We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #89 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
“Trip to LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Roosevelt for an extended weekend with friends. The Hotel was upscale and friendly with plenty of activities to do in and around the neighborhood.
Most notably was The Pool & Teddy's - Jarrett was extremely helpful and accommodating to our group on several occasions at both locations. The staff was also extremely friendly as well - Scarlet was the pool manager and made sure we were set up properly for the Saturday pool party. As did Jhannet, Juan & Darvina. We had a blast on Saturday afternoon and even saw a few celebrities - Marlon Waynes & Kevin Hart among others.
All in all, the Hotel was in a great location central to most of our weekend plans.
I woudl recommend it and stay there again next time im in LA!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear DominickA,

It sounds as if you enjoyed your stay here at the Roosevelt. I am glad our Tropicana team was able to help in setting you up for one of our weekend pool parties. We look forward to your return!

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    518
    304
    204
    166
See reviews for
221
556
124
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here and the location and service was incredible. You are literally in the middle of some of the most famous Hollywood attractions - Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theater, Dolby Theater, 10 min drive to Runyon Canyon and Mulholland Drive.

We chose to valet overnight instead of paying for offsite parking because valet let you come and go as you pleased for the same daily rate which made more sense as opposed to paying for offsite parking every time we came and left.

The room was a bit on the tighter side, but if you are familiar with NYC hotels this doesn't come as a surprise for LA. The pool area looked fab, we just never got around to having time to hang out there. We dined at 25 Degrees (a 24 hour bar/burger joint on the premises) and it was ridiculously good.

There were renovations of some sort going on while we were there, but not enough to bother us. Although, others may have been. We're from the city so we are used to traffic, construction, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Iamamsterdam,

Thank you for the compliments on the service provided. It is great you and your husband enjoyed your Hollywood stay. It sounds as if you were able to visit many of the local attractions. We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon!

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First of all i need to explain that i am a really really big hater. Just see my previous reviews.
But i can NOT find one fault about this hotel.
The swimming pool is a scene, the weekends get manic in the summer. But even when the place is party popping and crazy busy the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and feel special. One guy who has to be noted is Patrick, the guy is awesome. Always there to help you. Jarrett is also amazing. What an awesome dude. Usually in a place like this the security can be a little intimidating and overbearing- not at the Roosevelt. They are amazing. Only problem would be the door lady at the Bowling alley, she made it rather hard for me to get in. After 5 minutes of giving me grief we realized why. The most epic of all bowling alleys. What a venue.
Basically this hotel is awesome and i couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: If you want a party room choose one by the pool. If you want peace and quiet choose the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear KaspXhotels,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of the Roosevelt. I will pass along your compliments to the team, they will be excited to receive this feedback. We look forward to your return!

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were meant to stay here for two nights, on our bold escape from hurricanes Iselle & Julio, but ended up one night due to our airline botching our reservations.

My travel agent in Sweden had overnight booked us into the hotel and besides its location in the heart of Hollywood (literally across Mann's Chinese Theater and on the Walk of Fame), the hotel seemed nice.

I had to call in ahead to organize late night transportation from LAX and organize the baby crib and everything worked smoothly, a highly efficient concierge desk. When I had to call again (after the booking mishap), our night was cancelled at no cost, and the car rebooked. Again, very efficient.

The hotel feels ancient, having first opened in 1927, and it's currently being redecorated into a design hotel. Some of the floors (e.g. 7) feel creepy in their dark dark decor. The rooms are nice (see pics from two of them), although our suite seemed a bit smallish, but heck, for one night, who cares. The bed was comfy, we slept well, that's what matters.

However, if you stay here longer, there are a few things to consider. The bathrooms are tiny, there is no place (really) in the hotel to have breakfast (the place called 25 degrees is a bar and was smacking full when we looked in), and - most importantly - there is VERY LOUD construction going on from seven-ish in the morning. No sleep. I don't know how long that is going to last. It didn't really bother us, since we were up anyway, but if you wish to sleep in, consider a quiet floor (if it exists)

Being able to walk out of the hotel and step onto the walk of fame does have an appeal, so if Hollywood is your destination, look at this hotel.

Room Tip: View over the Hollywood boulevard or the city of LA? You choose, but be high up if you wish to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear HansH,

As a senior contributor I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds as if you had quite a journey! I am glad our concierge team was able to assist in rearranging travel plans and that everything ran smoothly there after. As you mentioned, we are in the midst of a renovation and our new design takes a big step away from the dark décor you experienced. We do offer breakfast in 25 Degrees, our diner, as well as in-room (which can be delivered poolside). Thank you for your visit; we do hope to welcome you back.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here last month during our yearly visit to California and we were not disappointed! It was a great time overall- housekeeper Erika was so helpful and went above and beyond to accommodate my toddler's needs in order to make our stay a very enjoyable one. Clean hotel, great location...there's so many things to do nearby! I would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear MarissaMiller,

I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Roosevelt. Thank you for your compliments to Erika., I know she will be excited to receive this feedback. We look forward to your return!

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Near all the popular sites in Hollywood,but rooms were very depressing all black you would think that a Hollywood place would be spectacular with bright rooms? No. Are family was moved twice because the first room a fight broke out next to are room, the next we didn't have enough beds for are four piece family finally the last room suitable but too dark and dull. Beds were to low down, bathroom to small and bad decor. We thought why not go to the pool and relax, did not relax at all
The pool was crowded with drunk people, so drunk one man jumped out of there 4 story balcony in to the crowded pool, the staff did not care. Are first impression and experience of Hollywood was dirty and sleezy. However the sites were amazing. Hotel not family friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear 187sharon,

I am sorry you felt the Roosevelt was not the appropriate place for you and your family. It sounds as if you were placed in one of our double rooms that has not been renovated quite yet. These rooms are a bit darker and slightly out dated. We are making great headway with our renovation and our designer, Yabu Pushelberg, has done an excellent job of brightening up the new design. Thank you for your visit.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Amazing experience from beginning to end. Rooms were small however clean and comfortable. We loved this hotel and can't wait to return!! Thank you to the attentive staff for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about space book a higher room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Ebony A,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your comment on our staff, it is always nice to know guests feel our team is attentive. We hope to welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Kevin Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.