We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7023 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

What I liked most about this place is its location. 10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro (Hollywood/Highland) and really near to various affordable eateries and convenience stores. The 10 minutes stretch from the metro can get pretty dark at night but I wasn't too worried walking back even being a single female with my mum around since it's along the main roads. In fact I get more uncomfortable along the more crowded areas outside the metro with the homeless people and nutcases around.

As for the rooms, sure, they aren't luxurious, but they were clean and beds were comfy, so that's all that matters for the price we pay. The receptionist in the evening, sorry forgot her name, was exceptionally helpful as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Chunlian;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at our Hotel and our City; I am so happy you and your Mom were able to truly enjoy your visit! We enjoyed having you as our guests as well and hote to have you stay with us again in the near future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    316
    171
    43
    42
See reviews for
194
213
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The room was quite nice and all rooms appear to overlook the pool.
Bathroom small but adequate and very clean.
They also provided luggage trolleys (which came in handy)
Parking is $8 overnight for a car.
Staff were very nice andf helpful.
Very close to Kodak Theatre - short walk around the corner.
I never quite made it to breakfast.
Close to a Starbucks.
Very safe area.
Close to Movie Theatres.

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from Sunset Bld.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Dear;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel! and thank you for contributing on specific room types to our future guests; we do appreciate it. Thanks again and we hope to have you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURPRISE
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went to the LA Auto Show Dec 2012 and stayed at the Days Inn on Sunset Blvd. The room was so small you couldn't move without climbing over the bed and the bathroom was really small. The bathroom door blocked the use of the sink and the john. This room was way over priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Roger;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor about your recent experience with us! As we have almost 10 different room types we have this many rates as well. And least expenssive rooms are usually the smaller ones. For future references you may want to go on our website to see the different room types to see which one best suits your needs. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are well appointed and clean, and the beds are comfortable. I liked the pillows! Slept like an angel... Furthermore, we were allowed to check-in early which was a great service. The bathroom is small and the room is not over spacious but it has everything you need, including coffee/tea making facilities. Free WiFi was a bonus and the included breakfast spread, though small, was decent. There was fresh fruit available (including bananas) and different packaged danishes.

The underground secure parking is safe and convenient, so that was an added bonus. Also the location of the hotel is perfect as it's walking distance to various eateries, shops, a big supermarket and the Grauman's Chinese Theater.

Overall a quality stay with a low price tag - we'd definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for for a room facing the pool if you're a light sleeper as Sunset Blvd is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello Dear;

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor; requesting a specific room type always makes the difference as this ads to a more pleasant experience. Thank you so much for your contribution to our readers and hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were able to check in early and that was a plus after a 6 hr drive.1st day the one and only ice machine was broken. Thanksgiving morning there was no hot water, so left with out showers. last day we were gone 9 hours and our room was not serviced yet, even though it was next. I declined and just asked for towels. Bed was ok, and the pillows were awful. Over all the staff was nice, room was clean. Parking was secure even though you have to pay daily. Would we stay there again, maybe. The location was good for the area we needed to be in. I think there should have been an adjustment on our bill, but they didnt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello Sarah;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor about your stay at our hotel. I am really sorry your stay was not the most pleasant and we failed to exceed your expectations; I am truly sorry. Unfortunatelly somethings can be prevented and we understand there are consecuences. I will make sure to share your comments with my Housekeeping staff so that similar incidents may be prevented in the future. Thank you so much for your feedback; we genuinly appreciate it. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was really convenient for getting to Hollywood Blvd. and its attractions. The staff were all pleasant, the underground parking was really nice to have, the breakfast had a nice variety, and the room was small but efficient. The walls are very thin though, so you may want earplugs. There's lots of restaurants in the area as well. I would definitely stay here again if I was going back to Hollywood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello Dear;

Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor! We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have you stay with us again in the near future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 days in LA. Chose this motel as it is close to the Pantages Theatre and we were there for a play. Nice and safe underground parking, accommodating staff, clean facility and breakfast with bananas and brewed decaf. Lots of places for meals and easy walk to Hollywood Boulevard. We'll choose this one again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days I, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello Karen;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel; we are glad to hear it all worked out for you and hope to see you back soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios

Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn
Address: 7023 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios to your Saves list