We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room with Terrace, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Century Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Century Plaza to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Century Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 Ave of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Century City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Play & Stay
Ranked #54 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Spacious Room with Terrace, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very happy staying here for three nights. We were on 12th floor in a corner room with a terrace. I enjoyed sitting out on the terrace. The room was very large and spacious, the bathroom sink was outside the bathroom while the toilet and large stall shower were in cramped quarters - that was the only negative. There was a large desk jutting out into the room with a chair on either side. There was also a lounge chair by the bed. The bed including the pillows and sheets were very comfortable. The room had an expensive luxurious look and feel to it. There's a large flat screen TV across and far away from the bed. Everything was kept very clean. There is a Starbucks in the lobby open 7am - 3pm daily. There is a gym and pool on 6th floor. Service was excellent from front desk to concierge to housekeeping to bellhops to valet. Great location - only 5 minutes (1.5 miles) from Beverly Hills and about 30 minutes away from everything else. The traffic is bad everywhere - we needed to allow for additional travel time. This was our second time here and if we return to LA, we would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up floor and corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    521
    214
    68
    49
See reviews for
256
282
94
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff was very nice. That is the big plus.

Valet is a mess and takes hours. Also extremely expensive and no chance than taking valet (rip off) self parkers will have to pay every time they exit the full day amount- means that when you exit 2 times in one day you pay double.... Pretty cheeky

Pool- well... And then the food at the pool... Expensive and disgusting. Ever eaten a cold club sandwich with rubber bread in a five star hotel ?

Fridge. While the one in the hyatt Chicago was empty, here you were not allowed to put something in (sensors in the fridge count).... But you can rent an empty fridge for x dollars... Come on... In Chicago we were told that fridges in hotels in the US are empty always.... ????

Rooms. Ok but badly cleaned.

Front desk nice but check the promises (we will send you a blabla - Never came)

I prebooked a room with two queen beds and got a king size bed...(confirmed by email)

We got then an extra bed - but you know how good this beds usually are.... They were....

Luggage Service. After 15 min waiting i brought the luggage down myself.

Be aware you pay for the gym extra!

No, I probably will choose another hotel on my next t trip to LA. I Hope I just was very unlucky on my stay... I booked another 30 nights with HYATT this year but I start to struggle with my decision.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adevore, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you kindly for reviewing the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. We apologize that you encountered some problems during your visit. I have shared your comments with our management team for further review. As for parking, our prices are comparable to other four star hotels in the Los Angeles area and we feel we provide a great service given that price. The hotel has an exclusive partnership with Equinox Fitness Club & Spa. As part of our partnership, our guests are entitled to utilize this member only club for a minimal daily fee.

Sincerely,

Adrienne De Vore
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been coming here once a year for the past 8 years and every time I come, I'm just so happy to be here. It gets really busy when something's on, and this is no cosy/cool-hotel, but there is a real buzz in the lobby that's hard to beat. Location is great for the Westfield Mall next door. Despite the few times the hotel has changed its management over the past few years, it's always nice to see that they retain the staff.....the lovely smiley bellboys have been around for the longest time and they have a real sense of pride about doing a good job. When I stayed there this May, there was a DIY Flower Bar (made up that counter name.....sounds nice?) where guests could help themselves to stalks of Gerberas, Alstromarias, Freesias etc to assemble a small vase of posies to bring up to their room. Whoever thought of that idea deserves a real reward! Such a simple, inspired idea that cheered a flower lover like me up no end and makes a business stay that much more comfortable. The only big downer about this hotel is the busy and terribly expensive valet service, and that's why I'm giving this a 4 rating. Parking cost is near criminal, I hope the hotel can review its options and cost to consumer for this essential service. Also, the hotel does not have a free gym. Yes, I have read past management responses about the gym being run independently, and takes in paying members, yada yada yada, but really, which 5-star hotel worth its salt these days charges for a basic service like a gym? Do consider giving your guests the option of a free gym pass, or free breakfast voucher etc. Perhaps the hotel can even consider setting up a small room with some gym equipment, just for hard core exercise fanatics who just need something basic. Do also consider doing some tie-ups with Mall tenants, offering hotel guests special discounts or privileges at the Westfield shops. I hope this hotel works on going more of an extra mile for its guests, and I hope there is enough to keep me coming back once a year.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Hills as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few days to escape from some terrible apartment renovations. However, the huge conference center downstairs and central location for meetings in Century City seem make it a hub for business travelers. It is also walking distance from one of my go-to malls (Westfield Century City) and Craft, one of the best restaurants in LA.

Word of advice from a local, don't eat in the hotel restaurant. The mall next door has plenty of options and in upscale grocery.

Room Tip: Higher floor for a great view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Based on other reviews, my family of 3 chose this hotel for our last night in CA after a long drive from Carmel. We took advantage of the "park and stay" rate listed on their website, which covered a room with two doubles and valet parking. Our room overlooked the pool and had a private lanai. We arrived late and had not eaten dinner, so walked across the street to a shopping mall and ate at B.J.'s Brewhouse for a good meal and great service!

Our beds were not super comfortable, but adequate. The room and bathroom were very clean and modern and very quiet. The registration process was very quick and clerks at checking/out were professional and courteous. Valet was easy with great service. Bellman brought luggage to our room quickly and was very professional.

I agree with a previous review that the Wi-Fi is sorely lacking. We paid 9.95 for this service and connection was intermittent at best. In this modern hotel in this progressive, modern city, this service should be free and consistent!

Rooms should have Keurig coffee makers and supplies! Big bummer to wake up and have to wait for room service coffee or get dressed and run down to Starbucks in the lobby!

I will def stay here on my next visit to L.A.!

Room Tip: Both east and west rooms have city views. Rooms on the west side have a view of the pool. Rooms on...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were located in the elevator foyer on our 7th floor room. Low flow shower heads were a good touch. Water saving toilets allowed you to choose the type of flush based on liquid or solid waste.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We did not get the rooms we had requested. The staff is unresponsive and not helpful at all. The room did not even have a hair dryer and the front desk put us on hold for 20 mts. Never staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adevore, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you kindly for sharing your recent experience at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza. We pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality to all guests. Clearly, this was not your experience and for that I do apologize. In addition to hair dryers, we have a list of forgotten amenities that we will happily provide complimentary upon request. We hope that you will consider our hotel again.

Sincerely,

Adrienne De Vore
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel is a bustling place. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The restaurant is excellent, but pricey. The breakfast buffet was really good. Hint: try the maple Danish. It was melt in your mouth good. Rooms are nice and hallways were quiet. The hotel is a short walk to a mall which had a food court.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Century Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Century Plaza

Address: 2025 Ave of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Century City , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Century Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with contemporary glamour and style at Hyatt Regency Century Plaza. Perfectly situated on the fashionable Westside, adjacent to Beverly Hills, this elegant Los Angeles hotel offers easy access to all the sights of this vibrant city. Set on seven lush acres, with 726 spacious guestrooms, Equinox spa and fitness center, our Los Angeles luxury hotel is a urban retreat in the midst of the city. Discover why The Century Plaza hotel and has been the choice of dignitaries for 40+ years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Century Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Hyatt Regency Los Angeles
Hyatt Los Angeles
Hyatt Century Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.