We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Employees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Shiraz, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Employees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We were 3 adults and 2 children and there was enough space for us in the suite, When we arrived there, we were enough lucky to meet "Adam"(The receptionist)He is really kind and helpful. Breakfast was good and simple (not really great). The location is PERFECT and It is a quick 2 minute walk to Hollywood Boulevard and The Chinese Theater.
Pros: Great Location, Great Price, Great Staffs
Cons: Parking is not free( $10 for each night) , Bad smell in the suits.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    501
    90
    22
    9
See reviews for
451
318
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a fantastic place to stay. We arrived at 9am after a long haul flight and dropped our bags at reception in order to head out sight seeing. The first thing they did was send us for breakfast before we headed out. Breakfast was great with juice, cereal, croissants, muffins and bagels. Upon our return in the afternoon we checked in and went to our room. It is an old hotel but the rooms were spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and also had a full kitchen. There is also a nice pool area. It is located in the street behind Leows and The Dolby Theatre and therefore is quiet being a street back from the main drag. It is a quick 2 minute walk to Hollywood Boulevard and The Chinese Theatre. There were plenty of places to eat nearby. The staff were always lovely and generously helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For a start: a real apartment, I.e. Kitchen (micro, toaster-oven, refrigerator, parents room).
Next: Good location, reasonable price, basic breakfast, excellent pool, park ($10/day), and very very nice stuff. All of them.
Only small con was that smoking is allowed in too many areas, thus when you get out if the elevator towards the reception (or our room), it smells.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Positives: This hotel couldn't be better located for exploring the main attractions in Hollywood. The walk of fame, Chinese theatre, shops and restaurants are all very, very near. Rooms are spacious, there's a decent sized pool (water-rings provided for the kids), and a very relaxing roof-top terrace (albeit without any real view).
Negatives: Very few, although the breakfast provision is amateurish (cheap party plates, plastic forks, and very little room to eat).
Tip: Rooms on the 3rd (top) floor are quiet, the best being 314, which has a nice balcony.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I will start by saying that if I need to stay in Hollywood again with my family, I would definitely stay at the Hollywood Orchids Suites Hotel. My family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was fantastic. The hotel is located in a very safe place next to a mall adjacent to the famous Chinese Theater where the stars go to watch premier movies. Super, super convenient spot.

The hotel was previously an apartment so we had huge rooms which was great for my family of 5. I have to say the hotel did have some minor cosmetic issues, but it was very clean all around and perfectly acceptable by my standards. The pool was great, and my kids had a great time swimming there after our Hollywood adventures.

The hotel also has coin operated washers and dryers which allowed us to wash some soiled clothes. Under ground parking was available for $10/day which was good for the area.

Several restaurants were within walking distance of the hotel, as well as the famous stars walk-of-fame and Chinese Theater (where you can see the star's hand and foot prints in concrete).

The only negative I can think of was the weak Wi-Fi Internet signal in the back bedroom of the hotel. It was practically non-existent in the backroom, and marginally usable in the front room.

I highly recommend staying here if you need realatively cheap accomodations in a safe location for your family.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Brilliant all round stay.Clean comfortable spacious suites located 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle but in a quiet location so really easy and quick to get to the the walk of fame Chinese theatre and Madame Tusards etc.Breakfast was grab and go usual toast muffins bagels coffee juice but the breakfast lady Patricia was very kind hard working and couldn't do enough for you.Close to bus stop and trains if you don't have a car .Lobby staff all very pleasant and helpful - can't recommend this place enough so book it you will not be disappointed unless you're used to the Ritz or the Savoy!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions during our July holiday. Location is great, metro stop just beside the Highland center. The availability of garage parking is so convenient! We stayed in a King bed suite. The fact that it came with a full kitchen was the reason we chose this hotel, specially as we were travelling with our 9 yr. old son. The flexability of cooking our own breakfast or dinner was a big plus! I ordered grocery items from Vons and made bacon and eggs a couple of times :) Margo and Grace from the front desk were very sweet and helpful, with Margo suggesting a good Chinese restaurant that delivers dimsum when we didn't feel like driving all the way to Chinatown for it. My son loved the pool tremendously! Coming from Dubai where most hotels we go to are 5 star, my son declared "I like this better than a 5 star hotel!" :) ... my only suggestion would be probably if they can change the carpet as it looks quite old but will definitely stay here again on our next trip to LA!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you want to be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.