We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Los Angeles - Westwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added W Los Angeles - Westwood to your Saves list
W Los Angeles - Westwood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #21 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's hidden within Westwood, close to UCLA, within walking distance to Westwood restaurants. Though, most of the restaurants are catering to students, you'd be better of driving to Santa Monica, Century City or Beverly Hills to find good food. Although the hotel has 2 restaurants that serve very good food, until very late at night. Great pool with cabanas. Overall, very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: great deals for AAA members, IATA members
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    249
    102
    61
    52
See reviews for
153
225
90
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I know this hotel is in LA, but $17 for a bowl of oatmeal and a cup of coffee? $38 for overnight parking? Are they just testing the bounds of reality to see how far they can push people before someone actually says something like "ARE YOU KIDDING ME?"

Still, this is a gorgeous place. The staff are all very beautiful. The rooms, though quite small for a 'spectacular suite' (which is what I had) are beautifully decorated and the bed was super-comfy. The names of amenities at the place are totally pretentious - you press 'drive' on the phone to reach the valet.. but since they also provide a free ride anywhere in a 5 mile radius, it's hard at first to tell whether the 'drive' refers to *your* car or *their* car.

In summary, they're trying very hard to be chic and mostly, they succeed. I enjoyed my stay.. but was very glad that someone else (my company) was picking up the bill.

Room Tip: The bar and pool area downstairs can get very noisy at night - try to get a room on a higher floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us in Westwood. Our WHEELS valet offers a safe and convenient place to park your car, and I can guarantee that it is very competitive within similar hotels across Los Angeles.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the property and our Talent. I am glad you also had a chance to utilize our complimentary Acura service.

I do hope next time you are in Los Angeles, for work or pleasure, you think of us.
Sincerely,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at The W for two nights on a business trip to Los Angeles. I've stayed at three Starwood properties and this one was by far the best for one reason and one reason alone. The staff. In my two days at the hotel I was consistently greeted with a smile by people who seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. What a rare find this day in age!

I'd like to highlight one person in particular who went above and beyond. Her name is Melissa Chinchilla and she is the W Insider at this property. I met Melissa after inquiring about how I could get tickets to a play at Geffen Playhouse. She not only helped me with this, but then also spent time getting to know me and preparing a tailored Los Angeles experience (in my case think beer tasting at premier microbreweries around Los Angeles with the top brewmasters). If you stay at The W and have a boring time in L.A. then clearly you didn't talk with Melissa because if you had I guarantee you would have had a top shelf experience. Melissa is a wealth of information and is reason enough to stay at The W in Westwood, Los Angeles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. CA.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our son goes to UCLA so we decided to give this hotel a try; it is located a few blocks from the UCLA campus! I have "Ambassador" status with Starwood this year ... the program is new so I am not sure what exactly that entails (it is a higher level than platinum so I am told). Anyway, the hotel set us up in a nice suite which was perfect for our needs. When we were checked in we met Cary the "Welcome Talent Coach" at the front desk. I had a few minor requests and this young woman took care of us wonderfully. Cary is as good as it gets in the way of a front desk manager (or any manager for that matter). Even though she is young she is obviously very experienced in the hospitality field with a strong professional attitude and "air" about her. My entire family was very impressed with her and we hope to all see her again soon. And, since there is a beer or wine tasting at this hotel on most Friday nights (this night it was Angel City Brewery and Ashley was a very impressive Cicerone), there is a good chance Cary might see our (of age) son stopping by the hotel on a given Friday night even without us! We also had a similar positive experience in the lounge with a wonderful waitress that evening as well as with our waiter the next morning in the restaurant for breakfast. As I mentioned, just great staff all around at this hotel! Keep up the great work and we will see you again real soon when we visit our son again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, and thanks for the review! We do get a lot of parents with us for campus visits, Go Bruins! Thank you for your continued loyalty to the SPG program, we really do appreciate our loyal guests, and congratulations on making Ambassador!

We recently launched a Weekend.Starts.Now. program, and offer complimentary beverages to guests on Friday from 5PM to 7PM! That weekend was our first, and we loved working with Angel City Brewery!

I hope to welcome you back again soon, it’s never too soon to plan a spring visit!

Looking forward to it,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Second time at the W Westwood and was just as good a stay as the first time around! I was happy to see that since my previous stay (April 2012) the wifi was now free around the whole hotel! I was again upgraded from a studio to a suite (Couldn't believe it second time in a row in the same hotel!) which was very large. Only stayed for one night on the way back to Australia from the Carribean but was exactly what we needed - nice bed, very quiet, dinner at the restaurant before getting on a 14 hour flight was tasty, and our bathroom had a bath and two showers! (Not sure why, but wasn't complaining). As always love the W's Bliss products and took some home to use! Hotel very accommodating allowing us to book one room for a second night, (and it being the larger upgraded suite!) because our flight was not until midnight the next day. I like the W chain because you know what to expect, the service and staff are always good, the concierge was very chatty and we love the free Acura car service which took us to the Robertson Blvd/Beverly Centre. Westwood is a nice quiet college area close to nice suburbs like Bel Air and Beverly Hills and further away from Hollywood (which we wanted!!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a 1 bedroom suite. It was well appointed, though a tad on the small side. Great view overlooking the nice pool area. Everyone from valet to desk staff to bartenders etc was perfect and friendly. No service complaints in the slightest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your mini-vacation with us. We do have a wide variety of room sizes in all our all suite hotel, including 2 bedroom suites. I hope you had a chance to experience The Backyard, our poolside alfresco dining choice located near WET. It is always a pleasure to know that our Talent made a great impression.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent Starwood hotel guest, W hotels have never disappointed until now. After flying 5 hours we arrived to a welcoming that should've been our clue to stay else where. The bartender in the backyard bar greeted our group with a snarky attitude and our request for food was met with " we close in 15 min and I've already done last call". She was super happy to be doing her job. The only star of our 5 night stay was the valets, always smiling and always friendly. The smiles stopped at the front door. We will never stay at this location again nor will our group of 8. I could go on, but the short of the long is the staff made the stay not worth the W price tag.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. The experience you describe is not the typical W Los Angeles experienced described in other reviews or what we expect of our team. We usually hear great feedback on the The Backyard, especially it’s outdoor views of WET.

Rest assured, I will follow up with our service teams, as we want to provide an amazing W Los Angeles experience to each and every guest. I do hope we can change your mind, and I invite you back to stay with us on your next visit.

Sincerely,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Los Angeles - Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Los Angeles - Westwood

Address: 930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Los Angeles - Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Los Angeles Hotel is at the foothills of Beverly Hills/Bel Air, squarely in the center of glamour, W Los Angeles Hotel Westwood is located between Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Los Angeles - Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Los Angeles - Westwood Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotels Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Los Angeles - Westwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.