We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% Off
Ranked #89 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For the price they charged it was no where near worth what we received. When you took a shower the water went all over the floor. The tv was not located in a convenient location. Took forever to get room service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    537
    316
    210
    171
See reviews for
239
574
127
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Once you enter the hotel, you recognize many of the settings from movies. The food is incredible, the rooms are nice, but what makes a difference is knowing that you are crossing paths with some of Hollywood's most famous movie stars. Don't miss the pool. Very relaxing with food and beverage service. This hotel is a must see in Hollywood even if you don't spend a night here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ocean_Rover_Blue_Wat,

As a top contributor, thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the atmosphere of the Roosevelt. We hope to welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came here for a close friend's wedding with my five year old daughter who was recovering from an illness. Dalila at the front desk asked lots of questions about my little one, gave us an upgrade, and sent us a beautiful plush teddybear. The bear arrived right as my daughter was at a low point, it was amazing timing!

Staff in general were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a fantastic location. The room was exquisite, stylish, and had an amazing view. It was the king deluxe. Well worth it, looking forward to staying again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Dave F,

We are so glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us at the Roosevelt. Thank you for your compliments on Dalila, I am glad she was able to bring a smile to your daughters face. We look forward to welcoming you both back again.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just stayed for a long weekend at the Roosevelt. The hotel was tastefully renovated recently and has interesting photography throughout, as well as a friendly front desk staff. Also, the location is perfect for strolls around Hollywood. Unfortunately we were in a room adjacent to the elevator shaft and heard the elevators stopping and starting extremely audibly all night and could barely get some shut eye. Additionally, the hot water was out in our room for our first day, then just lukewarm the next day. We spoke with the front desk three times about the issue and unfortunately didn't get much follow up, other than hearing that a service rep would be fixing a broken boiler and updates were forthcoming. We'd likely consider other accommodations in the area on our next visit to Hollywood.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear ryry79,

Unfortunately we did face a broken boiler during your stay. Regardless of the issue it should not have negatively impacted your time with us and we apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate your visit.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

How/Why this hotel booked guests in rooms directly adjacent to their extremely loud renovation work is a mystery... Management was entirely unapologetic.

Besides that, the hotel is otherwise decent, with a faux rustic interior and Hollywood-themed decor. Their dining options are pretty good, although I recommend avoiding breakfast at their 25 Degrees diner unless oatmeal, yogurt, and coffee for $50 is your idea of a good value. The Public Kitchen bar/restaurant offers good food and drinks, albeit at hotel prices.

The rooms are nicely furnished and spacious, with great showers. The hotel is situated right on Hollywood Blvd, across from Mann's Chinese Theatre.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear BooDiggly,

I apologize for the inconvenience of our construction. As I am sure you are aware we are in the midst of a complete renovation of the historic tower and we are very close to finishing up the job. Inevitably noise has been a downside of the work, but we are confident that our finished product will be worth the wait for our guests. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy our new and finished look. We appreciate your visit.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When staying in LA we have always tended to stay out by the beach (Santa Monica, Venice etc) but a friend introduced us to this place on a night out. What an unexpectedly fantastic hotel! Like a phoenix, this hotel recently changed from an old shabby piece of Hollywood history into a chic and trendy place to stay. The hotel attracts a young crowd which is quite unusual considering the type of hotel is it (classic hollywood style). The rooms are very will thought out (we stayed in a pool cabana, next to Marilyn Monroe's cabana!) and the staff are very helpful and courteous.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Hollywood that caters to all types of people but does tend to attract a laid back trendy crowd then this is the place to stay!

It's also very central for visiting all the local Hollywood nightlife and bars.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool cabana room which were quite motel style but very nicely styled and the proxim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear UK_Rob_000,

We are glad you found us! Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Hollywood and that you appreciate our setting and theme. We hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to the states! We are a quick drive to the beach!

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked here for the final 3 days of our trip to LA. The rooms are small, unless you get a suite and the service was mediocre. However we didnt stay there for the reputation of the service. The bar out the back ( tropicana) had a great little vibe and a good place for drinks and feeling like your apart of that LA life style. Its right on Hollywood Blvd, so if you are wanting to be in the thick of its its a great option. We didnt eat at the hotel however the staff were very helpful in getting us reservations and recommending us places to eat and drink. We had a room overlooking the blvd and we were there the same time as a movie premiere so we had the best seats in the house. We heard it was hunted and you kind of get this vibe, however its such a famous hotel i think its just apart of the LA hype. Highly recommend this hotel. ( We also some a good deal of celebs by the pool and around the hotel )

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ladykeets,

Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the Roosevelt. I am glad you were able to relax by the Tropicana bar and felt you were a part of the true LA scene. We appreciate your visit and hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to the states.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.