We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios to your Saves list
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7023 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #119 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was my second time in Days Inn Hollywood and it doesn't disappointed! Great location, the room was not huge but a good size.
We had a problem with the TV, but Otavio, who works there, was very thoughtful and solve the problem! I recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    378
    233
    59
    49
See reviews for
269
303
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

One of my worst experiences ever. Flashy check-in area but beyond the glass door, the place stinks, the room upstairs was smelly, floor was sunken, soft, squeaking, felt maybe rotten if you were to look under the ratty carpeting. They have ventilation openings in the hallway walls and the room windows were open, obviously to keep down the smell. Very noisy traffic, including motorcycles racing back and forth all night. Thin walls. Very late at night, we had noisy sex noise coming through the walls, sounded like some kind of group activity. What a horrible night. Plus they charge you to park there when you are already overpaying. It cost me over $160.00 for one horrible night.

TIP: Plan your stay so you are not stuck at this place; there are some high end hotels in this area, if you cannot afford one of these, just plan to stay in another part of the metro. If you want to go to the Grauman's-Madame Toussaud part of Hollywood, you can get here on the subway or bus, or just drive there and park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your most recent stay at our property. We welcome everyone's point of views and I am sorry your stay was a horrible experience. We do our best in keeping up with our product and are dissapointed we failed to meet your expectations. We hope you consider giving us another opportunity sometime in the near future.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for three days. The hotel is located close to the Hollywood walk of fame. The WiFi works well and there is parking although the property charges $10 a day for this. The rooms were on the small side but fairly well equipped with a coffee maker, TV, microwave and fridge. The complimentary breakfast was adequate. There is a corridor that forms the perimeter of the hotel at two sides of the property (but not the front or the back), At regular intervals of this there are large holes in the wall which are occupied by large steel grills. My assumption was that this was a cheap and/or old fashioned form of ventilation. Unfortunately this lets the noise from the surrounding area into the hotel which made for quite a noisy stay. Because of this I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is through your comments and suggestions that we can know how well we are living up to our standards. We are glad to hear that you found value and convenience in the facilities and amenities we provide. Our staff and management are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with helpful and courteous service. We also understand that because of our location; noise can create much of an inconvinience and we are very sorry you are considering not to stay with us in the future when visiting the area. If anything changes; please know we will be happy to welcome you back!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I liked the hotel, we had an interior pool view so quiet and safe. The rooms are not large but very good. Nice shower. Breakfast was delicious, variety and some healthy option and non healthy if you want. It was our last night in the US after 3 full on weeks. Next door was an In Out Burger and a massive shoe warehouse across the road, I was in LA to shop and I went crazy in there. Oh my goodness it was excellent, my husband and I wanted shoes to take home to Australia and I found way too many bargains. The area itself was ok, we went up to Hollywood Boulevard at 10pm and it was trashed, I didnt feel overly safe though it was fine, it was just so dirty and we were in the hub of it. Im sorry to say but LA has some very weird characters getting around and I walked with my head down during the evening. Day time was fine. Im just not used to this type of atmosphere. The hotel is perfect and thank you to the staff for a lovely and safe stay.

Room Tip: go the interior of the building if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good hotel. Nice location, great breakfast. Not expensive.
It charges for the garage. But worth it.

Free-wifi. Complimentary computer usage for 15 mins plus 5 print pages, in case need to print tickets, or reservations.

Suggestion:
Ask for a room in the second floor. It is hard to sleep with the footsteps from the upper floor.

Room Tip: Suggestion: Ask for a room in the second floor. It is hard to sleep with the footsteps from the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello;

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests.
Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Hollywood your best vacation yet.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in a nice room facing the pool. Excellent king size bed. I slept very well. Room had all you would expect including TV with more than 200 channels. Wi-Fi worked very well. Also had a safe for your valuables.

The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything special, but adequate to start the day.

Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Hollywood/Highland metro station, so very easy to get to Universal Studios or Downtown if you don't want to bring the car. Parking was $10 per night in a garage beneath the hotel.

Lots of places to eat around the hotel. In-N-Out just next door. Fantastic burgers! Also Burger King, Starbucks and IHOP very close. 7-Eleven just across the street.

The pool area was very nice. Didn't use the pool but it was great to be able to sit outside.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

There are a number of cheaper hotels located in Hollywood and the Days Inn is among the better ones of them. If I was to stay in Hollywood again I would probably stay at Days Inn again - there is a free breakfast, rooms were clean and it is a short walk to the Hollywood strip.

Although I don't think I would stay in Hollywood area again or even recommend others to do so.

Hollywood that you see on Tv is not Hollywood in real life. In reality it is a run down neighbourhood with no real attractions worth seeing. For me a visit to Hollywood is a waste of time.

There is a reason there is not many good hotels there.

The hotel faces a busy road next to a fast food place, there is not outlook worth seeing.

My recommendation would be to find a different area in LA to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segio O, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your most recent stay with us! We understand your dissapoinmtment and are sad you plan not to comeback to our city; we respect your decision and want to let you know that we are here to assit you if things ever change. Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios

Address: 7023 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.