We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills to your Saves list
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #35 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the hotel for both business and leisure purposes. Absolutely loved the location, facility, room, and service. All staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Although the bar and restaurant are run by a separate hospitality company their service and quality was a perfect match for the hotel. Looking forward to returning!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    274
    112
    72
    56
See reviews for
176
240
100
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the W for six nights in mid-April as part of a JetBlue vacation package. From the moment we arrived until we left, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, particularly due to the exceptional service from W staff. Recognizing that we would be staying for six nights, the front desk staff member helping us (I think, Romeo) moved us to a higher floor. The valet staff was also very helpful--twice retrieving items we left in the car. We never had to wait long for the car, and they always offered us help with directions and bottled water. The room was very sleek, and the furnishings were more stylish than functional, but that was ok--we were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious--lots of space for toiletries, and a great shower. The Bliss products provided were also fantastic. There was a pocket door to the bathroom which awkwardly slid over the wall, and was next to the bed. I've stayed in other hotels with pocket doors, but they've usually been built into the walls, and opened to a hallway or non-bed area. The door provided visual privacy, but you could hear everything--we just turned on the tv. Our favorite part of the hotel was the location--lots to walk to near UCLA. A five minute walk to restaurants, shops, and a grocery store just a block away. The charges for the wifi were reasonable, but it was a bit slow. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for a visit to LA. It's a quite neibourhood and a short walk to bars / restaurants although the hotel itself is something of a venue for cocktails or dinner! We stayed last weekend and it was certainly popular with the locals. As you'd expect from The W it has a great feel and the lobby, bar and pool area are lovely.
Now for the cons... The rooms are average at best. They've had a makeover of late but still feel a little shabby. We had to call down to reception for an iron as ours was missing and the maid didn't leave any toiletries. Also check the beers in the mini-bar before opening, I had a can of IPA that luckly I poured into a glass before drinking as it was really cloudy and stank. Not a suprise really as it went out of date in 2013! Needless to say they knocked it off the bill at checkout. All in all, it's pretty good but not the standard you'd expect from the brand or for the price.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Starting to seem a bit worn. Great roomy floor plan complete with the expected trendy W stylings, however the bathtub floor was very worn and the sink drain was installed backwards requiring us to push on the drain plug while running the faucet so the sink didn't fill up. The "comforter" seemed like a cheap plastic sheet that you might get in a motel that charges by the hour, not the kind of fabric you would expect in a luxury hotel.

Room service was prompt and tasty. Valet service was efficient and thoughtful...nice touch offering bottled water for the drive.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is very hip and stylish, with great rooms, ammenities, and service. Between valet, front desk, and resutaurant service everyone is incredibly professional, helpful, and pleasant.

My room was a studio with a king size bed and an awesome shower... and of course, a FANTASTIC view of Los Angeles. Huge TV with tons of channels, including HBO (had to get my Game of Thrones on...).

The hotel is also VERY secure, which is priority for me. Valet staff do not let a second go by without approaching a car that stops at the premises. While they are doing this to deliver quick service, the safety factor is definitely very present as no car/passerby goes unaccounted for. You are also required to swipe your room key to use the elevator after a certain hour, which is an excellent touch. Overall, it was invaluable how safe I felt in this hotel as a solo female traveler.


The area is just between UCLA and Bel-Air - very residental in the immediate surroundings, but just around the corner from city life. With a car, I found this to be the perfect central location to be able to hit West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and Venice in just two days.

One thing I'd caution is about the expenses tacked on. Parking is $38 per day, and while parking in the area is generally expensive, I did think that price was pretty steep. The restaurant is also incredibly pricey with sub par food - breakfast alone offered $12 watery oatmeal and $7 orange juice in a small cup. Skip the restaurant if you can and explore the city for better meal spots.

Finally, this hotel is one of very few I've been to lately that does not offer free wifi - wifi is very expensively priced by the day. I opted out, but if you are a business traveler who will need to use your computer in your room, this is NOT the place for you.

Overall, would DEFINITELY return, but I'll be smarter about the services I take advantage of to avoid some of the unreasonable expenses.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, General Manager at W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Toby N,

Thank you for the kind review especially about the amazing team we have here. Our unsuspecting hideaway is the perfect escape. Enjoy a relaxing day on our Wet Deck with lunch in The Backyard. While our cabanas are available for purchase to outside guests, we always maintain a comfortable vibe for all of our guests. Our location is perfect for exploring everything LA has to offer. Connect with our Insider, Melissa, and she'd be glad to offer a few recommendations to enjoy.

Take advantage of our special offers as they often include parking and when making your next reservation book directly through our SPG website and Wifi is yours enjoy complimentary.

Looking forward to your next visit

Mark Eberwein
General Manager, W Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Coaching a professional tennis player, we moved into a 2 bedroom suite on the penthouse level for 2 months. Was every little thing the best of the best? Of course not. But the overall experience of living in a hotel for 2 months was about as good as it gets. They really treated both of us like resident royalty. And the access to training at UCLA was unsurpassed.

We still train at UCLA from more permanent digs, but plan to visit the newly remodeled W often to hang in the Backyard. It's become a great West LA classic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, General Manager at W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Irreverent,

Thank you for bestowing such an honor upon us. The team is dedicated to providing not just a stay but an experience. I am truly excited to share this with everyone as your comfort is our top priority.

We're glad you experienced our incredible location set just in the foothills of Beverly Hills and a few blocks from the UCLA campus. From our poolside cabanas and lush gardens to the palpitating urban pulse of our Living Room bar, it is a wonderful oasis from the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mark Eberwein
General Manager, W Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night during the Sunset Strip Half Marathon, having stayed here last year before the big renovation and I loved it then and much more now!
The livingroom is so beautiful and the rooms upgraded to a more futuristic chic look but still that W style design. I love the Westwood area, and W Westwood only add value to the neighborhood.
Shout-out to Lori Pritz who made my stay amazing!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, General Manager at W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Miss Natalia Silva,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback on the hotel and the service you received. We are thrilled with our recently completed $25 million transformation of our guest suites and Living Room and glad you were able to experience it with us. The stunning water feature and electrifying design elements really makes for the perfect escape. Grab a cocktail in Living Room Bar and bask in the glow of our unique lighting, or take a relaxing turn in our contemporary guestrooms. Whatever your style, we have what you need. I'll personally thank Lori on her efforts as she is a special part of our hotel.

We'll see you next time!

Mark Eberwein
General Manager, W Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills

Address: 930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Los Angeles Hotel is at the foothills of Beverly Hills/Bel Air, squarely in the center of glamour, W Los Angeles Hotel West Beverly Hills is located between Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Los Angeles - Westwood Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotels Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.