We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews and I have to say, I was not disappointed. Booked a deluxe suite and almost got a sizeable apartment with a living room (consisting of a sofa bed), kitchen and a master bedroom with king size bed. The hotel is a bit dated and has a motel like feel with most rooms opening into a central balcony, overlooking a pool. But everything is neat and clean. The staff make you feel very welcome. They have a modest breakfast included in the price (cereals, croissants, muffins, bagels, fruit). The lady who attends on the patron during breakfast is very good and goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need. Although the breakfast area is small and occupies the mezzanine over the reception, you can simply take the tray back to our room and have it there, which is also quite convenient. The best part of the hotel is the location. Located exactly behind Kodak Theatre and Chinese Theatre, it is in a quiet cul-de-sac. If you just walk through the Hollywood Highland Centre, you are in the centre of the hustle and bustle of Hollywood Boulevard but at the same time, away from the noise of the street when in your room. For the price, we got a great deal and so would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    512
    94
    23
    9
See reviews for
435
314
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-theLake
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here first time March 4 to 7 2013 and was travelling by myself

In its class I will give it a 5 out of 5... the staff were very helpful; the place is clean, safe, and secure, relatively quiet and in a great location... . And I would stay again for sure.

Seriously, if you are on a budget with a family then this is the place for you.

The hotel is at the lower end of the price range, but I have stayed at places 3x the price and they were not as good. Bear in mind though, that the building and decor are somewhat dated, but that is okay, as it is all clean and well maintained... but be warned the walls are a bit thin!

I don't think you are going to go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel ir great because of the location. Many restaurants and attractions in a walking distance. The breakfast do not have a large variety of food, but what they offer is good. There are only four tables and the service is nice. We were charged $10/day for the parking, but it is very safe and organized. The room is clean, spacious and confortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a remarkable hotel nestled in behind the Dolby Theatre. The staff are fantastic. They are friendly, informative and helpful to make you feel special. Everyone that works there is great including all the front desk staff and especially the lady that prepares the breakfast (which has everything you need to start your day.The rooms are surprisingly large with comfortable beds. The pool was warm and clean. There is a nice rooftop terrace for sun tanning. I would highly recomend this hotel if you want to be very close but not on Hollywood boulevard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are more quiet but all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel in December 2012 for 6 nights. We were a family of 5 so we needed a room big enough for all of us. We had a family room on the second floor which gave us three bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a kitchenette and enough room for all of us to move around. The breakfast that they offer is quite basic with cereal, bagels, toast, jam and cream cheese, fruit juice and tea and coffee. You have the option of eating in the breakfast area which is quite small and only has a few tables but we met some other lovely travellers who were more than happy to share their table with you. You could also take your breakfast upstairs to the top level where there was a rooftop garden with tables or take the food back to your room. Patricia, the lovely lady who looked after breakfast was very nice and even offered to cook your toast for you and bring it to the table. Nothing was too much trouble for her.

The staff that worked behind the Reception desk were fantastic and so knowledgable about the area. It was no trouble for them to organise tours and to give you information how to get around.

The hotel is located in Orchid Ave and is right behind the Dolby Theatre where the Oscars are held and just a few steps to The Chinese Theatre. We walked through an alley way into the back of a shopping arcade with little stalls and some restaurants and down the steps onto Hollywood Bvd and The Walk of Fame with all of the Stars. A fantastic location and so close to all of the action.

We went to Universal Studios from here and caught the train which has a station on Hollywood Bvd. It cost us $1.50 each way and $1.00 to buy our tap card. Universal is only one stop away from where we were staying and then you walk across the road to the shuttle bus which takes you to the front gate.

We hired a car from the Budget car rental shop on Hollywood Bvd which alowed us to have a bit more freedom which is handy in Hollywood so you can get out to see the other sights of the area.

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel but is clean and comfortable, in a fantastic location, good value for money and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to Hollywood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Orchid Suites and were extremely satisfied with this property. I'm not sure about all of the rooms, but ours was huge, came with a complete kitchen, and a terrace. The complimentary breakfast was simple, but a nice start to the day. The location was excellent, right off of Highland and Hollywood, near the Grauman Chinese Theater, with the metro less than 1/2 block away. The best part: the room rate was so reasonable!
The staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful. They all went out of their way, ie. googling directions, asking my daughter if she wanted chocolate muffins and making a special trip to get them...and all with smiles on their faces like it was a pleasure to be of service! Ali, front desk rep., definitely stood out! He went above and beyond to be of assistance to me; what a great guy!
Note to hotel management: Where did you find such a great staff? Make sure that you hang on to them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My mum and I shared an apartment at the Orchid Suites in June 2012 and we really liked the amenities and proximity of this hotel to everything Hollywood for the price we paid. The rooms were large and cleaned daily, the swimming is a bonus for hot days and the breakfast gives a good start to the day. The hotel staff were also very friendly and assisted with our tour reservations and made life much easier for out of towners like us. One of the best things is the convenience of this hotel to the Hollywood attraction - located right behind the Dolby Theatre (former Kodak Theatre) it is easy to catch public transport, walk the hollywood walk of fame and see local attractions such as the wax museum, hop on hop off bus, the Grauman's theatres and so much more. We looked at a lot of hotels in Hollywood before settling on Orchid Suites - glad we found it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.