We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #87 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Check in was quick!! Great location to everything. Our fridge in room wasn't working reported it and nothing ever happened of it. Would stay here again for the location. When we had our transfer booked to Disneyland we asked if we were in the right area for our pickup they said yes and we were waiting in the wrong area in the end after we double checked we were waiting in correct area. Too many entrances to hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    550
    320
    212
    175
See reviews for
244
583
131
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sure its in a great location, and the rooms are nice apart from the small bathrooms. Service is poor at best and not very helpful, and the whole thing was overpriced. I personally won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Brief one night stay, very nice room. The decor is so soothing and the bed very comfortable.
The helpful staff reminded us that we might hear some noise as it was Saturday night in Hollywood but to let them know right away if we heard any persistent noise and they'd take care of it.

We didn't and I slept great.

Would go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Great Location. Inside was very Dark but the fuenitures & layout were very nice. Historical and a bit gothic. Slow elevator. Descent size room. Bed was very soft. Extremely loud air con. No complimentary tea or coffee in room. receptionist/ GSA was polite but not very friendly nor helpful, not very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked this hotel after our friend recommended it. We were traveling with him and he even was able to secure us a room upgrade since he is a frequent guest. Upon check-in, we were brought to our "upgraded" room. The room was anything but an upgrade. It was 1/2 of an adjoined suite. The hallway and bedroom were frigid and when I had maintenance come up to look at the thermostat, they informed us that the hallway thermostat was controlled by the adjoining room and we couldn't access the thermostat. We immediately decided to switch rooms. When we entered our second room, it smelled strongly of marijuana. We complained to the front desk and they told us that the cleaning staff would take a look. We left for the evening and when we returned, before we even entered the room, we could smell what I can only describe as cheap car freshener filling the main hallway. When we opened the door to our room, this new odor was unbearable. The cleaning staff had only tried to mask the smell of marijuana by dousing our room with an even cheaper scent. We let the front desk know and asked if we could be upgraded to a nicer room to compensate for our terrible experience. We were eventually moved to a room in the same line of the building as the adjoined suite, and at this point, were too exhausted by the experience to complain again.

In addition to this specific experience, the amenities are terrible, the rooms (all three that we saw) were very worn and cheaply furnished. The staff was not accommodating and rude. Having traveled all over the world and stayed in both high and low hotels, I was truly unimpressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had read some reviews on this hotel before booking & was a little concerned, however loved the central location as our trip was short and we needed to be near everything, shopping, tourist attractions, bus stops, restaurants, bars etc. the rate was a special deal and too good to resist. driving from the airport to the hotel again I was a little worried, pulling into the drive at the rear of the property I still was a little nervous. However, from the moment we were greeted by doorman, hotel night reception and I believe the Duty Manager all fears were immediately alaid. And wow what a great entrance, the reception night manager/agent was so great in his welcome, accomodating, and informative and the Duty Manager also very nice and knew to expect us on our late arrival having rung ahead earlier in the day due to late flight our room was amazing, 2 huge beds, crisp fresh and very new looking bedding, massive room, beautiful bathroom, great shower and all spotlessly clean. The hotel is very boutique in style and warm and welcoming, large public areas, lots to see, the pool area was also lovely a little oasis. We had a drink outside by the pool in the evening next to the pit fires and comfy sofa. Drinks were not cheap but usual hotel prices. We didn't eat in the hotel as the menu was a little rich for our tastes but looked lovely and staff were lovely. We did not get breakfast here which we thought we should of but not sure of that is a booking.com mix up. There is also no hotel shuttle bus as booking.com states is available, we used a shuttle bus we failed to collect us for our return to the airport but the kind reception staff sourced another for us quickly, which was wonderful, there is Internet available at lobby and a printer for free, fab. Location middle of the Hollywood boulevard could not have been better. Must be the best hotel in area. Safe worked in room as did air con and everything else offered. Loved it, would return, rate was fab for this hotel having travelled to five different locations in the us on this trip this was by far the very best hotel, for staff, facilities, customer service, room, bedding, cleanliness and public areas. Thank you so much Roosevelt just keep doing what your doing, you have hospitality and customer satisfaction wrapped up with a bow on it! S to anyone reading this, do not hesitate to book this hotel I do not believe you will be disappointed, we will be back..

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room, overlooking a lower roof of the hotel and rear road, but the windows were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Roosevelt hotel was our best choice due to its famous reputation and it was close to the location we were performing at. We loved the hotel it's beautiful but terrible room service. Room attendants are terrible, rude, and have no manners. They are no good at giving directions/information. We got talked to with a horrible attitude by a couple of ladies. I personally saw so many horrible things while staying at this hotel. Never again am i staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 7000 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#77 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing glamour back to the Boulevard, Thompson’s Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel reincarnation resonates with the opulence of its fabled past. Located in the heart of Hollywood on the Walk of Fame across from the Grauman’s Chinese Theater, The Roosevelt houses some of the hottest drinking and eating venues on the west coast. These include the famous poolside Tropicana Bar, celebrity haunt Teddy’s nightclub, The Library bar which is acclaimed for its hand crafted cocktails, The Spare Room, a speakeasy gaming lounge featuring vintage bowling lanes and classic cocktails, and vaudeville inspired theater Beacher’s Madhouse. Public Kitchen and Bar serves eclectic American fare in a social atmosphere and award winning 24 Hour burger joint 25 Degrees offers a variety of dining options. To top it off, the hotel’s heated outdoor swimming pool provides guests the only locale in the world where they can swim in a million dollar work of art painted by acclaimed artist David Hockney. The hotel is constantly buzzing with the entertainment industry’s glitterati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Roosevelt Los Angeles
Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
Roosevelt Hotel La
Roosevelt Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Roosevelt
Roosevelt La
Hotel Roosevelt Los Angeles
Roosevelt Hotel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.