We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid all round experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 25%
Ranked #48 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A solid all round experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A hotel that provides a really good all round experience. Safe and adequate parking on site with a large outside lounging area pool and hot tub type construction. The rooms are clean, spacious with nice bathrooms. Breakfast was charged (not included) pricey but of good quality, i must admitt i felt a little boxed in therefore we walked to Starbucks a few minutes walk away for the remaining 2 nights of our stay. The Gym was a added bonus. A good location to walk into Hollywood!Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    277
    91
    13
    8
See reviews for
172
183
35
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel itself was very good (smaller room, but clean, business services were helpful, appreciated the complimentary bottles of water given to us) and the staff could not be friendlier. We were disappointed with the $30/night parking fee (the hotel next door is $20/night - we didn't realize this until the last night we were there). The hotel is in a good location as far as being able to walk to Hollywood Blvd and the touristy attractions easily. However, the hotel was not in a good location as far as safety goes. Nothing against the hotel in particular, we just would not stay there again, due to the surroundings, the fact that it sits right on top of a main/busy road, and not feeling very safe while walking at night (married to a cop - he was making comments about how "shady" it was the whole time we were there). We would have changed hotels if we had our kids with us.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back - overlooking the pool - too loud in front (overlooks the main/busy road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel was very nice and very close to all the sights of Hollywood. Hollywood Boulevard was about a 5 minute walk and from there you can walk to the all the sights along the boulevard, see the stars etc.

The rooms were of a decent size and very comfortable. They do haver a resturant (but a bit pricey). We went to Starbucks for breakfast which was across the road.

Would highly recommoned staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This little version of the Hilton really did itself credit from when we checked in to when we left. The room was as I requested out the back and so avoided any traffic noise. The location is ideal for walking to the attractions on Hollywood Blvd ( 5 mins tops ).
We stayed here when this hotel was Called Hollywood Heights so we are aware of the improvements made to the breakfast room and bedrooms. We think the hotel has improved greatly since.The food was lovely with a good selection and we ate there in the evening and had excellent service. We used the gym and the laundry which also came in useful.It was the breakfast and evening staff in the restaurant that really excelled in making our stay special

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. Thank you for returning back to us and giving us such positive feedback regarding our change! We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice hotel a quick walk from the Chinese Theater and Walk of Fame. Hotel staff were helpful and nice to the kids. Pool was nice but could have been a little cleaner. Rooms were very nice but if you are on the street side they are very loud at night.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel this week and overall very happy with it.

* the rooms and hotel were very clean - cleaner than a 5* we recently stayed in
* we stayed in 703 - good sized room with fridge, microwave and coffee pot (in addition to the free coffee and tea laid on every morning in lobby)
* pool and hot tub clean and good - gym and launderette too
* exceptionally helpful, friendly and efficient staff - from room maids to the reception staff, they are a credit to the hotel and I haven't found many hotels where I am able to say that!

the only minus points for me were

* as echoed by the other guests is the parking fee, it too cost us more to park the car than hire it, $30 is a lot, the Hilton next door is $20 which is still too much and I agree this should be a self park car park, we used our car everyday during our visit and each time took it out and bought it back the valet guys wanted to be tipped also.

* I would have liked the hotel facilities to be open a bit earlier and later than 9am /10pm

If you visit without a car it's a wonderful hotel!

P.s Breakfast was nice also

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is what made it for us. The hotel was ok in a sense of hospitality. The $30 valet parking fee is absolutely ridiculous! Managers need to re look at this fee. I would rather self park and pay $5-10 for a security guard to manage the lot to ensure only guests are parking there.

We stayed on the 7th floor. The room met our standards but you can hear things and the workers out in the hall way. It was a little small but no worries. The pool and hot tub looked nice, but we didnt use it.

Staff was friendly and helped us out.

We used the bar and when we spent $25 we recieved an additional 500 hilton points.. Nice promotion.

Overall experience was good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood. Your comments and suggestions will be shared with our team members so they know that their hardwork does not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you return to us in the future. Thank you for being part of the Hilton family of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Address: 2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Hollywood within the city of Los Angeles is the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood hotel; a short walk, drive or commuter trek to many prominent corporations & local attractions; this Los Angeles hotel is the ideal location for business & leisure travelers. If you find yourself in Los Angeles for a convention at the Los Angeles Convention Center, a business meeting "Downtown" or a movie deal in Hollywood, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood has every amenity plus great location the on-the-go traveler needs to pull it all together. The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is centrally located near Disney/Dreamworks Studios, Sony Corporation, Capitol Records, Warner Brothers, Eastman Kodak, Deliotte and Touche and Coca Cola. Located within walking distance to the world famous Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Grauman's Chinese Theatre or one metro stop to Universal Studios, The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is in the perfect "IT" location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Heights Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Heights
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.