We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Great happy hour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel) (Central L.A.)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 25%
Ranked #37 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Great happy hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with a friend on a recent trip to Hollywood last Wednesday, February 6th. We were going out that night around Hollywood/Highland and decided it would be best to stay somewhere close.

Staff were friendly from the beginning. Roman at the front desk was extremely helpful. Our favorite part of the hotel was the excellent service we got from Bryan at the bar. We stopped in for happy hour (great deals and free apps!) and liked it so much that we returned for the 3 course dinner before going out! Bryan was very attentive and friendly even when we weren't sitting at the bar top--this man needs a raise! House wines were good, and the grilled chicken & tomato soup were phenomenal for being served at a hotel!

Rooms are on the smaller size, but that can be expected in this area. Decor was updated and pleasant. Valet was $30 per night which was slightly steep, but if you know the area, you know you can't expect to find anything cheaper. Breakfast on site was more expensive than we thought it was worth, so we went elsewhere.

Within very reasonable walking distance to Chinese theater, Kodak, El Capitan, etc.

Would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    224
    74
    11
    4
See reviews for
144
148
28
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel during a visit to LA to see colleges. The main reason I chose it was that I was able to use my Hilton points to stay for free. Little did I know how great the location would be. Only 2 blocks from the busy Hollywood/Highland corner, the hotel provided us easy access to public transportation, entertainment, and restaurants. In my opinion, the access to transportation was by far the largest benefit to us. We were able to go as far as downtown LA/USC and the Santa Monica pier, as well as all points in between, all on a $20 a piece metro pass!! Who would ever think you could get around LA that cheaply?! My biggest tip to tourist travelers is to get that $20 7-day pass. It was available at the easy-to-use kiosk in the Hollywood/Highland Subway station. We were also able to ride several different bus lines along Hollywood Blvd, all with very close stops due to the plethora of tourist attractions at that corner, ie, Grauman's, Madame Tussauds, etc. Also convenient is the Hollywood/Highland center with it's many restaurants and shops. The Sweet! Candy Store is crazy fun and there are great views of the Hollywood sign throughout the 3 story complex.
Back to the hotel...one thing was evident immediately: the friendliness of the staff. Over the course of 5 days we were wished a good day and welcomed back EVERY single time we traversed the lobby. Check-in and check-out were efficient, questions were answered pleasantly, and smiles were always present. The staff of the bar and restaurant were super friendly and efficient, as was the housekeeping staff. The room was basic and small, but clean with nice amenities: a good cable line-up, comfortable duvets, a very comfortable ergonomic office chair and a minifridge and microwave. Maybe one tiny criticism I would have would be the sheets; a higher thread count would be nice. The ones now are pretty hard and rough. I will also say that if you pay for the breakfast it is pretty pricey, in the area of $15. As Hilton Gold members ours was included each day and was fantastic; made-to-order eggs, meats, pancakes and waffles, as well as wonderful fresh fruits and the full array of ingredients for European-style bagels and salmon. The entire dining/serving area was also always spotless.
I am a simple, budget-minded traveler who's primary needs are comfort, convenience and safety. I don't mind public transportation or walking 2 blocks to get to it. Yes, we passed a homeless person or two on that walk several of the times. But it was on a sidewalk next to a busy street and we never felt threatened. This is to be expected in a city like LA and as usual one must be smart about how they travel. If you wanted a taxi I am sure the hotel would be happy to summon one for you at your convenience.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a convenient location in a comfortable, suburban setting when visiting LA.

Room Tip: The back side would be preferable--these rooms are away from the road and have a suprisingly tranqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed on night here while visiting my brother in Los Angeles. The hotel is in a good location near Hollywood Blvd. We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Hotel staff was very nice. Traffic can be a little crazy sometime and it makes getting in and out of the hotel parking lot a little tricky. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A hotel that provides a really good all round experience. Safe and adequate parking on site with a large outside lounging area pool and hot tub type construction. The rooms are clean, spacious with nice bathrooms. Breakfast was charged (not included) pricey but of good quality, i must admitt i felt a little boxed in therefore we walked to Starbucks a few minutes walk away for the remaining 2 nights of our stay. The Gym was a added bonus. A good location to walk into Hollywood!Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel itself was very good (smaller room, but clean, business services were helpful, appreciated the complimentary bottles of water given to us) and the staff could not be friendlier. We were disappointed with the $30/night parking fee (the hotel next door is $20/night - we didn't realize this until the last night we were there). The hotel is in a good location as far as being able to walk to Hollywood Blvd and the touristy attractions easily. However, the hotel was not in a good location as far as safety goes. Nothing against the hotel in particular, we just would not stay there again, due to the surroundings, the fact that it sits right on top of a main/busy road, and not feeling very safe while walking at night (married to a cop - he was making comments about how "shady" it was the whole time we were there). We would have changed hotels if we had our kids with us.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back - overlooking the pool - too loud in front (overlooks the main/busy road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel was very nice and very close to all the sights of Hollywood. Hollywood Boulevard was about a 5 minute walk and from there you can walk to the all the sights along the boulevard, see the stars etc.

The rooms were of a decent size and very comfortable. They do haver a resturant (but a bit pricey). We went to Starbucks for breakfast which was across the road.

Would highly recommoned staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This little version of the Hilton really did itself credit from when we checked in to when we left. The room was as I requested out the back and so avoided any traffic noise. The location is ideal for walking to the attractions on Hollywood Blvd ( 5 mins tops ).
We stayed here when this hotel was Called Hollywood Heights so we are aware of the improvements made to the breakfast room and bedrooms. We think the hotel has improved greatly since.The food was lovely with a good selection and we ate there in the evening and had excellent service. We used the gym and the laundry which also came in useful.It was the breakfast and evening staff in the restaurant that really excelled in making our stay special

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. Thank you for returning back to us and giving us such positive feedback regarding our change! We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Address: 2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A.
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Hollywood within the city of Los Angeles is the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood hotel; a short walk, drive or commuter trek to many prominent corporations & local attractions; this Los Angeles hotel is the ideal location for business & leisure travelers. If you find yourself in Los Angeles for a convention at the Los Angeles Convention Center, a business meeting "Downtown" or a movie deal in Hollywood, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood has every amenity plus great location the on-the-go traveler needs to pull it all together. The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is centrally located near Disney/Dreamworks Studios, Sony Corporation, Capitol Records, Warner Brothers, Eastman Kodak, Deliotte and Touche and Coca Cola. Located within walking distance to the world famous Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Grauman's Chinese Theatre or one metro stop to Universal Studios, The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is in the perfect "IT" location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Heights Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Heights
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.