We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Visitors without a Car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #80 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Visitors without a Car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel is on busy Septulva Boulevard, adjacent to construction of a transit line. It's a bit of a walk to Westwood Pavillion Mall or other dining options on Pico, but bus stops from Santa Monica (Big Blue Bus) and Culver City (green) are close by, so you can get around easily if you do not have a car. It's very easy to navigate the local bus system.

Hotel is a good value, not far from LAX, Santa Monica and West Hollywood. Wireless Internet connection is free and there's also a computer in the lobby where you can print your boarding passes. Staff is very accommodating and the included continental breakfast is sufficient to get you through the morning. A small pool and a whirlpool are very nice after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
It is good to hear you were able to navigate through the transit upgrades currently underway here in LA. As with any construction projects we work closely with the city and work crews to ensure safety & noise compliance for our guest. When this expansion project is complete, it will be even easier to access public transportation to see LA without a car. I am also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy & relax utilizing some of our complimentary offerings, full breakfast, WiFi, and business center, and then to unwind in our heated pool & whirlpool after a hard day of sight seeing !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    163
    86
    23
    10
See reviews for
111
123
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Lay, CA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years and find that it gives me a sort of "homey" feeling. The rooms are relatively quiet (I never hear street noise) and comfortable. A small outdoor jacuzzi and pool are a nice option, and the fresh cookies in the lobby in the evening are a nice addition. Breakfast in the morning has enough to satisfy the hungry traveler, and free valet parking ensures a good place for your car.

The street out front is well-traveled, and requires a bit of caution pulling out into traffic.

I will stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I am glad to hear that you feel "at home" while visiting us here during your stay in LA. That means we are doing our job of making your travels more comfortable, less stressful. We will be sure to have some extra cookies ready for you upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I have family in LA. When I go by myself to visit my sisters, I stay with one of them, but when we both go, it's more comfortable to have our own space. We stayed at the Royal Palace Inn and Suites for six nights over the Thanksgiving holiday and loved everything about the place! First of all, the location is great. There are several very good restaurants within walking distance (within one mile). It's an easy drive to Westwood, Beverly Hills, Century City, and the beach. The Westside Pavilion - a large shopping center with movie theaters is less than a mile away as well. Our room, in the back of the building on the south end of the inn was lovely - much nicer than what one normally expects at a Best Western. Maybe that's the + part! We had booked a standard queen room, and upon arrival had been upgraded to a king room at no extra cost! Much appreciated! The bathroom was nice and large. Except for a noisy bathroom fan, our room was very quiet. The bed was super comfortable. The entire staff were very nice and friendly. Free valet parking is another plus in LA. They even have a very clean laundry room which we put to good use. There's only one washing machine, but that's all most travelers need - and you get a key at the front desk so you are the only one using it. Nice! For the west side of LA, we feel this hotel is a great value! Our stay at the Royal Palace Inn and Suites was a very positive experience! It's our new home away from home in LA!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Sepulveda Blvd. The rooms on the south side have bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, I could not have written a better one myself "LOL", looks like you just about covered everything !! The only thing that I could add is that we did replace the fan in the bathroom after we read your review. We look forward to your return the next time you and your husband plan a visit with your family here in LA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I planned a US coast to coast honeymoon.
Our first stop was LA.
It was a road-trip and we generally looked for a descent place for the nights. (not fancy 5 stars hotels..:-)
We used Hotwire and set 3 stars for "Century City - Westwood" area and got this motel.
I must say we really like the place,its a great location few minutes from Santa Monica and Venice beach, the staff were kind and answered all our questions. The valet man was great.
The room itself was very clean,cozy and quiet (although it depends on the building side that the room refer to..).
Compare to others Motels we were staying in, Breakfast had great variety of choices,it was wonderful.
I definitely recommend this BW plus for people who looking for a MOTEL and not a fancy hotel with lots of facilities (I just remember that it consist a exercises room too).
You will get a very decent value for your money.

Room Tip: ask for a room that isn't on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the third hotel on our November trip.

It does have a GREAT location and REALLY nice staff which includes all valet staff!

Room has a microwave/fridge in a separate sitting area which is nice.

Our first room had the old fashioned heater where you couldn't control the temp - it was on or it was off.

Front desk staff very helpful trying to get the internet to work (and stay working) but not their fault I guess that it cuts out every 10 minutes. Technical support is available but after my third time calling for support, they put me on hold and after 15 minutes I hung up. Since part of this trip is business related, the internet service was really important.

Didn't get much sleep the first night. The walls are paper thin and the folks next door came back to the hotel around 2:00 AM (apparently after a party) and continued the party in their room. It's not that they were excessively loud – it’s that the walls are thin it seemed like they were standing next to our beds. Staff were very accommodating and moved us to a different room the next day as the partiers were staying on as well. It was marginally better, we had a crying baby instead of happy party people next door but the baby at least stopped crying around 10:00 PM. so we at had a quiet sleep in an uncomfortable bed - but it was more than the first night.

Got new clean towels on our last full day here but they forgot to take the used dirty ones that were hanging on the shower or to replenish shampoo/conditioner.

Continental breakfast: apple/orange juice, fruit salad made of melons, melons & more melons; lots of wheat products to choose from (buns, bread, bagels, croissants, sausage/biscuit combo); sugary cereals and boiled eggs round out breakie.

Again, great location, fantastic staff, nice size room but dark and dreary if in the back rooms. Would we book it again? Probably not but, if you do, ask for a room at the front of the hotel. You might have some traffic noise but it will be brighter. No elevator to second floor so you'll be lugging suitcases up/down stairs as none of the rooms are on the main floor. There is an elevator that takes you between 2nd & 3rd floor but nothing that goes to main level. (Strikes me as odd)

Room Tip: Ask for front room if you like a brighter room. I rated the room as average only because of the thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
First I wish to apologize for some of the Inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us..regarding the issue of noise, being that we are a public place, we can not control the noise emitted from a guest room unless it is obviously annoying or obnoxious. I am glad to hear that the front desk staff was able to move you to a more quieter room, less the baby. As far as the Internet, I am not sure what issues you encountered as we have recently upgraded our WiFi service, and as of this week, we again just upgraded again to include " N "and expanded our bandwidth, it may have been possible that you were in a transitional section of the hotel that we have now addressed as we have tested to make sure we provide full bandwidth (speed & connectivity) though out the entire hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel because so many were sold out the week we were vacationing in L.A. We were hesitant to stay in a Best Western but evidently BW has become much better than in the past. We stayed 4 nights and were very pleased with our room and the staff. The beds are very comfortable, 2nice flat screen t.v.'s and room was very clean. It was nice to have a balcony and the sitting room a nice touch. We are picky about cleanliness and security. We were pleased with both. the main reason I chose to write a hotel review, my first ever, is to give major kudos to Fred at the front desk during the day, Brian in the evening/night shift and Idilio, the valet attendant. They all did everything they could to accommodate us with any request we had. They made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, I will inform my staff especially Fred & Brian of your comments, they both work very hard at exceeding guest expectations and I am glad that they were able to provided you with that service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites

Address: 2528 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites provides guests with stunning amenities, a fantastic location, and unbeatable prices. West Los Angeles hotels are varied, but guests at this Los Angeles hotel have found the best of the best. Beverly Hills and Santa Monica are nearby. Century City and UCLA are also in the neighborhood. Being in the heart of the city is the only way to fully experience LA. The BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites dishes up the best value in West LA. A swimming pool, hot tub, billiards room, and exercise room cater to every need or whim. A game of billiards is the perfect end to an evening. A dip in the pool is nearly a requirement. We’re more than just the best location around. Our Los Angeles hotel features suites with two televisions and a separate sitting room. Go ahead and make yourself at home. We offer 57 channels, all in HD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Palace Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Royal Palace Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.