We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #71 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cozy and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel because so many were sold out the week we were vacationing in L.A. We were hesitant to stay in a Best Western but evidently BW has become much better than in the past. We stayed 4 nights and were very pleased with our room and the staff. The beds are very comfortable, 2nice flat screen t.v.'s and room was very clean. It was nice to have a balcony and the sitting room a nice touch. We are picky about cleanliness and security. We were pleased with both. the main reason I chose to write a hotel review, my first ever, is to give major kudos to Fred at the front desk during the day, Brian in the evening/night shift and Idilio, the valet attendant. They all did everything they could to accommodate us with any request we had. They made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, I will inform my staff especially Fred & Brian of your comments, they both work very hard at exceeding guest expectations and I am glad that they were able to provided you with that service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    150
    76
    18
    9
See reviews for
93
114
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tokoroa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooms are dated but ok. It has an old feel about it. They have complimentary valet and free breakfast also. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would stay again. Handy to Venice beach and Hollywood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments, we have been and are still in the process of upgrading our guest & bathrooms. We have installed new carpet, tile, soft goods etc. in a majority of our rooms and looking at completion of all rooms before the end of the first quarter of 2013. I would like to invite you back, should you be in our area to review our make over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When we arrived at 1pm, they found a room ready for us. Fred was very friendly and super helpful. We found out that there was a bus stop 100m up the road an cost $1 to get to Santa Monica Pier. Bus arrives quite frequently and easy to catch, takes about 15-20minutes to reach the 3rd street promanade.
The room was nice with an extra seating area, which is nice when you have a child. That means no fighting over the TV as there were 2. Bathroom was very small but adaquate for what was needed as the rest of the room was large. Nice thing was when you did laundry you got the key so no-one else could get to your clothes. Pool was nice but fencing could do with up dating. The only down side was that the aircon smelt a bit but we left our windows open while out to get fresh air.
Fred and Denise were very nice and letting us check-out at 2pm as our flight was not until midnight so it gave us time to shop and then freshen up before going to the airport.
Would stay again if I am in LA.

Room Tip: Room facing the back on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family of five people who stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in July 2012, we had a wonderful stay here and would recommend this for anyone going to California. Both adults, teenagers and our little boy had a great time. We all lived in one family room with extra room for a sofa bed and TV. Small balcony and access to the pool and hot tub on the back. This is a quiet and cozy hotel located a short distance from Santa Monica Beach, Venice Beach, 3th. street promenade (best shopping street) and Hollywood. The beds were amazing good, we slept really well every night, and breakfast was very good. The world's best bagels, fruit, muffins, cereal and oat biscuits, juice, milk and coffee. Could eat as much as we wanted, never had to wait on tables. The staff is very kind and helpful, doing everything they can to ensure that guests enjoy their stay here. A huge extra thanks to the pleasant FRED at the reception. He really helped that we had a wonderful vacation in California. Everyone who worked here wanted to give us an unforgettable stay at this hotel. Fully manage rooms, great and good shower with good pressure (although the rest of the bathroom is small) but how long are we there? Was cleaned and traded towels every day. Every time we had been on day trips, they stood ready to park the car for us. And for 2 dollars you borrow washer and dryer in the basement. We want to go back and stay at this hotel again and again. We liked that it was not huge with thousands of tourists, we loved this quiet, relaxing and private place. We will return. Thanks to Fred and the rest of you for an unforgettable vacation. Lucky guests will stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: I guess Rooms on the back side are the quiets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's a best western so you know what you're paying for , but I was happily surprised :

Nice decorated room , big, except the tiny bathroom , the free parking and ( good ) breakfast with fresh fruit and fruit salad , yogurt eggs bagel and pastries...

the cons : A really big "old cigarette smell" in the room even if it'scnow forbidden !
ask for the upper stories and the back of the hotel , no noise with this tip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good-size rooms and bathroom (noisy extractor fan). Dull decor, but excellent housekeeping and our one (minor) maintenance problem resolved promptly. Good continental breakfast (juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, Danish, etc..). Breakfast area cramped; 2 extra tables in concrete backyard containing jacuzzi and mini-pool. All staff friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in rooms and computer with printer in lobby. Most guests during our 8-night stay were sedate adults, so noise from them was not a problem. Building, fronting on a busy road, seems timber-framed, so upstairs rooms at back are probably quietest. In essence, a clean, modernized motel well located for drivers (direct route from LAX) and buses to Santa Monica, Westwood Village and downtown LA and within comfortable walking distance of numerous restaurants and Westside Pavilion mall on West Pico Boulevard. Good value for money in expensive LA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in america for a month and this was the only motel that we stayed in that we were disapointed in. We choose it because it was not a high rate and It was supposed to be in a safe area .
We were disapointed about the hotel because the corridors of the motel and the rooms had a very bad smell in them, even thought the rooms were very very big and nicely decorated
. The Beakfast is extremely basic and the tables are in the middle of the entrance to the motel. there are not enough tables to sit down ,and very noisy when we were there , but that depends on the people staying at the hotel at the time.
They give a service of vallet parking for free for the car, which is nice the first day , but not very nice if alot of people are waiting in turn when you come to get your car .
Even though I read that I t is a safe neighborhood I didnt feel very comfortable to go out at night even though nothing happened to make me feel unsafe.
We only stayed two days and would not recommkend the motel due to the terrible smell in the corridors and the room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites

Address: 2528 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#74 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites provides guests with stunning amenities, a fantastic location, and unbeatable prices. West Los Angeles hotels are varied, but guests at this Los Angeles hotel have found the best of the best. Beverly Hills and Santa Monica are nearby. Century City and UCLA are also in the neighborhood. Being in the heart of the city is the only way to fully experience LA. The BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites dishes up the best value in West LA. A swimming pool, hot tub, billiards room, and exercise room cater to every need or whim. A game of billiards is the perfect end to an evening. A dip in the pool is nearly a requirement. We’re more than just the best location around. Our Los Angeles hotel features suites with two televisions and a separate sitting room. Go ahead and make yourself at home. We offer 57 channels, all in HD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Palace Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Plus Royal Palace Inn And Suites
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;