We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and got a great deal! But wouldn't pay full price to stay here.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location and got a great deal! But wouldn't pay full price to stay here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I travel to the States and Europe annually. I prefer to stay in Orange County and Newport but as i had someone me who it was there first time to LA, this was definitely a Perfect location. Just across from Mans Chinese Theatre and you are on the Hollywood walk of fame. There is an In and Out burger down the road you can walk to. The rooms are small (and we were in the King Superior) and the bathroom was smaller than our New York hotel (go figure!) We had arranged for the Hotel car to take us to the airport on our departure and had a fabulous driver. The staff at 25 degree bar were rude and as a paying hotel guest, this hotel isn't all its cracked up to be to justify them to be so rude. They also closed breakfast one morning five minutes before it was supposed to close. A big no no for a country who prides itself on its service. The hotel also has uneven tiles everywhere and isn't friendly to high heels. Also no free Wi-Fi but go across to the Coffee Bean company grab a coffee and you can get free Wi-Fi. Remember that you need a car to get around LA as there public transport is terrible. Downtown Hollywood is so dirty and classless. It's a great place for the tourist sites but you would get over it staying more than five days here. Explore Napa, OC, Huntington Beach, Malibu, Santa Monica pier and South Coast Plaza at Costa Mesa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABTBH, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Anna,
I appreciate your candid review. As you mentioned, we certainly do pride ourselves on our service, and I apologize that you did not experience that at 25 Degrees. I will of course address this right away as that we always try to be flexible to our guests needs including serving breakfast later if requested.
I do hope that you will give us another try. May I suggest a Studio King room for a roomier bathroom during your next stay. Due to our 1920's architecture each room is a little bit different, but I know that you will appreciate the size of the Studio Room.
Please let me know if your travel plans bring you back to Hollywood, I would be glad to personally handle your reservation.
Best,
Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    502
    295
    203
    164
See reviews for
214
544
120
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the backstory. The old Hollywood Great actors stayed here. The Home of the Academy Awards. The location on Hollywood Blvd. The hotel is the only one in the tourist area. within in walking distance to all major attractions. I had read it was a noisy hotel. I did not find it noisy at all. I loved the little cafe that opens up at the street. They have great burgers, and the best happy hour prices around ! I had planned a once in a lifetime trip, but now I plan on returning again. I will definitely stay at the Roosevelt.

Room Tip: View of Hollywood Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I recently had to attend an award show in Hollywood and wanted a hotel close to the event. The Renaissance on Highland (now a Loewes) had proved a disappointment the last time we stayed there so this time we checked in to the Roosevelt right on Hollywood Blvd. (Which is an entire experience in and of itself - street performers dressed up as everything from Marilyn Monroe to Johnny Depp to Transformers - great for people watching). We had a very nice room, all in chocolate tones. Unfortunately this meant we could literally not find our clothes in the closets since none of them had any LIGHTS and they were all painted a deep brown/black. Thankfully our cell phones came to the rescue and we were able to find my tuxedo and my wife's dress in the utter darkness. The old rooms have been preserved on the ground floor and they are beautiful. The food was very average. The staff extremely nice, particularly at the front desk. But the hotel is over-priced for the condition it is in at the moment - I understand another renovation is in the works.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABTBH, General Manager at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Deat Stuart,
Thakn you for staying with us for such a momentous occasion.
Yes, we do have a renovation in the plans coming up, more to come soon.
Hopefully another nomination next year will bring you back to Hollywood!
Best,
Gabrielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

the hotel's in a perfect location for touring the city. the hotel has a cool retro vibe with great bars and restaurants within. the rooms and hallways are clean and nicely decorated with hollywood icons. there were a few things that bothered me though. there are not enough outlets in the room. if you are travelling with people or have more than one electronic device, you might want to bring your own power strip. there was ONE open outlet in the room, my husband and i needed to take turns charging our cell phones. also, there's no light in the closet and since it is painted dark, it was impossible to see your clothes and items in your suitcase in there. lastly, they charge for coffee in the room! i've never been in a hotel where there is a charge for the coffee, and i work in the industry. i understand charging for the other beverages and snacks, but coffee is normally free of charge...but i guess to each their own.

Room Tip: spend a few more dollars and get a room in the tower, the higher the better. there is a club or som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here while catching a play at the Pantageous. Great staff clean room. A bit pricey but worth it. The staff at the Library bar were amazing and friendly. There were a few annoying tweens running up and down the hallways but we heard security dealing with them. If you get a chance to stay here do it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the best Hollywood can offer . Right in the heart of all the best shopping , galleries ,restaurants . This is one of my favorite haunts while out with friends. Chef is great at arranging private dinners in suite . Loved the terrace and the wonders of the city. Tropicanna Lounge is wonderful for meeting all the locals and just hanging out. Pool is fantastic on sunny days service is outstanding. Loved the service and attention to detail here. My home away from home when in L.A. Outstanding people outstanding place . LOVED IT.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thank you for mr. Mark Rader / Bell for making us always feel welcome to Hollywood Roosevelt. He has helped us so many times finding places , even lending his personal cellphone for us to make a local call.
mr. & mrs. Tammi Helsinki Finland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.