We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our family of four (two adults, two late teenagers) spent a week here in two rooms on the top floor (of three floors). This was our base for sightseeing LA, after a few days at Annaheim and a day trip to San Deigo. The location is perfect for Universal Studios, Hollywood boulevard, and is close enough to downtown LA, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica, Getty Museum for trips further afield (we had a hire car for our time in LA, which we would recommend).

The suites were clean, very roomy and well appointed, if a little dated, with good sized kitchens if you want to prepare your own food. The walls are thin, and you'll probably hear your neighbours from time to time. The wifi is a little irregular in the rooms and in some spots you couldn't connect. Car parking is underground (access via a lift from your floor) and was US$10 per day. Check-in and service during our stay was outstanding - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great: croissants, bagels, spreads, fresh fruit, coffee, juices, cereals and came with very friendly service.

The hotel is two minutes walk from the Chinese Theatre, Dolby Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, and everything the Boulevard has to offer (which might not be as glamorous as you expect Hollywood to be, compared to Rodeo Drive and Santa Monica).

We would definitely recommend Orchid Suites for those wanting a base in central Hollywood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    516
    93
    22
    9
See reviews for
464
332
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Upon arrival the room was not ready, but for good reason as they were changing all of the drapes and that gave the room a nice fresh feel.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, this is not a ritzy 5 star place, its just very comfortable and very clean.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the location is as close to the tourist sites as you would want to be. We had a car, so our trip to Universal Studios was easy and fast.

The breakfast is basic, but that's all you want.

Overall I would say this is the place to stay, no exceptions. The price, the rooms, the location is a good mix of value and quality.

Room Tip: Perhaps try the rooms on top, as the footsteps on the walkway tends to echo down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster Alberta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, it is a very secure hotel as you have to be buzzed in like a apartment building when returning to hotel and you are always greeted by staff, This hotel is close to shopping, dining and hollywood blvd, it is very quiet and the most noise I heard was from the trucks that are delivering to the loading docks adjacent to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Hollywood as the rooms were huge, free breakfest etc

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We paid roughly 1000 for 6 nights (Feb. '13).

You CAN NOT get that anywhere unless you're stuck in the boonies. On top of that, the large suite was fresh, clean, albeit, not blessed with great sight lines. That's okay, unless you fancy being stuck in your suite all day long.

People, save the money you'd ordinarily pay and put it in your child's college fund - or that next trip.

Orchid Suites? You truly surprised me!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arrived just after 3pm to be informed that they'd given us a free room upgrade. I still have no idea why we received this upgrade but it was a fantastic surprise! The room was huge! It had its own kitchen and living area, bathroom and bedroom. It was very comfortable.
Initially I wasn't sure how to get to Hollywood Boulevard so I asked the staff for directions. It was so close you could actually see it from the hotel! It was right next to the Hollywood and Highland Shopping Centre too. Absolutely perfect.
Breakfast was small but adequate. It was enough to get us started for the day. Another bonus was that the hotel was very close to the train and bus stations. The staff at the reception were fantastic. They were always more than happy to help us out with directions. They made it very easy to catch the train to Universal Studios and the bus to The Grove.
The hotel also has washing machines and vending machines down stairs which is very helpful for people on long holidays.
All of this for a very affordable price. This is the perfect hotel for people looking for location over luxury. Rooms are still perfect to stay in and the location and price is perfect. Would absolutely stay here again the next time I come to Hollywood. Thankyou!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is without doubt the best value for money hotel in Hollywood for a family of 4 including 2 teenage daughters. The rooms are large with full kitchen facilities, the free breakfast is a great way to start the day and the location is as close to all Hollywood has to offer as any hotel in the area. Don't let the age of the hotel set you off as they are comfortable enough to enjoy and you don't spend all day in the room anyway. Thanks again to all the staff for a great stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A week back from a 5 day trip to Hollywood and our stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with well organized, extremely polite staff, very clean rooms and a delicious continental breakfast. If you are traveling to Hollywood and want the most affordable, clean and convenient location, we recommend a stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites Hotel. Big thanks to the desk staff (especially Adam) for all their recommendations on places to eat, sites to see, how to travel around Hollywood and the best place to shop and get groceries. Your made our stay safe and memorable. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.