We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get a better location than this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Can't get a better location than this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My mum and I shared an apartment at the Orchid Suites in June 2012 and we really liked the amenities and proximity of this hotel to everything Hollywood for the price we paid. The rooms were large and cleaned daily, the swimming is a bonus for hot days and the breakfast gives a good start to the day. The hotel staff were also very friendly and assisted with our tour reservations and made life much easier for out of towners like us. One of the best things is the convenience of this hotel to the Hollywood attraction - located right behind the Dolby Theatre (former Kodak Theatre) it is easy to catch public transport, walk the hollywood walk of fame and see local attractions such as the wax museum, hop on hop off bus, the Grauman's theatres and so much more. We looked at a lot of hotels in Hollywood before settling on Orchid Suites - glad we found it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    589
    99
    23
    9
See reviews for
537
394
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great big rooms, kitchen well equipped, comfy beds, nice simply breakfast and the breakfast lady was great. The location was fantastic, quick walk to all the attractions and close to restaurants, highly recommend for the price.

Room Tip: If you have little kids be careful as the bars on the verandah are not that close together and the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Feb, during the Oscars. Could not have a better location. Closer to everything than it looks on a map. Room was great, roomy, kitchen, very comfy bed. The rooms are a bit dated, but very obviously being updated, new curtains, carpet, vanity, bedding, tv, furniture. Cozy like staying at Grandmas house. Pool area looked clean and inviting. The staff was beyond amazing, so helpful and friendly. The other guests at the hotel were so friendly.Great breakfast you can take back to your room. Walk through a very short breezway to everything you could need, nice shopping, affordable food, tour bus companies. Will definetly go back. Took the TMZ tour and highly recommend that as well, so funny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2013. This was the first stop of our 6 week honeymoon. Could not fault one thing about the Orchid Suites.

The rooms are great, everything you need, lounge room, kitchen facilities, wireless internet throughout. Perfect.

Fantastic location, you walk out the front door, through a shopping arcade and are at the front of the Kodak- now known as Dolby theatre. Metro is just outside, walking distance to all conveniences. Universal studio was the next stop on the Metro. Very easy to get around from this location. We stayed the week before the Oscars, so we got to see the set up for the Oscars each day, which was great!

Staff are amazing. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Housekeeping are fantastic, super friendly, nothing is a problem at all. On our first day, we came back to the room and they had left us a bottle of champagne and a really sweet card congratulating us on our honeymoon.

First time to LA and I will never even bother looking for anywhere else to stay.

Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is greatly located just steps away from the main hollywood attractions (Dolby Theather, Chinese Theather, Walk of fame, etc.) and to the Hollywood & Highland Center, which has great places to eat and to do some shopping.

Further, the room is really spacious and its has a kitchen. There are not a lot of options for breakfast, but that did not bother me as the options available were good (fruits, bagel, muffins). At last, the staff is really friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get rooms on the upper floors at the end of the corridor (rooms 214 and 314), so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location for sightseeing. Right in the heart of Hollywood, this was the perfect location for almost everything. Close to the metro, great bars and restaurants.
Room was large, comfortable, a little dated butthis hotel is really great value for money.
Muffins at breakfst are really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our family of four (two adults, two late teenagers) spent a week here in two rooms on the top floor (of three floors). This was our base for sightseeing LA, after a few days at Annaheim and a day trip to San Deigo. The location is perfect for Universal Studios, Hollywood boulevard, and is close enough to downtown LA, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica, Getty Museum for trips further afield (we had a hire car for our time in LA, which we would recommend).

The suites were clean, very roomy and well appointed, if a little dated, with good sized kitchens if you want to prepare your own food. The walls are thin, and you'll probably hear your neighbours from time to time. The wifi is a little irregular in the rooms and in some spots you couldn't connect. Car parking is underground (access via a lift from your floor) and was US$10 per day. Check-in and service during our stay was outstanding - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great: croissants, bagels, spreads, fresh fruit, coffee, juices, cereals and came with very friendly service.

The hotel is two minutes walk from the Chinese Theatre, Dolby Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, and everything the Boulevard has to offer (which might not be as glamorous as you expect Hollywood to be, compared to Rodeo Drive and Santa Monica).

We would definitely recommend Orchid Suites for those wanting a base in central Hollywood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.