We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A.)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Bit Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is very stylish and charming and the staff are great.

We don't usually like hotel restaurants but "Public" is an exception. Good food at not unreasonable prices.

There were two negatives to our stay :

- Staying in a cabana next to the pool on a Saturday night is not a good idea unless you want to join in with the very noisy pool party with speakers very close to some of the cabanas(including ours). Most people would find it very difficult to sleep until the music is turned off at 1.30 am.
- Drinks at the pool and in the hotel are very expensive. This is probably the downside of the hotel being used by a lot of non-guests and being part of the LA "scene".

The hotel is really three separate venues on one property :
- The more traditional main hotel
- The pool
- The more modern cabanas

Next time, I think that we will stay in a room in the main hotel rather than in a cabana.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    483
    286
    195
    160
See reviews for
203
520
118
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hollywood Roosevelt is in a good location right across the road from the Chinese theatre, on Hollywood blvd! The hotel boasts a stylish lobby with beautiful lounges in an opulent setting- this attracts a big crowd on Saturday nights. The onsite restaurant 'public' was fantastic with delicious food and great service. I wouldn't rate the onsite burger restaurant though- just average. We were upgraded to a cabana suite with a good deal- although it wasnt on the pool side of the building (which I was later pleased about due to the very loud pool party) was well appointed with modern amenities- The bed was not all that comfortable though. A party that went on across the hall continued until 430 am so little sleep was had- which put a dampner on our stay. All in all a nice hotel but not for people who aren't interested in partying

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

One night stay for a wedding being held at this hotel. Staff was friendly. Although a few phone calls produced some frustration about an early check in time, when we arrived our room was ready and the front desk staff was very accommodating. The room was very sleek. The lighting was very hard to work ... high tech and confusing. The configuration of the bathroom made it nearly impossible to open the shower door and have the bathroom door open at the same time. The design of the sink in the bathroom is terrible...you end up with water all over the counter. Pricey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first trip to LA, I have been to San Diego, San Fran, and Napa. I booked the Hollywood Roosevelt because I have heard about it on TV often and on Orbitz the room rates were very inexpensive, starting at 180 per night. I stayed here this past September 2012. I booked the Cabana Garden View suite. I wanted to be on the first level close to the pool since I was staying there alone. I am 25, from WI, my friends all live in LA but I wanted that LA experience so I booked a hotel room. I would most definitely go to the Hollywood Roosevelt again.

Room: The room was small but cozy, there was a large king bed, a sofa, tile bathroom, and a sitting area outside with a bed (the bed was a little dirty, I never used it though). There was very dim lighting in the room, which was inconvenient for when I did my hair and makeup. The beds were comfortable, but the ac would not get any warmer than 62 degrees, so either I was hot (bc I had to turn it off) or freezing, I asked for more blankets. My room, inconveniently was located right across from the pool bar, and that does not close until midnight, the first night I was the I went to bed early after a very long day of traveling, and could not sleep because they were cleaning the bar until about 2 am, throwing bottles, etc.

Pool: The pool was amazing, the lounge chairs were comfortable, however, everyone does look like a super model, I thought it was fun, but it could be uncomfortable for some people. The serves was great, they had free water too at the bar (self serve). They had food at the pool you can order to your chair. I met some great people there. They also let just people from outside the hotel come sit at the pool , so you will meet a lot of locals. I also saw Audriana Patridge doing a photo shoot while I was there. They have pool floats, and on Sat they had a bud light pool party which was cool, they gave free green towels and had green pool floats. The weather was perfect, high 80’s no humidity, I also got a very good tan.

Food: I went to 25 Degrees, worst burger I have ever had, I am from WI so I know good meat, I literally had to send my food back and get a grilled cheese. My friends were local, and they said it tasted fine to them but they understood the difference because they are from WI also.

Location: Awesome location for tourists, right across from the Grauman's Chinese Theater/ Walk of Fame/ many restaurants. However, this strip is literally a block long, if you go too far either way it is dangerous, so be careful. There is a Bean and Tea Leaf across from the hotel, so I had coffee there every day which was nice. No places from breakfast nearby, I ended up going to this little café 2 days down the street from the hotel, but it was nothing special.

Nightlife: We had the best time drinking at the lobby bar, met a few celebrities, and rock stars hanging out there. After, I met with soem friends who wanted to go to a club, but it was $600 for us to get in because they required bottle service, probably because we were with guys, or else they would have let us in for free. We skipped it, that seemed pretty ridiculous. Wish we would have just stayed at the lobby bar!

Disney: My friend works for Disney so we had free tickets, it is about a 2 hr drive in traffic there, so leave time to get there. Def worth going to, we went to both parks, lines are very long, I recommend going on a weekday not a weekend.

Malibu: If you have a car, take a drive to Malibu, it was so beautiful, we ate at this little cafe called Kristy's, the pancakes there were to die for.

Overall, I would book this hotel again, I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Check in was quick!! Great location to everything. Our fridge in room wasn't working reported it and nothing ever happened of it. Would stay here again for the location. When we had our transfer booked to Disneyland we asked if we were in the right area for our pickup they said yes and we were waiting in the wrong area in the end after we double checked we were waiting in correct area. Too many entrances to hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Sure its in a great location, and the rooms are nice apart from the small bathrooms. Service is poor at best and not very helpful, and the whole thing was overpriced. I personally won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Brief one night stay, very nice room. The decor is so soothing and the bed very comfortable.
The helpful staff reminded us that we might hear some noise as it was Saturday night in Hollywood but to let them know right away if we heard any persistent noise and they'd take care of it.

We didn't and I slept great.

Would go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A. , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;