We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, great free breakfast.....fantastic location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios to your Saves list
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7023 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #123 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Essex, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, great free breakfast.....fantastic location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband & I stayed here in November for 4 nights. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The location of this hotel is fantastic.....For those who have never been to LA...it is massive.

This hotel is central for everything and I would recommend to everyone visiting the area. It is a 4 min walk to Hollywood Boulevard with loads of places to eat on your doorstep. Parking was very cheap for the area and is gated. All LA tours leave from chinese theatre which is right on your doorstep.

The free breakfast was great......and FREE, which was great for our morning needs. Cant fault this hotel for the price. Will stay again should we return to LA.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    406
    257
    68
    52
See reviews for
308
318
51
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I tried it for 4 nights on October 2011 and was really very nice time, really excellent for what you pay. So close with attractions of Hollywood, and for me one block away from my uncle's house.
Really a nice & quite place inside Hollywood.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October. I like the location because it's so convenient - within 10 minutes stroll to Hollywood Boulevard and yet away from the hustle and bustle, there's an In and Out burger joint right next to it for quick breakfast fix before setting off for the day, an Ihop open 24hrs just across the road which I went one night for waffles for supper, a number of small eateries in the corner about 5mins walk away with a provision shop in the same car park, a laundry shop about 10 min stroll on the right of the hotel, and a shoe outlet diagonally opposite the hotel. I like it as it's right on the Sunset Boulevard which is nicely lined with tall palms trees. The room is decently clean and a comfortable size (not really spacious nor was it cramp) although there is a musky smell. There is a microwave oven and hot water flask. But there is no view (you can request for one facing the road by paying more but the rooms are very limited). Breakfast is very simple - toast with jam, cereals, beverages and one kind of fruit.
Overall, for this price, I find this place pleasant.

Room Tip: The basic room types have windows looking out to the corridor, so if you prefer to have a view, chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Was a clean place to stay on Sunset near Hollywood Blvd (approx 2 blocks). Hotel was overbooked. We reserved a queen non-smoking. Did not have one available. Were given a suite w/ a mini kitchen instead! (which was great to have with two small boys to feed). Breakfast was the standard continental breakfast. Not bad. Bagels and fruit were fresh. Room was clean. Plenty of parking. Felt safe in this hotel. Yes, there were probs with the key card but that was about it. Staff was very nice. Reasonably priced. Would definitely stay there next time I travel to Hollywood.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This location is on Sunset Blvd, a block or so from Hollywood Blvd (near the main Hollywood attractions). Priced reasonably for this area. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Seemed to have some trouble with the keycard not working (this happened twice - stayed there 3 days). The indoor garage is $8.00 per day which you would need as parking on the street is very difficult as most areas are permitted or metered. The continental breakfast was just OK, no waffle maker, no yogurt (although they had bananas and apples), no eggs of any sort, had oatmeal and bagels and danish and cereal and juice. I like Starbucks coffee and even though there was a Starbucks on the corner I didnt go there as the coffee was fine. Breakfast bar opened at 6:30 AM promptly. As I said my rates were very reasonable (used the Entertainment Book discount) and accordingly my room was small but sufficient for only myself. Had to unglog the refrigerator as it was quite noisy - also a microwave in room. I liked the fact that there was a safe in the room free of charge. The internet was a little slow but free. There was no suitcase rack in the room when I arrived but one was delivered promptly. I would recommend a room on the upper level rather than on the main level. My room led out to a courtyard in the back of the hotel with a gate perhaps four feet high leading to the courtyard (no access to the courtyard). The courtyard was protected with barbed wire but I didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding door open during the night which was the only source of outdoor ventilation. The bathroom area was small but nice and shower was newly tiled. The desk personnel were friendly and helpful and allowed for a late check out on departure day. Didnt use the outdoor pool (was there in the second week of December, 2011) but ate a midnight snack from In/Out Burger (which is next door (had to try it as there are none of those on the east coast) - 24 hr IHOP is across the street as well as a 7/11 - saw an altercation while taking a walk with a security guard from 7/11 and someone who must have tried to help himself without paying for his items) in the pool area. The outdoor pool area was well kept and attractive. About 3 blocks east is on Sunset Blvd is a guitar center that has a walk of fame in front of the building with many famous bands and singers - worth the walk. I dont think they had a fitness center but there is a nice L A Fitness about a 7 minute walk on Hollywood Blvd. All in all - a good place and a a good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed 2 nights & was happy overall with my stay. Room was a decent size with a fridge, desk & plenty of towels in the bathroom. as others have said the walls are very thin & could hear the people in the next room.
Breakfast was bagels, toast, pastries, cereal, fruit, juice & coffee. But came down at 9:30am and there wasn't much left & wasn't refilled either.
Less than 10min walk to Hollywood Blvd but Sunset isn't the nicest area. Ross across the street is awesome for clothes bargains.
Overall I would stay here again & recommend it to those looking for a reasonable priced place close to attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The price was reasonable although the first time I tried to book on line it was cheaper but after a day the price when up.
The place was clean and well kept.
The linens were clean, towels clean and new.
Breakfast was continental and refilled.
Staff were not very helpful though and does not give much information.
Metro bus was very convenient when you do not want to walk.
Ross dress for less shopping was just beside the place.
In n Out, Ihop and other food stores were beside the hotel.

Room Tip: A nice alternative when you want to be close to the action in Los Angeles but do not want to pay as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#136 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#173 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
#99 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#23 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,601 reviews
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios

Address: 7023 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.