We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Positive Things In This Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 25%
Ranked #38 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Manila Philippines
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Many Positive Things In This Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at this boutique hotel 4 nights . I was actually looking for a strategically located hotel with a known brand character , that's why I ended up with a Hilton . When we arrived, it was perfectly clear , and that it was not that really a centrally located property , since you would need a leisurely 10 minute walk to the hollywood walk of fame, chinese theater etc. I also found out that Loews hotel was more central, since it was a stone's throw away from the major sights. It was also a 3minute walk to subway, starbucks(closed when i visit ) and a mini grocery across the street . The Hilton is literally sandwiched between Holiday inn Express and Best Western to give the readers an idea of the proximity of each hotel/inn to one another . I would be enumerating the assets of this hotel , or things that i like sort of thing :: 1) standard room - i was fortunate to get one situated at the back , which has pool views , and a higher floor (7th ) without actually requesting for it , and i was grateful for that -- room amenities are very functional , I liked the double beds which are spacious and really comfortable (their 2 beds can accomodate 4 adults) , I also liked the huge flat screen Tv which offers HD channels and pay movies as well . The bathroom was small , but somehow the size did not annoy me or something , and nice toiletries ( sorry i forgot the brand they used to provide ) , they have a mini fridge and cooling/heating ventilation system which are remote controlled 2) Free wireless internet - the service was fast and not erratic (actually they provided me one for access to a more speed coverage , a benefit for a HH member ) ..3) Free items in the lobby - they provide complimentary coffee,tea (and sometimes hot chocolate ) and newspapers every morning ; apple and cookies in the afternoon 4) Breakfast - the continental buffet with some hot items in their coffee shop was the best experience i had during my stay in LA , it was a little expensive , but worth it, considering the poor breakfast choices in that area , must try the waffles, pancakes and french toast which are all made to order 5) Amenities - they have a pantry pavilion for must needed items/food situated beside reception which are reasonably priced , an ice machine for every floor , and a swimming pool / gym accessible in the 2nd floor with the guest card key ( there was no malfunction throughout my stay by the way ) and lastly 6) Service - very friendly but not intrusive , in fact almost all of them show the same professionalism and enthusiasm with the way they work. I liked the way they greet house guests in the evening after all the daytime activities . Special mention of Juan , Lorane in the front desk , and ms Elizabeth who i think was a supervisor or in sales, who gave me suggestions regarding my trip to universal studios . One last word of caution however , I won't recommend the grand tour of LA they offered , since it was only a pass by to the main attractions ( staples center, LA live , disney concert hall, city hall and santa monica ) and would do stopover in venice beach, a historic hispanic area , and rodeo drive , the photo opportunity of the hollywood sign was no good either . maybe getting a hop on hop off bus would give the tourist visitor more time for nice picture taking . Taking all of these into consideration, inspite of the proximity of these hotel to hollywood blvd , the positive attributes would likely make this Hilton establishment my home again in the not too distant future ..

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms located at the back seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenInnManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles / Hollywood.

It was nice to hear the front desk, specifically Lorane and Juan, provided you with exceptional service.

They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    246
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
157
165
30
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed 4 days here and were more eased by the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. It was close to the Hollywood walk of fame and we are able to walk back and forth several times a day. There is no option to self park and the $32 per night is one reason I may not return here. A restricted entry lot for guests or a lower rate would be reasonable but when your car is parked 30 feet away and the 2 neighboring hotels charge less then there is something wrong. There is also no menu to order hot breakfast from so if you only order cook to order eggs and some bacon you are charged the full buffet price which was almost $17.00.

This will not be my first choice of a hotel because of those reasons.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments about the facilities and staff is much appreciated. Being in Hollywood, parking is very limited. We are currently working with the company that manages the Valet Parking to see if anything could be done for the charge. We also have packages that include parking within the rate. Since our hotel is not full service, we offer either the full buffet breakfast or a continental breakfast option which includes the pastries and cold items. If you return in the future, we would like to be given another opportunity to service your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms in this hotel a little anxiously, but we decided to redeem some of my husbands HHonors points to pay for the booking, as we were spending two weeks travelling around California and wanted to reduce the overall cost. Hotels in LA do not come cheap at any level.

We arrived and were met by the car parking valet crew, who in our whole time there were polite and efficient. I do however agree with all the other travellers comments about the cost of the service. As there is no choice to self park, it does seem very unnecessary to charge such a high amount ($32) for the car to then be parked 20 yards away!!! Next door the hotel was charging $20. Please review this, as I will not give a higher rating.

Location was excellent. A five minute walk took you down to the walk of fame, Chinese theatre, Madame Tussaud's, Ripleys, Starline bus tours pick up, metro station and many more. And a ten minute drive got you to Universal and Warner Bros.

The rooms were fine for this level of hotel. They were clean, modern and the beds were very comfortable. We had requested either interconnecting or side by side rooms which the hotel did not manage. Though if you are a light sleeper, request a room at the back of the hotel, and not on the 2nd floor!! We were above the kitchen and were woken early every morning by the deliveries. The room doors are also very noisy when they close.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant everyday. There was a good selection for the continental buffet and you could order cooked food as well which was always of a good quality. As usual in a hotel, the prices are quite steep. Maybe not too bad if you are on your own or a couple, but a family of five did not see much change from $100 (£75) a day.

There is a pool and hot tub at the hotel, which we enjoyed using. Though every time we did we had to get our own pool towels from reception as there were never any left and no one checks that during the day.

The staff were all very friendly and pleasant.

If we came to LA again, we would stay here again, it was perfectly comfortable and in a good location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. May I recommend the next time you return to book one of our Bed and Breakfast packages? I'm confident that this package will save you for the cost of breakfast. I will be personally working with our Housekeeping staff to ensure that we stock our pool towels more often so our guests can fully enjoy the pool while staying with us! We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn (Hollywood) from March 1 to 6 and were exceptionally pleased by the warm welcome we received on arrival. Although we were much earlier than the official check in time we were given access to our room and the lady at the front desk even suggested a tour we could do that afternoon as an introduction to Hollywood. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the carpark and pool. The room was very clean, modern, very nice comfortable beds and spotless bathroom. The room was a pleasure to return to after a day out.
Also the hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to Hollywood boulevard - fantastic!
A word must be said about the wonderful staff at the hotel. They were exceptionally helpful and we were always greeted with warm smiles and greetings.
I highly recommend this hotel, I will be definitely returning to this hotel when I next return to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and some friends for one night in January. The room was spacious and well equipped and the bathroom lovely and clean. Unfortunately we had trouble with the hot water, so ended up having cool showers which wasn't pleasant on the morning of my birthday. We did inform reception who sent someone to have a look but nothing was really resolved or explained, so that was a disappointment. Nevertheless, the rest of our stay was great, it was quite a cheap stay too, and the staff upon arrival and the barman were very welcoming and kind. We are hoping the problem with the water was a one off, so giving them the benefit of the doubt we would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We apologize for the hot water issue. During that time 2 of our boilers went down and we were working with our vendor to resolve it as soon as possible. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 2 nights during our recent visit to LA. The hotel is neither impressive nor particularly attractive from the outside and the lobby was a little small and rather crowded. The pluses for this hotel are its location and its friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel is just two blocks from Hollywood Boulevard and on the corner of Hollywood and Highland is the Mall from which you have very clear views of the Hollywood sign in the hills. Next to this mall is the Graumann Chinese Theater where you will find the hand and foot prints of the starts adn you will also find the avenue of the stars along this boulevard. This is also a very convenient place to take the Hop-on-Hop-off tour of Hollywood.
Our room at the hotel was fairly large and had amenities to help you deal with middle of the night hunger pangs. Besides a coffee maker we had a microwave oven in our room and we could buy snacks and ready to cook meals from the small convenience store in the lobby to address these needs. If you prefer, there are restaurants and diners just across the road from the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. There is an outdoor pool which we did not use but I assume that it would be very popular in the summer..
Although we were on busy Highland Avenue, the room was quiet and the beds were comfortable, so we slept very well while we were there. This is a no-frills hotel but it gives good value for what you pay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Although we did not find our room noisy, the rooms facing the back of the hotel are probably much qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you want to walk around the attractions of hollywood this is a great place. Parking is expensive but the valet's are great. Clean, good wireless internet, great staff. Had a pricey but good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Address: 2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Hollywood within the city of Los Angeles is the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood hotel; a short walk, drive or commuter trek to many prominent corporations & local attractions; this Los Angeles hotel is the ideal location for business & leisure travelers. If you find yourself in Los Angeles for a convention at the Los Angeles Convention Center, a business meeting "Downtown" or a movie deal in Hollywood, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood has every amenity plus great location the on-the-go traveler needs to pull it all together. The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is centrally located near Disney/Dreamworks Studios, Sony Corporation, Capitol Records, Warner Brothers, Eastman Kodak, Deliotte and Touche and Coca Cola. Located within walking distance to the world famous Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Grauman's Chinese Theatre or one metro stop to Universal Studios, The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is in the perfect "IT" location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Heights Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Heights
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.