We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel and Loews Hollywood hotel but my stay at Hollywood Orchid Suites is definately my favourite, the staff were friendly and very accommodating we were greeted by name whenever we came into the lobby, the lady (i cant remember her name) who checked us in gave us information on the area, had a laugh with us and held our bags as we arrvied a few hours before check in.
The location is perfect, with a safe walk way through to Hollywood and Highlands, the rooms were great with a full kitchen.
Can not wait to stay here again on my next holiday to the USA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    594
    99
    23
    9
See reviews for
550
397
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You can't get a better location -- walking distance to the Chinese Theatre, the Hollywood and Highland mall, Starline tours, etc. The room was very large and clean. Also, I was worried about the room location right off the lobby, but the hotel is very quiet. Staff is fantastic! I would highly recommend this hotel for what it is -- if you are expecting new or chic, look elsewhere. My only complaint (a slight one) is that the mattress was a little too soft, causing me some achiness in the mornings. But that is a personal preference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozarks
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked a room for 2 nights at this nice hotel. We immediately found the place using our GPS, no problems. Parking was nice but if you have a bigger car may be a bit tight. Very secure. You have to be buzzed into building or use a key after check in. We had a room on the first floor by the front desk. At first seemed a bit strange but was perfect for us. It was not noisy at all. No view from our room but that was fine with us. We had 2 queen beds. Our room had a full kitchen but we did not use it (besides the fridge). The bathroom was a bit small but perfect for us. It is an older building but everything is nice, clean and updated. It is located just a 5 min or less walk to Hollywood blvd. We walked through the Lowes drop off area (I think that is what it was) to get to Hollywood blvd but you can also walk thru the Mall that is there too. We were out walking at night and felt safe. The Lowes hotel security was always standing around as well as bellmen and taxi guys. Lots of resturants close by within walking distance. We took a bus tour that the hotel set up for us and it was great. We drove to Griffith Park it took about 10 min to get there. I would stay there again and highly recommend it for the price. It had a pool that looked clean but we did not use it.

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st floor we did not have any problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas & New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

...because I want to make sure it's always available for us!

On our previous visit to L.A. a month earlier, we stayed at a nice motel in Burbank. While it was a good experience, it wasn't the greatest location for our needs. I am so glad we found Hollywood Orchid Suites, because we had to stay for eight nights. And it was just perfect!

We were in L.A. so that I could undergo surgery at Cedars-Sinai. I had to see the doc four days before the surgery, so there was plenty of time to learn that Hollywood Orchid's location, in the heart of Hollywood, couldn't be beat! And it was well-situated to be able to drive to the hospital without dealing with the freeways. Since we were driving to L.A. and knew we'd have a full kitchen, we were able to bring food for breakfast, to supplement the continental breakfast provided by the hotel each day. The provided teakettle allowed me to bring my own Starbucks pre-ground coffee and not have to support the local store.

We had an Executive King Suite. The room was very large; unlike other configurations, it didn't have a separate bedroom, but we didn't need it. The large, upholstered chairs provided ample seating, and the eat-in kitchen had a table and four chairs. The advantage of the Executive King was that we had a balcony, which I made good use of, since the hotel is non-smoking and I'm a smoker. It also didn't overlook the pool, so it was quiet. The free Wi-Fi worked perfectly, even on the balcony.

Our apartment was spotlessly clean, and the bathroom had a good-sized vanity. A built-in cabinet right outside the bathroom was perfect for storing all that we'd brought, and the hall closet was huge.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the manager, learning of the reason for our trip, was especially kind and accommodating.

The availability of a parking garage was another bonus in this neighborhood of impossible traffic and limited parking. Though parking costs $10/night, and was free until recently, it's not over the top.

Hollywood Orchid Suites is not luxury. The kitchen, though complete, is dated. The mattresses aren't plush pillowtops (though comfortable enough even for me, with my unremitting pain from a back condition); the towels are soft, fluffy, and spotless, but the bath towel is the smallest I've seen anywhere. The nice flat-top TV doesn't offer a plethora of channels. If you need luxury and ultramodern accommodations and room service, the Lowe's Hollywood is right across the street; please stay there and drop a bundle, and leave Hollywood Orchid Suites for us. It's the best value around. We've already made reservations for our next return visit, for the follow-up with the doctor. After staying here, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is so close, five minutes you are on Hollywood Boulevard. We stayed here two nights visiting Hollywood attractions. The staff was very nice, we even me the manager on the elevator. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which helped us get away from noise below. The room was clean and had a kitchen if you needed to stay for longer. The laundry facilities were popular but did not have to wait too long to wash clothes. The breakfast bar was awesome. The lady that managed breakfast was so nice which we could have ate there more than once. But, the best thing was location. You are right behind Hollywood and Highland which is a mall and different restaurants in one location. It was just so convenient. It was easy to get in and out of the location so it makes driving easy. I would definitely stay here again. Maybe then I would be able to enjoy the rooftop garden, nice and quiet place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May for four nights. We were very happy with our accommodation which was an Executive King Suite, very large with fully equipped kitchen, all spotlessly clean. Continental breakfast was included, along with free Wi-Fi. Also well maintained swimming pool. The staff were so friendly and helpful, always cheerful and obliging. Perfect location in really safe area right next to Hollywood Blvd but not on it so away from all the crowds - two minutes walk to the Dolby Theatre (the Oscars) in the Highland and Hollywood Centre, with its huge shopping complex, and close to all the main Hollywood attractions. Also perfect for transport, tour buses and hop-on/hop-off buses. Great price booked direct. Would definitely recommend to others and would certainly stay here again if we were to return to LA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in mid May. Rooms were huge and well kept, staff was extremely nice and helpful. The pool area, breakfast nook, and rooftop garden were all neat, clean and well-maintained. The lady running the breakfast was adorable! Very convenient to transportation and the hop on-hop off tour bus. Would definitely stay here again, and recommend highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#10 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#24 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.