We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location- Mediocre Everything Else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Location- Mediocre Everything Else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing I have to say about this hotel was the location. Very convenient to a number of touristy areas, to include Grauman's Chinese Theater. Room was a pretty decent size for an old hotel but the renovation was poorly done. I could hear the nightclub all night (don't stay on the 3rd floor) and everything was very dimly lit (I am told it was part of the ambience!). They have a nice Keurig machine in the room for your coffee but will charge you $3.50 for each K-cup! Starbucks is across the street so you can buy your own. If it wasn't for the fact I got this room pretty cheaply from an aggregator site, this would have been rated "poor".

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    482
    291
    198
    161
See reviews for
201
511
117
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here the week before Christmas and weren't too impressed with the lighting. It just seemed so dark wherever we went in this hotel- our room, the hallways, the lobby, reception were all poorly lit. We got a great rate on priceline and I'm very glad we didn't pay a penny more. We ended up with a basic king room. Room was pretty small but I guess I shouldn't complain given the great rate we got. And plus, we only used our room to sleep as we were out the entire day. Location is excellent. It was our first time in LA so we didn't mind being right in the middle of Hollywood. We didn't have a car either so we hopped on either the subway or bus all within a block of the hotel. Reception (in particular, Amanda) was extremely friendly and accommodating contrary to what others have said. The bathroom was small with no counter space. And the shower- don't get me started on the shower!! There was no shower door or shower curtains- simply a glass partition that covered only HALF the tub. Our entire bathroom floor was wet after each use. I would not recommend this to a friend if paying the regular rate at $300/night. I'd only recommend if they got a deal as good as ours. Tip: don't bother paying $15/day for wifi. There are 2 computers in the lobby with internet access. In addition, there is a starbucks and another coffee shop right across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights here. Had a fabulous room overlooking the pool. The location is excellent. Right on Hollywood Boulevard. Great service. Right opposite Madame Tassaud's Hollywood Wax Museum, Grauman's Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Kodak Theatre and Hollywood walk of fame stars. Stars homes tour vans here also. Souvenir stores & restaurants. All in walking distance. Definaltey would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Roosevelt for 4 nights as the first leg of our honeymoon.

Location: on Hollywood blvd across the road from the Chinese theatre where shuttle buses and tour companies depart for tours. Restaurants are everywhere within walking distsnce. Train station is a short 3 minute walk and taxi rank is on side street at hotel back entrance. The hotel is about 30-40 minutes from Santa Monica beach area where there is plenty to do for families and good shopping can be found here. Universal studious was 1 train stop from the hotel. Disney land and other theme parks are best accessed by cab and would set you back a $50. For shopping, rodeo drive is a $40 cab and is great for shopping.

Customer Service: is the best thing going for this hotel. Albert at concierge knows the hotel product very well and has a thorough knowledge of the city. Alain at reception was excellent and a credit to the hotel. During our stay, a different member of reception called our room on one early morning in error( rang wrong room) and I wasn't too pleased. To rectify their error, the duty manager apologised by providing us dinner in their restaurant to the value of $150. I found this to be a satisfactory apology.

The room: upon check in we were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was spacious with comfy king bed and a separate lounge area. The room was clean and the mini bar prices were fair and reasonable. Bathroom had both shower and separate bath. We stayed on the 8th floor with a view of the Hollywood sign and city.

Hotel amenities: the pool looked very clean and large enough to fit a good sized crowd in. A pity it was out of action for half our stay as the area was booked by private functions and hotel guests were unable to use. The same applied to the hotel lobby. The lobby appearance was great. Pity it was booked out for private functions. The gym was big enough to accommodate about 20 gym junkies at once. The standard cardio and muscular machines will look after your health fix.

Dining: the restaurant "public" had a varied selection of foods to satisfy most palates. We dined their one evening and the quality of food was exceptional. Table service was also of a high standard.

Things to note: room insulation is not existant. If you want to be woken in the middle of the night/ early morning by your energetic, not so quiet neighbours, then this hotel is for you. Light sleepers could find this bothersome.

I believe the hotel will cater for guests who prefer to party late and sleep till late morning. Couples could find this hotel a fit, depending on what they want from their stay in l.a. I honestly believe that families would find better accomodation options if they had children.

All in all, for what we did during our stay, another location such as west Hollywood would have suited us better. The actual hotel is good, minus the sleep quality a guest may get from noise from hallway and other nearby rooms.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better to eliminate any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel Roosevelt appealed from the start thanks to its Hollywood History and great location and it did not disappoint.

The staff were friendly, helpful and professional at all times and the foyer and lobby has a great look and feel. The rooms present very well for a Hotel that is [considerably] old.

While we were staying at the Hotel there was a movie premiere across the road at the Chinese Theatre and Hugh Jackman received his Hollywood Star - 5 meters from the hotel!
If you want to live Hollywood in style and with a great atmosphere. This is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Opposite Grauman's Chinese theatre couldn't be better location on Sunset. King suite is huge and great for families. We had a roll out bed in the living area and could have had another 2! Staff very friendly and efficient. We were facing strip so noisy on weekend but once the windows were shut it was no problem at all. Up the road one block from Hollywood museum, etc and subway. Tours galore to choose from opposite the hotel but see the concierge for anything.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent, the staff are all very helpful. The Concierge, Justin Welch helped me book flights to NY, Vegas + San Diego and helped booked hotels too. Justin has a great sense of humour and is very knowledgeable. All staff were very cheerful and accommodating at all times. I agree with other reviewers that the lighting around the hotel is pretty poor, getting to my door at night was a little difficult at times.

My room on the 12th floor was clean and the bed was also comfortable. The Happy Hour at the bar is a big plus. I loved the Lobby ... beautifully decorated fir Christmas. I will highly recommend it to my friends and family.

Once again, thank you very much Justin.... You Rock!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.