We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, excellent value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, excellent value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

As part of a west coast trip, we were only staying in LA for a couple of days, and were therefore looking for a hotel with a central location. We booked the Hollywood Orchid on the basis of Tripadvisor recommendations, and were delighted with our choice. As others have said, the location is brilliant, literally only a step away from the Boulevard; nonetheless, felt very safe. Easy access to the subway and onward travel to other areas of the city. The building itself isn't attractive and looks like what it is; an older style apartment block. Don't let this put you off; the suites are spacious and well equipped and we made full use of the kitchen. My husband and I had the bedroom at the back(which was surprisingly quiet), whilst our teenagers had the front room next to the walkway. This leads me to the only negative: any noise from others walking past was very audible and some guests were not as considerate as we would have liked. This was a very minor issue and in no way affected our enjoyment of the stay. There is an underground car park (no longer free) but we had a high vehicle and were unable to gain access. This wasn't a problem as there is parking at the mall opposite. Finally, breakfast was ample and the kids enjoyed relaxing the pool at the end of a day's sightseeing. Fantastic value all round!

Room Tip: Rooms with fewer people passing likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    535
    95
    22
    9
See reviews for
479
352
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very homely feel to it the beds and pillows were comfortable. It had a nice kitchen and balcony the bathroom was nice and clean you tip the housekeeper there but they do a good job. The only bad thing I can say is the water pressure can be low and the walls are thin but other then that the location of it was smack bang on right behind Dolby theatre which you take a short walk way through to highland mall or you can walk behind Chinese manns theatre if you want to miss the crowd.the front desk are very helpful and nothing's to much to ask about they will tell you the best way to get around as well.there is a fresh and clean supermarket as well which is only about a 5 min walk it is a actual supermarket so they sell the normal stuff I would stay there again for the location

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

wonderful place to stay right in the heart of Hollywood. A wee bit hard to find at first and don't be put off from the look of the outside. The rooms are huge. We had one with a separate kitchen and dining room. The pool is really great. The breakfast is amazing and you can have it downstairs or take it back to your room. All the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay great. This place is at the back of the Chinese Theater and so very close to many restaurants and the Hollywood walk of fame. Highly recommend staying here and we will when we go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMPBELL RIVER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing around Hollywood and for the places to eat and people watching! The underground parking is an added bonus for safety and security. Lots of shopping and places to eat within a block or two of walking.

Room Tip: The hotel is old but is maintained well... the walls are thin and depending on who your neighbours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The main reason I give this place 4 stars is that it's you can't get a better deal for your money. It's a small hotel right behind Hollywood boulevard and that's what's great about it. You step out the door and walk through Highland Center and you're on the boulevard of the stars. Parking is for a small fee - $10/day - and is also something you won't find at that price anywhere else in the area. The rooms are decent, a bit old, but clean and the bed was comfortable. There were odds and ends in the room that didn't seem to work - like some of the outlets (but some enough worked fine) and it's a bit annoying that there's no maintenance after 5 pm, but for the price, you get a little apartment with full kitchen and utensils, full size fridge, microwave, toaster oven - you just can't beat it. And another nice thing - the breakfast. It's a continental breakfast, but has all the necessary - fruit, cereals, breads, muffins, juices and coffee and the woman who serves it is really sweet. The service in general is decent, nothing to rave about, but tries to do it's best. I would definitely recommend this place for a family or group of friends looking for a decent stay in LA.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a little bit noisy. the doors are thin and you can hear people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, clean and spacious room on ground floor with a nice outdoor seating area. Complimentary continental breakfast was a plus and adequate selection (bagels, pastries, fruits, yogurts, hot and cold drinks) to get the day going. A no frill, no fuss hotel that is close to all amenities and Hollywood boulevard (appx 5 minutes walking distance). The check in process was smooth, front desk staff was friendly enough, we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room, only used it for sleeping and freshening, our minimum expectations are daily room service, spacious and comfortable bed and the hotel delivered those expectations perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Fantastic location, close to all the sights. Rooms are clean and serviced and large. Stayed in the king suite.. It was perfect! Adam on reception is helpful and accommodating. The lady who runs breakfast is delightful and welcoming and breakfast is plentiful and with a good selection. Parking is an additional $10 per night and it's undercover and secure. My only complaint is the noise from housekeeping. Don't get a room down the back on the 1st floor.. There is plenty of chatter and banging as the day begins .. If you want to sleep till nine forget it! Definitely will stay here again, but on another floor :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.