We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordably close to Hollywood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Pinas, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Affordably close to Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very close to touristy and shopping areas. I'm glad we decided to stay in this hotel for 2 nights in December 2012. Clean and spacious room. friendly staff, breakfast included. Although the room is not sound proof, this to me is not a major issue. I would still recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    553
    96
    22
    9
See reviews for
495
364
58
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our family of 5 started our 4 week holiday in the US at the Orchid and we had a great time. The location is central to everything Hollywood. I don't believe we could have got any better value and the customer service makes it all worth while. The perfect place to start our holiday and will definately be back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel has a fantastic location close to subway and walk of fame. The rooms have attached kitchen which was a huge respite given that we were travelling with a 2 year old.

Staff was very polite and helpful.

The rooms were old and cleanliness was not upto the mark. We spotted cockroach on kitchen sill and in bathroom. If you can live with that, it is a great property to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidSuites_Manager, Manager at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hollywood Orchid Suites. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time you have taken out of your day to let everyone know.

However, I am surprised and dismayed about a few of your comments as we have an awesome, dedicated housekeeping staff and guests repeatedly compliment them and us about the cleanliness of the rooms. Also, as you know, our doors open to the outside and insects are easily brought in by various means such as shopping bags. We have a regularly scheduled, proactive pest control service and so that is definitely something that we don’t expect guests to “live with.”

In addition, we are actively making improvements to the hotel and hopefully you will notice some changes when you visit next time. For instance, we are presently replacing all the countertops in the kitchens and bathrooms.

I’m very sorry that you encountered this situation in the room because it is unacceptable to us and I would have been happy to address the situation while you were here. Whenever you're ready to make your reservations for a return visit, please be sure to let us know and we will make sure you get our very best rates!

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hausaman, Manager
manager@orchidsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When we arrived, I did not know what to expect. When we checked-in and got to our room, my first word were "I am glad I booked this hotel." For our family vacation in LA after 7 years, this hotel was an excellent choice. The suites had ample room and sleeping arrangements were fantastic and comfortable. Plus parking was provided. We felt very safe during our stay. It made me wish I bought more people with us. The location was absolutely fantastic, it was nearby to everything; food, shops, Hollywod Walk of Fame, Universal studios and the Farmer's Market. The staff were great with our queries and the breakfast atmosphere as very homely. We felt very comfortable and the rooms were value for money. We enjoyed our stay and we will be back next time. The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of service, comfort, location and overall experience.

Room Tip: If you travelling with children, booked the rooms with the double king beds. There is comfort and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is a gem! The location is incredible, right behind the Hollywood Walk of Fame, you can easily access the main strip through the plaza. The rooms are absolutely spotless... I am a clean freak and this place exceeded my expectations! While the rooms may be a tad dated, it is so cosy, clean, comfortable and incredibly spacious. It is a self contained apartment with a full kitchen, plenty of room to relax, wifi in your room, and a great breakfast each morning. The bedroom had a super comfortable king size bed, a chest of drawers and a wardrobe.

The staff were so friendly and helpful... five stars for service, cleanliness and location! Loved it!

There is a pizza restaurant next to Starbucks in the plaza behind the hotel, they do great pizzas and have friendly fast service as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good Value for money. Many of the guests are from Australia and NZ.
The staff are super helpfull and friendly. The whole property internally is spotlessly clean.
It is located only a street away from many of the attractions in LA.
We stayed there for over a week in an Executive king Suite . It was very clean and spacious and contained a full kitchen. The property is close to a well stocked grocery store for provisions.
The property also has secure undercover parking for guests cars.
The hotel had numberous vending machines for drinks and snacks and a coin operated laundry.
It also has a modest pool.
Each day a light continental breakfast was served on the first floor , by a charming lady.
We would recommend this property to any traveller on a budget who still wants comfort and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for two nights in Nov. Unfortunately, I was there for a training and not to enjoy everything as a tourist. It is a great location for vacationing in the Hollywood area; it's within walking distance of many of the most famous sights. Traffic is very congested there and it can be confusing driving in and out of the small street that the hotel is on. I was there during a film festival and a Barbara Streisand concert which probably contributed to the traffic. The rooms are clean and spacious, but modest. It's nice to have use of the full kitchen. The underground parking is a plus. The staff was extremely friendly. This is not a fancy hotel with great matresses etc., but for the price and location, I would definitely stay there again and enjoy some of the great sights, restaurants and entertainment in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.