We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's not tell anyone...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Orchid Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Let's not tell anyone...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On my second night in Hollywood I managed to get a deluxe king room at the Orchid Suites for 3 nights.

What a great place. This hotel was originally a block of apartments, converted in the late 90s. It is still more along the lines of serviced apartments, so don't expect room service or restaurants. There is no need for either, as the back entrance of the Hollywood and Highland Center is a few well lit steps away, offering a dining variety very few hotels in the world could hope to provide.

The staff at this establishment always greeted me with a smile. When I needed help with something it was instantly provided, and as a solo traveler in his late fifties this was important. The hotel is very secure, with free underground parking, a huge advantage in LA.

I liked this place so much that I have already booked and paid to stay another 3 nights on the way back to Australia. This could become my secret US base.

Room Tip: The back end of the building is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    500
    90
    22
    9
See reviews for
450
318
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with hubby & kids. While not the most modern place, it was spotlessly clean with lovely, helpful staff. The pool was small but adequate, there were ever only about 8 people in there. Breakfast was basic and did the job, with the underground and buses near by it was easy to get around if you didn't have a car. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were looking for a reasonablly priced and closer to Hollywood hotel and we came across Hollywood Orchid Suites in Hollywood. Not knowing exactly what we were in for, we selected this hotel and booked it when we stayed in LA last May 2012. The room we were given was big, with separate kichen, good kitchen facilities, enough wardrobe to store our clothes, clean bed and enough space. It provided free internet, no need to pay to access the computer and the breakfast provided as part of the price was reasonable, and just enough for a good breakfast no need to have extra ordinarily big hotmeals and pay enormous amount even though they are part of your hotel fee. The staff were friendly and helpful and the taxi service was excellent, spot on time. On top of this, it is just a step away from everything and I mean everything. Aurora

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights during our 2 week Southern California trip. What you are paying for is the location. It is next to everything Hollywood you would need/want to see. Universal Studios was about a 10 minute drive up the road. Security at the hotel was great and the parking garage was great, also. What we didn't like was the rock hard beds and the carpet was so dirty that as soon as you walked on it with socks, they would turn black. The a/c units in the apt ran loud and hardly cooled anything. There were no doors on the bathroom and it looked like there was black mold in the bathroom and along the floor trim in the hallway and back bedroom. The kitchen was nice, although all we used was the fridge to keep some milk cold for the kids. The pool looked nice, but small. We never did use it as there were lots of older kids playing and we have very small kids. The hotel staff was nice and did know our names and greeted us every time we went in and out. They did help us out by finding my daughter's doll and holding it for us for a few days until we could make our way back to LA to get it. The breakfast was decent..nothing fancy...a few kinds of cereal, coffee and juice and bagels. All in all, the place is located great, but it was outdated and dirty. I would not recommend it to anyone until the rooms get cleaned up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidSuites_Manager, Owner at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate the nice compliments regarding our great staff, security, parking and location, However, I am very sorry and unhappy to hear about the guest’s experience. Sadly we are guilty as charged on the carpet issue. To explain, we have open walkways, in a very exciting and busy location and dirt gets tracked very easily down the walkways into our rooms. Therefore, we have an intensive carpet cleaning program with our own equipment and have back up from an outside company. However, recently our schedule was interrupted when our own person and our outside back-up both became seriously ill and were hospitalized. Adding to that, we were so busy it was difficult to take rooms off line once our person recovered as reservations were already in place and so we fell temporarily behind in our carpet cleaning program. We are working to make sure this does not happen again. Also, I checked the bathroom and bedroom of the suite this guest was in and could not see any issue with the tile except that it was not new and was slightly pitted.
.
We are a small and busy hotel and therefore we do not shut down for total remodels. However, we do spend a significant amount of money to upgrade the hotel on an ongoing basis. In just the last 12 months we replaced dining table and chairs, dressers (2 in this suite) and flat screen TVs (2) , coffee and end tables, tile floors in both bathroom and kitchen, both stove and refrigerator, oven hood, mirror over bath sink etc. This is not counting noncosmetic items like plumbing, etc. The bathroom tile is on our future agenda as are granite counter tops, laundry facilities, handicap lifts for the swimming pool, etc.

Considering that we have large suites with kitchens, there is a lot more to oversee, maintain and update and we think we are doing a very decent job of it. We feel our staff keeps our rooms very clean and well maintained and are quite proud of that fact, also. Of course there is no excuse for dirty carpets, but let’s look at what this guest had: in the peak of summer vacation season, their family of 4 paid $169 per night for a suite with two king size beds, each in a separate room, with a fully equipped kitchen and dining table, 2 flat screen TVs, as well as free hi speed internet access and free parking, complimentary, continental breakfasts and a swimming pool for their kids to use to refresh from the recent hot weather, and as they admit, a caring staff and super location.

Considering all of the above, I would not have rated the hotel as “poor” and certainly would have pointed out my issues during my 3 day stay to give management a chance to correct or otherwise address the issue/s.

Joseph Blum (owner operator)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Everything is in place when you stay at Hollywood Orchid Suites. A very very good location - you'd just have to walk a few seconds and there's the Walk of Fame, Dolby Theater (used to be 'Kodak Theater') and the Grauman's Chinese Theater. The Walk of Fame is also the start of all the Hollywood tours, such as the double decker open air bus, the movie stars homes tours and many more! It's so convenient. It's also right beside the Hollywood and Highland Mall. The hotel has good security. The front door is always locked. And right outside the hotel, there's a security guard and a CCTV. It's so safe to walk out at night. There's a Metro one minute away from the hotel that takes you to Universal City, downtown LA, and many more places. There's a car rental shop right in front of the walk of fame. Taxis lining up outside. Buses stop there. Everyone in the hotel is friendly. There's a dining room, kitchen and a bath tub in the room. They give you free-use of cups, glasses, hair dryer, etc. On the top floor, there's a roof top garden where you can bring your breakfast up or eat by the pool or at the 2nd floor. The breakfast place is a bit small but it's okay cuz you can bring it someplace else. The breakfast is good, they serve muffins, fruits, coffee, hot chocolate, croissants, apple sauce and bagels. We stayed there for 2 weeks!! Absolutely amazing. I recommend this hotel for everyone.
Credits to Joe (the owner), Sandra (the manager), Patricia (helper) and Adam (front desk).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed here several times now and have always had good service, we even got a FREE upgrade to a bigger suite on our last visit as it was our Honeymoon :-) We have re booked and going back again in November for our Anniversary. The location is FANTASTIC, close to subway, tourist sites and one of the best places to eat( in our opinion) Mel's Diner is about 5 mins walk away and open late. We believe is a great place to stay. There is also secure gated parking. We have not used the free continental breakfast as we use the kitchen facilities.
Please remember these are self contained accomodation NOT hotel rooms with room service and you wont go far wrong.

Room Tip: Booking direct has always helped. Selby is a lovely lady to deal with via email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the tail end of a 3 week road trip. When I originally booked this hotel, the customer service rep on the phone was extremely helpful in helping me determine what rooms/combination of rooms to book for our family of 6. We ended up booking a deluxe 2 king suite and a junior room that were connected so it was kind of liking having a 2 bedroom apt. Unfortunately, we couldn't keep the junior room for the last night because it was already booked. On our second day, when we had to vacate the junior room, in the afternoon, the staff delivered a cot for us to help alleviate any issues we would encounter due to having to give up the junior room. This was not based on any request we had made - they had just made note of our situation and asked if we would like the cot! The hotel staff were all amazing! The lady who ran the breakfast area was super friendly and when I ran into her by the pool one day she commented on how she didn't see me at breakfast that morning! (my hubby had gone down and brought back food for us). They even had pool toys at the pool which my kids loved and I just thought to myself that I've never stayed at a hotel that provided pool toys.

The rooms themselves were very clean, albeit a little dated. If you can stand the fact that the furniture/kitchen is older but still very clean, then this is a great option. It's extremely close to the Hollywood & Highland Centre for restaurant options and the walk of fame. It's a great central location in Hollywood for all the tourist attractions and it was about a 15 min drive to the Warner Bros studio Tour, half hour drive to downtown LA and about 40 min drive to LAX.

The hotel faces the back of the H&H Centre and outside the doors/windows is the laneway for deliver trucks. We were there in the summer so we had the air conditioner running the whole time and couldn't really hear the noise but I'm not sure if you would be disturbed at all by the noise if that was not the case.

I'd still recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre(formerly known as Kodak Theatre) (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Orchid Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.