothes at the highest allowable temperature.

Their beds were about the size of cots and the room was in disgraceful condition.

I don't usually post about accommodations but I feel compelled to warn fellow travelers in this case.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I'm sorry to hear about your displeasure with your stay, John. I can assure you that all of our rooms are cleaned daily. We take great care to wash linens at high temperatures, and if you felt uncomfortable with yours, we would have been happy to provide different ones. With that being said, descriptions of the beds are on our website, so I apologize that you were unhappy with the size. As for the room condition, we are soon to be going under huge renovations that will greatly improve the rooms and bathrooms in our hotel.

Thanks,
Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The name itself reflects that it is an old hotel. It is only an economic choice to stay at this hotel due to walking distance to restaurants, bus stand, railway station and tour buses.
Reasonably tidy rooms and breakfast available at the ground floor.

Room Tip: All rooms appears to be similar on all directions and levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Great to see you found our location convenient and our hotel economical, Nagan. Keeping clean, comfortable rooms is our main priority, so I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy that.

Take care,
Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Historic Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Mayfair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.