We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Ont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must stay in Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A week back from a 5 day trip to Hollywood and our stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with well organized, extremely polite staff, very clean rooms and a delicious continental breakfast. If you are traveling to Hollywood and want the most affordable, clean and convenient location, we recommend a stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites Hotel. Big thanks to the desk staff (especially Adam) for all their recommendations on places to eat, sites to see, how to travel around Hollywood and the best place to shop and get groceries. Your made our stay safe and memorable. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    568
    97
    23
    9
See reviews for
518
373
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in December 2011 and returned again Dec 2012. This Hotel is the best location in Hollywood being a very short and SAFE walk to the Walk of Fame, Wax museum, Kodak theatre, trains etc. The staff are still the same and as friendly and helpful as we remembered. Whilst the rooms maybe a little older than a modern hotel, they are huge, clean and tidy. We stayed at the beginning of our USA holiday and returned again at the end before we flew home. To have these great rooms with full kitchen facilities and such a great space made our holiday less of an effort. The breakfast supplied each morning was adequate. There is a supermarket about a 10 minute walk up Hollywood Blvd - and is very safe to visit anytime. There is ample restaurants and food choices within a 10 minute walk. Cheap eats as well as more fine dining on offer. Take a bus to the Farmers Market (known as The Grove) (which the hotel staff can help with). This is a great place to visit with a myriad of food outlets, shopping and more, including the famous Cheescake Factory. Must try the Brazilian BBQ - OMG food to die for.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to avoid any noises from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our second stay here. The location was great for us, only a 5 minute walk to Graumans. The complimentary breakfast was muffins, toast, cereals and fruit.
The staff here are nice very helpful.
The rooms are very spacious and the kitchen was adequate. The rooms are getting a bit dated and are requiring some attention. Nothing bothered us overly much but it is something to consider. The major flaw with staying here is the sound from adjoining rooms. We had an awful night here because of the people in the next room. Something to note if you are not a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of two adults and two teens stayed in an Executive 2 queen suite for four nights from 19th December. Our booking was made on line in May and was confirmed immediately. We arrived at the hotel earlier than expected and maintenance was going on in our room, but the check in staff were kind enough to let us move into our room straight away and the maintenance guy moved his gear out immediately. This was fantastic as we all needed to freshen up after our long tiresome flight. Our room was situated directly opposite the pool,although in December it was too cold to swim. The room was a little dated but very clean and tidy and contained a queen bed in the lounge with a self contained kitchen which would help families cut cost by eating some meals in the room. A separate bedroom continued another queen bed and the beds were extremely comfortable. There was a lot of storage but we live out of our suitcases when travelling. The shower was over the bath and had good pressure. There was a breakfast included in the room rate which was served in a breakfast room and you had a choice of muffins, croissants, bagels,instant porridge, spreads and hot drinks and juice along with a lovely lady who offered you assistance with anything you needed. The location was fantastic and was quietly situated at the bottom of a dead end street at the back of
a mall. You stepped out of the hotel and walked a few meters to a tunnel (well lit ) and walked into the mall and the Kodak Theatre and then out onto the main drag of Hollywood. We had a hire car for our stay and there was a car park under the hotel for our car which was very handy as you need a car in LA to get around. The boys drove to an NBA basketball game one night and the girls took in the Cirque du Soleil show in the theatre and could walk safely home together. The Malls are decorated beautifully for Christmas and were not overly crowded either. Avoid McDonalds at night as the homeless shelter there and will ask for money as you are waiting.
As the reviews tell you this is a Perfect location with friendly staff and service and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

-best service from any hotel we have ever stayed at; the staff are "all-stars" - very enthusiastic, respectful, service-oriented
-excellent value - my family loves this place - rates are reasonable
-good free breakfast
-free internet access
-safe parking underground
-superb Hollywood location
-includes kitchen
-efficient, very friendly check-in and check-out
-When we asked for more towels or supplies, these were given quickly
-highly recommend and will stay there again!

Room Tip: -can walk for Dolby Theater -many restaurants and cafes -take sightseeing tour of Hollywood
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights mid-December in a King 2-room suite. The rooms are a great size with a king bed in the main room and another in the separate bedroom. There is one bathroom, a kitchen, small dining table and two large t.v's (one is in the bedroom).

The location of this hotel is fantastic, right in the centre of Hollywood and around the corner from the train. Yet our room was very quiet and the beds very comfortable (although the pillows were awful, too large and hard).

Breakfast was included and was basic but OK-cereal, toast, juice, bagels. The breakfast area is tiny but you can easily take it all up on a tray to your room where you have a dining table.

This hotel is a great option for families who need a room bigger than an average hotel room and don't want to pay for two rooms. It is very clean and comfortable-not glamorous but definitely nice enough. I recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My mom and her husband stayed in this hotel recently and the location and amenities (kitchenette) for the price cannot be beat. We visited the room several times and they said when they come back they'll stay again. Always a good sign!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#73 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.