We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 25%
Ranked #40 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good value, Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and some friends for one night in January. The room was spacious and well equipped and the bathroom lovely and clean. Unfortunately we had trouble with the hot water, so ended up having cool showers which wasn't pleasant on the morning of my birthday. We did inform reception who sent someone to have a look but nothing was really resolved or explained, so that was a disappointment. Nevertheless, the rest of our stay was great, it was quite a cheap stay too, and the staff upon arrival and the barman were very welcoming and kind. We are hoping the problem with the water was a one off, so giving them the benefit of the doubt we would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We apologize for the hot water issue. During that time 2 of our boilers went down and we were working with our vendor to resolve it as soon as possible. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    255
    85
    13
    5
See reviews for
161
172
32
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 2 nights during our recent visit to LA. The hotel is neither impressive nor particularly attractive from the outside and the lobby was a little small and rather crowded. The pluses for this hotel are its location and its friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel is just two blocks from Hollywood Boulevard and on the corner of Hollywood and Highland is the Mall from which you have very clear views of the Hollywood sign in the hills. Next to this mall is the Graumann Chinese Theater where you will find the hand and foot prints of the starts adn you will also find the avenue of the stars along this boulevard. This is also a very convenient place to take the Hop-on-Hop-off tour of Hollywood.
Our room at the hotel was fairly large and had amenities to help you deal with middle of the night hunger pangs. Besides a coffee maker we had a microwave oven in our room and we could buy snacks and ready to cook meals from the small convenience store in the lobby to address these needs. If you prefer, there are restaurants and diners just across the road from the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. There is an outdoor pool which we did not use but I assume that it would be very popular in the summer..
Although we were on busy Highland Avenue, the room was quiet and the beds were comfortable, so we slept very well while we were there. This is a no-frills hotel but it gives good value for what you pay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Although we did not find our room noisy, the rooms facing the back of the hotel are probably much qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you want to walk around the attractions of hollywood this is a great place. Parking is expensive but the valet's are great. Clean, good wireless internet, great staff. Had a pricey but good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights the week of March 19. It's 2 blocks from Hollywood and Highland; walking distance. The beds were beyond comfortable. Clean and well appointed rooms. Staff was very friendly and a wealth of information about the area. My daughter used the hot tub and loved it. We used this hotel as our base while visiting Hollywood, Beverly Hills, and Santa Monica/Venice. Traffic was a nightmare and they charged $32/night to park but even with that when we return to the area, this is where I will stay. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a corner room that faced the pool and the hills and the view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We are very happy to see that your daughter enjoyed our Jacuzzi. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We reserved through Hilton Website at the last minute. We didn't want to miss out on accumulating HHonors points. The staff was friendly and upbeat, not at all pretentious. Restaurant at dinner was perfect for what we needed
The heated pool and hot tub, with Hollywood sign, topped off a great day of sightseeing with two young boys.
I especially appreciate them washing the comforter cover. Very clean and safe! Great Job!,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We are delighted that your feedback regarding our amenities are positive and the Front Desk staff's genuine willingness to help. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I just spent 2 nights in L.A. This hotel is perfectly located just above Hollywood Bvd. It took 5 mns to walk down to Hollywood Bvd, the Dolby Theater is right there as well as all majors attractions such as the Hollywood Museum . The hotel is clean, the staff was very nice, smiling and helpful. After check out time, we wanted to continue visit the town before going back to LAX airport, the lady at the reception desk, Lorane, was very nice and said we could leave our luggages there,which we did. The whole staff was nice and helpful. Their breakfast buffet is good, cold and warm and they serve dinner which can be nice if you get there late and don't want to look for a restaurant around. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on Highland Av which is a very busy avenue. I would ask for a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. I will definitely pass down your compliments to Lorane for her hospitality. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzelia, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location is on the edge of Hollywood, but only a short walk to the sights. Rooms were OK--a bit on the old side but clean. The hotel room was OK--nothing to write home about, but, also nothing glaringly wrong. Service was good--the staff was friendly and helpful.

The most annoying thing was the valet parking. OK, I get the idea to pay for parking. Well, sort of--and in any case, the parking, $32/day is more than 50% more expensive than the Holiday Inn next-door. The valet service was completely unnecessary. The parking lot is small, and it was silly to ask the valet to bring my car, when I clearly saw it parked 4 spaces from the valet stand. Kind of like the movie LA Story when Steve Martin gets in his car to drive next-door. Silly. So, perhaps the car won't be parked next to the valet stand, but the parking lot, as I mentioned, is small. You won't get lost finding your car.

All in all, it was an OK hotel. If you can book it with some sort of discount, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Address: 2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Hollywood within the city of Los Angeles is the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood hotel; a short walk, drive or commuter trek to many prominent corporations & local attractions; this Los Angeles hotel is the ideal location for business & leisure travelers. If you find yourself in Los Angeles for a convention at the Los Angeles Convention Center, a business meeting "Downtown" or a movie deal in Hollywood, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood has every amenity plus great location the on-the-go traveler needs to pull it all together. The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is centrally located near Disney/Dreamworks Studios, Sony Corporation, Capitol Records, Warner Brothers, Eastman Kodak, Deliotte and Touche and Coca Cola. Located within walking distance to the world famous Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Grauman's Chinese Theatre or one metro stop to Universal Studios, The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is in the perfect "IT" location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Heights Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Heights
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.