We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very central location, just a tad noisy in the mornings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #90 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very central location, just a tad noisy in the mornings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved this hotel, the interior and design - ceilings, floors and decor in public rooms was amazing. Very spacious. The food was excellent in the restaurant called The Public, two of the best meals we had during our 3 weeks in the US. Bedrooms and bathrooms bit on small side and decor too dark, needs to be lightened up so feels bigger. Pool area was very nice and surprised to find such a big outdoor area and quiet at a very central city hotel. Hotel is very central so be prepared for some music/noise from across street when the 'action' starts up in the mornings.

Room Tip: Get a room high up so noise from street/ traffic is lessened
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    529
    313
    206
    170
See reviews for
226
570
126
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here over the Labor Day long weekend last year during the middle of a heat wave so thank goodness the a/c was amazing. The rooms are great. The hotel has such character given its age and history. The bathroom had a great shower which is all I cared about. Central to everything in Hollywood, just wasn't my cup of tea, however my girlfriend loved the location. Families need not stay here... Too busy and has a younger crowd.
The pool on the first two days was closed for the filming of 90210 which was frustrating as it was so hot and we couldn't cool down but you take the good with the bad I guess.
Friendly staff, great food, excellent night sleep. Need I say more?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Room was in excellent condition. Beds were very comfortable and toilet was very clean. However it was a little pricey, though the locations made up for it. The valet service was excellent and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The pool are was great and the hotel had a nice location, but the place was sort of dark, the hallways especially. The rooms were nice enough but could use some remodeling. Overall, this hotel is not very good for families.

Room Tip: The views are not always that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our overall experience of the Roosevelt was very good. The location is incredibly convenient, right across the road from Madame Tussauds and the Chinese Theatre. Room was a good size and comfortable, the restaurants within the hotel were good also although a little overpriced. Our favourite part of the hotel was the pool area near the Tropicana Bar, although the weather at the time we visited wasn't really warm enough to swim, the atmosphere was still great, very relaxing. Bar staff were exceptional, great place to chill with old and new friends alike.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Close to everything around Hollywood, right on the walk of fame and across from Chinese theatre. Starbucks across the road supermarket in walking distance.
Its a Beautiful hotel a highlight of our honeymoon!
Reastaurant is a must to eat at our meals were amazing!
We can't wait to go back and stay again
Can't fault this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just recently returned back from the USA and stayed at this hotel on arrival and also on departure.

On arrival, we ended up in the main hotel and had a standard room. Very well layed out and even though the TV did not work, they were prompt and repaired it within the hour when reported. The hot water was good and sufficient.

The only downside with the room was the A/C was fairly loud and the on/off switch was broken, so the drumming was a little painful when sleeping.

Upon the second return trip, we where offered the poolside rooms as I told the front desk the issue we had with the A/C unit (he said most of standard rooms are like this). The poolside rooms was part of their renovations and updates. They prewarned us that on the weekends, it could get quite loud due to the guests (hotel and off the street) would use the bar beside the pool. We took a gamble and they gave us a room facing away from the pool area. Significant larger room and very modern compared to the main hotel. Possibly 100% larger. All modern cons and since we were facing away from the pool, very quiet. We loved the room!

If you rent a car and need valet, they will charge you $32/day (plus tips). We found suitable off street parking, but read the parking signs very carefully.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the pool if you need the space. Also caution with the pool room if they are facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.