We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - paper thin walls - poor internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #78 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location - paper thin walls - poor internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the third hotel on our November trip.

It does have a GREAT location and REALLY nice staff which includes all valet staff!

Room has a microwave/fridge in a separate sitting area which is nice.

Our first room had the old fashioned heater where you couldn't control the temp - it was on or it was off.

Front desk staff very helpful trying to get the internet to work (and stay working) but not their fault I guess that it cuts out every 10 minutes. Technical support is available but after my third time calling for support, they put me on hold and after 15 minutes I hung up. Since part of this trip is business related, the internet service was really important.

Didn't get much sleep the first night. The walls are paper thin and the folks next door came back to the hotel around 2:00 AM (apparently after a party) and continued the party in their room. It's not that they were excessively loud – it’s that the walls are thin it seemed like they were standing next to our beds. Staff were very accommodating and moved us to a different room the next day as the partiers were staying on as well. It was marginally better, we had a crying baby instead of happy party people next door but the baby at least stopped crying around 10:00 PM. so we at had a quiet sleep in an uncomfortable bed - but it was more than the first night.

Got new clean towels on our last full day here but they forgot to take the used dirty ones that were hanging on the shower or to replenish shampoo/conditioner.

Continental breakfast: apple/orange juice, fruit salad made of melons, melons & more melons; lots of wheat products to choose from (buns, bread, bagels, croissants, sausage/biscuit combo); sugary cereals and boiled eggs round out breakie.

Again, great location, fantastic staff, nice size room but dark and dreary if in the back rooms. Would we book it again? Probably not but, if you do, ask for a room at the front of the hotel. You might have some traffic noise but it will be brighter. No elevator to second floor so you'll be lugging suitcases up/down stairs as none of the rooms are on the main floor. There is an elevator that takes you between 2nd & 3rd floor but nothing that goes to main level. (Strikes me as odd)

Room Tip: Ask for front room if you like a brighter room. I rated the room as average only because of the thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
First I wish to apologize for some of the Inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us..regarding the issue of noise, being that we are a public place, we can not control the noise emitted from a guest room unless it is obviously annoying or obnoxious. I am glad to hear that the front desk staff was able to move you to a more quieter room, less the baby. As far as the Internet, I am not sure what issues you encountered as we have recently upgraded our WiFi service, and as of this week, we again just upgraded again to include " N "and expanded our bandwidth, it may have been possible that you were in a transitional section of the hotel that we have now addressed as we have tested to make sure we provide full bandwidth (speed & connectivity) though out the entire hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    163
    86
    23
    10
See reviews for
111
123
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel because so many were sold out the week we were vacationing in L.A. We were hesitant to stay in a Best Western but evidently BW has become much better than in the past. We stayed 4 nights and were very pleased with our room and the staff. The beds are very comfortable, 2nice flat screen t.v.'s and room was very clean. It was nice to have a balcony and the sitting room a nice touch. We are picky about cleanliness and security. We were pleased with both. the main reason I chose to write a hotel review, my first ever, is to give major kudos to Fred at the front desk during the day, Brian in the evening/night shift and Idilio, the valet attendant. They all did everything they could to accommodate us with any request we had. They made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, I will inform my staff especially Fred & Brian of your comments, they both work very hard at exceeding guest expectations and I am glad that they were able to provided you with that service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokoroa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooms are dated but ok. It has an old feel about it. They have complimentary valet and free breakfast also. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would stay again. Handy to Venice beach and Hollywood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments, we have been and are still in the process of upgrading our guest & bathrooms. We have installed new carpet, tile, soft goods etc. in a majority of our rooms and looking at completion of all rooms before the end of the first quarter of 2013. I would like to invite you back, should you be in our area to review our make over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When we arrived at 1pm, they found a room ready for us. Fred was very friendly and super helpful. We found out that there was a bus stop 100m up the road an cost $1 to get to Santa Monica Pier. Bus arrives quite frequently and easy to catch, takes about 15-20minutes to reach the 3rd street promanade.
The room was nice with an extra seating area, which is nice when you have a child. That means no fighting over the TV as there were 2. Bathroom was very small but adaquate for what was needed as the rest of the room was large. Nice thing was when you did laundry you got the key so no-one else could get to your clothes. Pool was nice but fencing could do with up dating. The only down side was that the aircon smelt a bit but we left our windows open while out to get fresh air.
Fred and Denise were very nice and letting us check-out at 2pm as our flight was not until midnight so it gave us time to shop and then freshen up before going to the airport.
Would stay again if I am in LA.

Room Tip: Room facing the back on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family of five people who stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in July 2012, we had a wonderful stay here and would recommend this for anyone going to California. Both adults, teenagers and our little boy had a great time. We all lived in one family room with extra room for a sofa bed and TV. Small balcony and access to the pool and hot tub on the back. This is a quiet and cozy hotel located a short distance from Santa Monica Beach, Venice Beach, 3th. street promenade (best shopping street) and Hollywood. The beds were amazing good, we slept really well every night, and breakfast was very good. The world's best bagels, fruit, muffins, cereal and oat biscuits, juice, milk and coffee. Could eat as much as we wanted, never had to wait on tables. The staff is very kind and helpful, doing everything they can to ensure that guests enjoy their stay here. A huge extra thanks to the pleasant FRED at the reception. He really helped that we had a wonderful vacation in California. Everyone who worked here wanted to give us an unforgettable stay at this hotel. Fully manage rooms, great and good shower with good pressure (although the rest of the bathroom is small) but how long are we there? Was cleaned and traded towels every day. Every time we had been on day trips, they stood ready to park the car for us. And for 2 dollars you borrow washer and dryer in the basement. We want to go back and stay at this hotel again and again. We liked that it was not huge with thousands of tourists, we loved this quiet, relaxing and private place. We will return. Thanks to Fred and the rest of you for an unforgettable vacation. Lucky guests will stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: I guess Rooms on the back side are the quiets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's a best western so you know what you're paying for , but I was happily surprised :

Nice decorated room , big, except the tiny bathroom , the free parking and ( good ) breakfast with fresh fruit and fruit salad , yogurt eggs bagel and pastries...

the cons : A really big "old cigarette smell" in the room even if it'scnow forbidden !
ask for the upper stories and the back of the hotel , no noise with this tip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good-size rooms and bathroom (noisy extractor fan). Dull decor, but excellent housekeeping and our one (minor) maintenance problem resolved promptly. Good continental breakfast (juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, Danish, etc..). Breakfast area cramped; 2 extra tables in concrete backyard containing jacuzzi and mini-pool. All staff friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in rooms and computer with printer in lobby. Most guests during our 8-night stay were sedate adults, so noise from them was not a problem. Building, fronting on a busy road, seems timber-framed, so upstairs rooms at back are probably quietest. In essence, a clean, modernized motel well located for drivers (direct route from LAX) and buses to Santa Monica, Westwood Village and downtown LA and within comfortable walking distance of numerous restaurants and Westside Pavilion mall on West Pico Boulevard. Good value for money in expensive LA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites

Address: 2528 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites provides guests with stunning amenities, a fantastic location, and unbeatable prices. West Los Angeles hotels are varied, but guests at this Los Angeles hotel have found the best of the best. Beverly Hills and Santa Monica are nearby. Century City and UCLA are also in the neighborhood. Being in the heart of the city is the only way to fully experience LA. The BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites dishes up the best value in West LA. A swimming pool, hot tub, billiards room, and exercise room cater to every need or whim. A game of billiards is the perfect end to an evening. A dip in the pool is nearly a requirement. We’re more than just the best location around. Our Los Angeles hotel features suites with two televisions and a separate sitting room. Go ahead and make yourself at home. We offer 57 channels, all in HD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Palace Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Royal Palace Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.