We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Los Angeles - Westwood

Save Saved
You added W Los Angeles - Westwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Los Angeles - Westwood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights this past summer as a "splurge" at the end of a 8 day trip that began in the Grand Canyon, moved on to Sedona, followed by Disney, then here at the W.

We have stayed at other W properties on other trips (Washington DC, Scottsdale, etc.) but we knew we were in for a treat when we pulled up to the valet. A very warm greeting, followed "not too pushy" offer to take our bags while we checked in. The front desk staff were all very busy, but when we walked up, someone from the back came aroung to help us. We recieved a quick check-in, a card for 20% at any of the establishments on the property, and a room upgrade! The bellman then took us to a high floor room, that was much larger than expected, all to the delight of my daughter.

After a quick un-pack, we made our way to the outside restaurant for a bite, and were pleasantly surprised that it was "happy hour" with 1/2 priced food and drink. Not just bar nibbles, but very tasty creations from the chef. A very good meal.

All in all, we loved our stay, and have already planned our return.

Room Tip: Get a high floor as the pool and restaurant can get quite loud and busy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello! Sounds like you had quite a fantastic trip with your daughter! We love being part of special moments, and it is really great to see you are already planning a return visit.

Thank you for the kind words about our Talent, we always strive to provide amazing service. I hope you enjoyed your time at The Backyard, and the happy hour out there is phenomenal! We currently have CHILL open, our 1,600 square foot hybrid ice rink, that is hit with adults and family travelers alike. I hope you had a chance to take spin.

We are looking forward to your return visit already.

Sincerely,
James G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    236
    97
    58
    48
See reviews for
135
217
88
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had a personal visit scheduled at the W the week of Thanksgiving and my short stay was extremely comfortable. Meredith at the front desk was accommodating and friendly. She happily accommodated all my special requests in a professional manner. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for business or pleasure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello, and happy holidays! I wish you could have stayed longer, but a short visit can be just as great sometimes. Our executive chef Dakota Weiss puts out an amazing menu for the holidays, so I hope you had the chance to eat at either of our restaurants, NineThirty or The Backyard.

I will be sure to let Meredith know she is making an impact on our guests. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know, and for your recommendation.

I do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, whether it is business or leisure.
Have a great day, and enjoy the holiday season.

Sincerely,
James G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was not sure about the location when I booked this hotel. The Fabulous Suite looked amazing & spacious & it was. After chatting with concierge I discovered Ucla was 2mins walk away, their was a Ralph market about 5min away & a village of shops including AT&T, Victorias Secret & some good places to eat. Tanino was a great Italian find - an adult restaurant but relaxed enough to bring the kids.

Room Tip: Fabulous suite great for families as you can put the kids in the 'office' room. Staff happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I am glad to see you enjoyed your time in Westwood! It is sometimes challenging to find a walking neighborhood in Los Angeles, but Westwood is certainly one of them. Tanino’s is a great find, and just one of favorite local dining spots.

I hope you had a chance to eat at The Backyard while you were here, our executive chef Dakota Weiss puts together a great seasonal menu.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Los Angeles area.

Happy Holidays,
James G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I love this hotel and the W hotels in general!... This hotel is located near UCLA on an adjacent street called Hilgard Avenue.
The rooms are typical W chic trendy and hip with usual W amenities

The staff are attentive and friendly and as SPG member they treat you like royalty.
The pool was closed but they had a Chill event where you can ice skate with "snow " every hour. We hung out at the Backyard Pool Bar for great happy hour drinks and wonderful service.

There is an indoor bar that had a large hip party when my wife and I came back from dinner and we had a couple of great well mixed drinks. overall no complaints!


Room Tip: Request higher floor and corner room if possible

Room Tip: High Floor and become SPG member for extra little perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the large corner suite with our 3 kids and had a blast. The 2 older ones slept on a pull out in the office room and little one with us in king room. The bliss bath products , bathrobes, cool shower , living room and coffee free at bar. We soldo got free parking and drinks. They turned pool into ice rink on roof and it was tough but fun at night. The area is ucla and its students. Young vibe and away from tacky Hollywood. Easy drive to Santa Monica pier and bike paths and great valet parking. The staff were friendly and relaxed. Very w in decor and feel. But surprisingly doable with kids!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us! I am so glad W Los Angeles – Westwood worked out for your family, and that you had the chance to experience CHILL, our hybrid ice skating rink.

Our Westwood location does offer a great vibe, and we view ourselves as an escape from the traditional Los Angeles experience.

I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been coming back to this property for many years for the simple reason: Outstanding Hotel! The property is located near the Westwood Village area and UCLA Campus and has a wonderful quiet comfortable feel to it. The outdoor pool area is a urban oasis The rooms /suites are appointed perfectly and feature the usual W appointments you would expect: flat screen tvs. dvd players, cd/radio player system, pillow top bed, etc. As a lifetime Platinum member with SPG i am always welcomed back and receive suite upgrades almost every time I have stayed here. The Staff are well trained and always go out of their way to provide outstanding service time after time. The Westwood Village area offers may different places to walk too and enjoy. Great food, take in a movie at the historic Fox theater etc. I also must compliment the Backyard Pool Bar for great drinks, food and service. A wonderful property for anyone looking to travel to LA and it is close to WEHO, Beverly Hills, etc. I can 't say enough good things about the this W and will be back again soon !

Room Tip: Request higher floor and corner room /suite in the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Los Angeles - Westwood, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello, and thank you for your continued loyalty! We love having guests return to visit us, it is the best compliment we can receive.

We often refer to our WET area as an oasis, so I am glad to see we are doing it right. We love having SPG guests stay with us, and I am happy to see we are able to consistently provide you with upgrades.

Thank you so much for the great review, we do appreciate it. I know the whole team is looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a weekend getaway at the W in Westwoo. What a great place and the service was awesome. I stayed in corner suite and had a great view of the pool, which was converted into an ice skating rink for the winter. So much fun. Easy access to all of the great sites in LA. I found a new favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Los Angeles - Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Los Angeles - Westwood

Address: 930 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Los Angeles - Westwood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Los Angeles Hotel is at the foothills of Beverly Hills/Bel Air, squarely in the center of glamour, W Los Angeles Hotel Westwood is located between Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your W Los Angeles - Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Los Angeles - Westwood Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotel Los Angeles
w Hotels Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Los Angeles - Westwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.