We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed one week in July - and loved it! The location is unbeatable, and probably the best if you - like us - don't drive. It is not easy, but it is possible to get around with metro and buses, and Hollywood/Highland is a convenient starting point.

We also loved our spacious suit, with a real kitchen where we could cook breakfast, etc. It was clean and nice, although a bit ugly, but everything worked perfectly. And staff was very friendly. Finally, we loved the laid-back, unpretentious atmosphere, where one could play in the pool, borrow some magazines in the lobby, do laundry in the basement, etc. We really felt at home!

PS Thanks to the trip advisors who recommended this hotel to us!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    536
    95
    22
    9
See reviews for
479
353
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We were staying in LA for 2 nights before flying out to Ireland and were
looking for an affordable hotel in hollywood near to Hollywood
Boulevard(HB) /chinese theatre/hollywood walk of fame...I had heard that LA
can be quite dangerous so was anxious to stay somewhere we would be safe at
night. TA reviewers advised this place and I am delighted to say you guys
were spot on with your great advise as usual!

We paid $109 plus tax a night in this hotel for a junior suite, which was
VERY large with plenty of storage space, 2 queen beds, a small kitchenette
and roomy bathroom. We also had a table with 2 chairs, TV and good AC!

Very near to all the HB attractions mentionned above, its just off a small
street so its nice and quiet. A little far from the LAX airport, but it
wasnt really a problem for us - the hotel organised a shuttle for us from
the hotel there for $18 each. the ride is approx 17 miles so I think we got
a good deal. A taxi is a set fare of $50 or you can take your chance with
the traffic on the meter!

The pool also had a hotel which we didnt have time to use as we were out
sightseeing but it looked lovely. Receptionnist was very helpful to us when
we asked about getting to the airport and explained all our options to us
with a smile.

I would certainly recommend this hotel as it is central, clean and safe. LA
has a bad rep for being unsafe but i felt perfectly safe in this area and
would recommend the place to anyone

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knownstar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This place is located behind the Kodak Theater on a cul de sac. You won't find it just by driving by. I was visiting a friend who lives in the Hollywood Hills and she turned me on to the Hollywood Orchid Suites.

I did not use my car for the 2 days I was there. The Kodak theater is attached to a Mall and the Chinese Theater and it is all just a few steps from the front door. The subway station is there too and proved very convenient.

The room was clean and very large and the bed was very comfortable. There was a kitchen and dining table we did not use but would be very convenient for a family on vacation. The pool came in very handy as it was hot those days.

All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This is our second stay at the Orchid Suites. We stayed in a studio apartment with two queen size beds and a kitchen (executive suite) and paid $129. Lat time we had a bigger suite with two rooms but it was not available this time.

I just can't say enough for the location and the value. The Orchid Suites came to my attention through Tripadvisor. When I first booked it I thought it was a 4 star hotel from all the good press it was getting. Actually it is not a fancy place and rated 2 stars but has
everything we need and more. As an example they have free coffee and tea in the rooms. I drink instant and my son drinks hot chocolate. We inquired and were given both on the spot. They are very helpful and the place is comfortable and clean. We feel very safe there, both front door and covered garage are accessed with a key.

If you require a luxury accomodation this is not for you, But if you want a clean well located very well priced hotel, I recommend the Hollywood Orchid Suites highly.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Needing a place to stay near the Pantages Theatre on Hollywood Blvd, we decided to try the Orchid Suites.
I'm happy to report the great reviews were spot on. A comfortable hotel with a fab location.
Next door to the slick Hollywood Highland Mall, and close to the Metro, Graumann's Chinese Theatre, and other "must see" sites.
Staff was friendly and rooms were spotless.
We will most definitely return.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and then 2 nights at the end before flying home.
The location is fantastic and right in the heart of Hollywood.

Rooms are very basic and smell rather musty and old, however, they are well equipped. We had the two king suite and used the spare bed to lay all the suitcases on which was useful!
The kitchen was huge.

There are some restaurants nearby in the Hollywood and Highland but the steak grill place turned out to be a disaster. Some people mentioned the Wolfgang Puck place was better. There is a small store nearby selling breakfast items.

Although the rate we paid was good ($129 and tax per night) I do feel that it is highly priced for what you get due to the facilities being so old. Although if two couples were sharing the two king suites it would be a bargain. The location makes up for this. We did not have any problems during our stay although they do clean the rooms late in the day (3pm).

  • Liked — Free Parking, well equipped kitchen
  • Disliked — musty old smell in the bedrooms.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My family has stayed at the Orchid on several occasions, and we are very satisfied with it. It is not a fancy place, but it has a great location if you want to stay in Hollywood at a reasonable price.

On our recent stay last week, we had a junior room, which had two double beds and a kitchenette. We found the beds a bit hard, but they were OK.

We like the secure underground parking, especially in the area of Hollywood and Highland. I feel my car was safer than on an open lot.

The thing we liked the least was the very dirty carpet; it turned the bottoms of our feet black very quickly. It needed to be cleaned desperately.

Would we go back? Yes, certainly. Have I recommended the Orchid to others? Yes, I have.

It is not a posh or fancy place, but then again, it doesn't have posh or fancy prices either.

  • Liked — Great location in Hollywood at very reasonable price
  • Disliked — carpet needed cleaning!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.