We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Hollywood...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A.)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location in Hollywood...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

...if you're on a budget, and looking for a clean, neat, family-friendly place to stay just a stone's throw from Hollywood Boulevard, this is the spot.
Despite being a 5 minute walk from the Chinese Theater and all the noise and fun of Hollywood, it's quiet location tucked into a dead-end street behind a hotel and mall makes it suprisingly quiet at night.
Just spent three nights there in December 2012, and it fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    495
    90
    22
    9
See reviews for
440
317
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at Hollywood Orchid Suites from 22-25 Dec 2012 (USD129 per night before taxes for a deluxe King suite with a kitchen). The location is very convenient for someone who did not drive - the metro (Hollywood/Highland) and bus station were close - 5 mins walk and it is at the back of the Hollywood and Highland Mall, so within walking distance to the touristy spots - El Capitan, Dolby Theatre, Hollywood Walk of fame etc.

The price for the room is very reasonable for the location, size of room with kitchen and continental breakfast.

However, you should be aware that the place is very, very dated. Room is pretty old and so are the amenities - items such as the stove, oven, bedding, towels, carpet etc are pretty much from a blast from the past (the kettle and cups in my room are kind of grimy). Bed and pillows are very soft but adequately OK for sleep.

Service is slightly above average and the lady whom does the breakfast is very friendly.
If you want good location and do not mind the quality, it is a good value for your $.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Location: a minute from Hollywood blvd, cut through the back of Lowe's for the fastest route to Hollywood blvd.
Room: We had a 2 double bed room. Spacious but very very dated. But we knew that going in. Two flat screens, huge kitchen that had fridge, microwave, stove, oven, and full range of cutlery. Basically a two room apartment.
Bathroom: Very old and dated. But clean and good house cleaning.
Amenities: Free wifi, breakfast buffet. Nothing special but a bagel and cream cheese for breakfast isn't bad.
Services: Conierge was helpful. To get into the hotel you have to go up a flight of steps, and there are no bellhops.

This place has a great location, it's cheap and it's clean. If that what you need (like us) then the place is perfect. Just be realistic with the price you're paying for the location you're getting. Don't expect this to be a flashy hotel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have stayed in another hotel in Orchid avenue and decided to try this one instead, based on reviews. We weren't disappointed. This hotel has an excellent location. It's right behind Hollywood and Highland Centre as well as being close to buses on Hollywood Blvd and the Metro line. Staff are excellent and will help you with as much info as they can.
Rooms and clean and tidy. The breakfast supplied is very good with everything you need for your start to the day. The dining area is small but you can easily take your selection back to your room if you like.
Wireless access is good.
We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying on Orchid Ave was a very convenient location and the underground parking was a huge plus. The hotel breakfast was more than sufficient and the rooms (with a kitchen!) were great. I definitely recommend this for your stay in LA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I will start with a positive. The location is fantastic! Right next to Hollywood Highland Shopping Centre (which was awesome!).

DO NOT stay in room 101. We stayed two nights and were kept awake all night by either loud people outside (granted, the hotel can't help loud people - but should maybe invest in double glazed windows for rooms on that side of the hotel) AND also there is a garage directly underneath where the door opens and closes basically every minute. Very loud and disturbing.

The bed was big, but very saggy.

The breakfast was OK. Only 3 or 4 tables though so you had to share a table with other guests at the hotel....

Probably wouldn't stay here again, it is fairly expensive for not much....

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101, and try to avoid rooms at the front of the Hotel due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidSuites_Manager, Manager at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Bazinga22,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

As you mentioned, our location is fantastic being right next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center (shopping, restaurants, nightclubs, great view of the Hollywood sign) and sharing the block with the Dolby Theater (home of the Academy Awards & IRIS, Cirque Du Soleil), Grauman's Chinese Theater (where you can view the hand/footprints of Hollywood's legends), the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, Hard Rock Hollywood Cafe (which has live music on the weekends), the Metro station, El Capitan Theater (which hosts Jimmy Kimmel Live). Also, we are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Magic Castle, Yamashiro's Restaurant, the Roosevelt Hotel and only one subway stop away from Universal Studios, City Walk and the Pantages Theater.

You are correct that we cannot control people who may be talking loudly on the sidewalk but we would have been happy to speak to them about disturbing you or to have moved you to another room had you asked and if one was available as our guest's comfort is paramount to us and we strive to insure that their stay is enjoyable. We have upgraded our rooms to double glazed windows already. We have just installed split air-condition/heating systems in the rooms facing the street for better soundproofing but at your suggestion will take a closer look to see if there are additional measures we can take. Furthermore, we have an ongoing replacement schedule for our mattresses and we appreciate your letting us know about room 101 as it is now on the list for the next replacement. For breakfast, you may not have been aware that we have additional seating on our front patio, pool side, and our rooftop garden and we provide trays so that you can take your selection back to your room which has a dining table.

We do hope that you will change your mind about staying with us again when you visit Hollywood as we offer the best value for the area and will be pleased to work with you to make sure you get a room that you will be happy with.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hausaman, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and everything was awesome!! First they upgraded us to a better room for the same cost. The room was great, just like a mini apartment with all you may need to cook and have a pleasent stay.
Lots of room to store your bags and shoppings.
For us the breakfast was perfect, they had cereal, bagels, muffins, oatmel, cream cheese, fruit, etc.
The hotel is just come steps away from Highland mall, right there on hollywood blvd and a metro station.
It was also easy for us to arrive in the car, just by following google instructions.
I would hesitate to come back to this nice hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A.
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.