We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a bargain for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1401 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 1000 Points
Ranked #118 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    306
    185
    36
    37
See reviews for
105
221
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, left for Vegas, and again then a further 3 days. The first room we had (275) was on the second floor, on the corner, nice big bed, clean, and with loads of space. There was an odd smell in the room which we assumed was the chemicals/air freshener they used when cleaning, but we'd rather they didn't as it wasn't nice.

The second room we had (257) was not as pleasant unfortunately. A random table placed in the room took up too much space, we had to move it ourselves to be able to get into bed. This time the bed was not as big, and on the first night there was a cockroach in the bath! We kept the plugs in for the rest of the trip and no more little critters came to visit.

I would stay there again despite the crappy room we had the second time, but this time I would ensure I asked for a top floor corner room when booking as they seem to be a little better and bug free!

If you're planning on a quick visit, want to be local to transport links, and are on a budget, then this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor, preferably an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

On first impressions, we were a little apprehensive of staying here because of the location. However, the room was clean, spacious although quite dated. Breakfast was complimentary and provided fruit as an option which was a nice change from the usual muffins and cake.
I personally wouldn't recommend walking about by the hotel at night, but it's fine in the day.
If you plan on having somewhere cheap to rest you head at night that's clean and that's it, then this is your hotel.
It would be a long walk to the Chinese theatre / walk of fame, but takes about 15 minutes in the car. It's about 10 minutes (by car) to the Griffiths Conservatory and well worth the trip!
Just a tip also, the motel wouldn't accept payment with a foreign currency card (as it has no name on it) but was happy to accept cash?! This doesn't make any sense, but worth noting if like many overseas travellers you plan to use a prepaid currency card.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hotel is good located and in very good condition, the breakfast was good.. nothing different to others travelodge, the room was clean and big enough, free wi fi and parking ,
cons: there is a hospital opposite to the hotel, and the ambulance late night can be wake up

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms were of a decent size and clean. We had a car spot available on the premises which was great and didn't have to worry about where to park our car. The breakfast was basic but when you look at the overall cost of staying at the Travelodge and what you get, your ok with that. The staff at reception did not seem to know that much about the area and even tried to sell me a package bus tour as driving around would be impossible during the day. As I had been to LA before and drove everywhere with no issues, I knew that was not the case, so I did not take on the offer but had it been someones first time, they would have believed him and taken the bus tour as he came across very convincingly, so I guess they must get some type of commission for selling another companies products. The pool was nice and clean and was a bonus to have laundry facilities available for customer use for a small fee. Overall, I have stayed here before and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have children who require a pram or are travelling with someone who has limited mobility, ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This motel is in a great location for public transport and access to sunset blvd and hollywood blvd. rooms are standard motel rooms. Clean and have all the amenities. Coffee is provided, not tea. Fridge provided. Breakfast is provided. All,up we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge9467, General Manager at Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are glad to hear our hotel location and amenities met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Address: 1401 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#118 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.