We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for walking around Westwood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Los Angeles - Westwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Los Angeles - Westwood to your Saves list
W Los Angeles - Westwood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #33 of 336 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice for walking around Westwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

So if you're working/visiting Westwood this is a nice place to stay away from the noise of the shopping area/campus, but still walkable to get there. I think most rooms are suites which makes them nice for a few day stay, but it is pricier as a result. It doesn't feel as trendy as other W hotels, but that's fine, just looking for SPG points anyway. Cabs are always waiting which is a plus if you're car-less in LA and have an early flight (LAX is about 20 minutes away when no traffic).

Room Tip: I think every room has a different layout, so hard to know even by floor what you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    271
    111
    72
    56
See reviews for
176
238
98
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

W hotel has made its name in fashionable boutique hotel and its LA property is something you can't miss when you are looking for something different in LA. The pool is spacious and the view is great, but parking around the property is limited and expensive, so valet is strongly recommended. Generally I like their decor and automsphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a great stay in this hotel - it has a very cool, inviting entry area (thought the person who checked me in could have been more warm and friendly), and I liked the retro-inspired design of my hotel room. I especially appreciated the L-shaped sofa in my room for doing some work on my laptop (with my feet up on the cushions). I remember sleeping well in the bed, but I found my bed at a Westin I slept in the previous night a lot more luxurious and comfortable. Perhaps the lower-profile mid-century modern inspired bed just wasn't built for that much cushioning and bedding. I was disappointed in my bathtub - the drain didn't close/open well and it just generally seemed old and uninviting (and I absolutely love taking baths to clean up and warm up after long, chilly flights). I liked the hip but intimate bar and restaurant and really enjoyed my meal at the restaurant. I ordered some room service and the gentleman who brought me my glass of wine was extremely nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a nice stay at the W Los Angeles. The service was good and my room was large and clean. I ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and it was very good. While the fitness center was small, I never had trouble getting on a machine. Overall very good stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello,

The talent here is dedicated to ensuring each guest has an enjoyable stay from the moment your arrive. Our Welcome Ambassadors always ensure the check-in is smooth and quick. I am glad to hear you were pleased with your room. Our functional décor and cool colors allow for a relaxing atmosphere. Each our suites is uniquely appointed, creating a new experience each time you stay. Chef Dakota Weiss curates inspiring menus for each meal in both The Backyard and NineThirty. During you next stay, you will have stay for dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
James G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I always have mixed reviews after staying at W Hotels, but this was one of my better experiences.

Pros - the room was quite functional, including a good desk / work area separate from the bed / bathroom; location is fantastic, walking distance to retail on Westwood and the UCLA campus; pool and outdoor restaurant is a wonderful escape from the bustling streets of LA; very helpful house car for nearby trips; water fall steps at the entrance

Cons - furnishings in the room were a bit tired (bed and bathroom were fine); TV almost too small for viewing while in bed; bar scene surprisingly non-existent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good hotel in a great location halfway between Santa Monica and Beverley Hills. Check in OK, room big but AC doesn't work while you sleep so room gets very hot. Bathroom OK but not amazing. Pool small, very few loungers and a very busy pool party meant we couldn't get near it one afternoon which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay was just perfect. Mellissa chinchilla set up all of our reservations off site and led us to the perfect hot spots for a birthday getaway. We had a romantic, hip, and classy dinner and the whole stay was hassle free. The staff at the hotel arranged everything for us. All we had to do was show up. The service made us feel like celebrities. This hotel is a must for an LA destination.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Los Angeles - Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Los Angeles - Westwood

Address: 930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Los Angeles - Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Los Angeles Hotel is at the foothills of Beverly Hills/Bel Air, squarely in the center of glamour, W Los Angeles Hotel Westwood is located between Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your W Los Angeles - Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Los Angeles - Westwood Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotels Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Los Angeles - Westwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.