We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #13 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel got the best mattress I've slept in a hotel. Maybe in my life. Concierge is good and location great for shopping time and great restaurants! I really have nothing to complaint about this Sofitel in Los Angeles. The bar is great for who is taking a drink at a quick stop. Recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Bonjour Rlingourmet,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sofitel LA!
We enjoyed reading the kind things you shared about our staff and our hotel.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our Sofitel bed!
We hope to welcome you back as a guest soon!
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    527
    160
    66
    34
See reviews for
292
688
133
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel LA with my partner. The rooms were clean and tidy. The bed was to die for... has to be the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. In addition to the beds being made every morning, there was also a turn-down service every evening. Fresh bottles of water were provided daily and the bathroom was stocked with Loccitane products. Large shower area with large overhead shower.

We requested a room facing the Hollywood hills and you can just about see the Griffith Observatory and Hollywood sign. I would recommend this, as the other rooms face the Beverly Shopping Centre.

For those into their fitness, the gym was great too. Cool towels with a menthol aroma were stocked in the fridge, which were very refreshing when working out. Free water and apples were available. All the usual gym equipment was available, including free weights.

Loved this hotel and are returning as part of our honeymoon in October!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Bonjour 309RachelB,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sofitel LA!
We enjoyed reading the many kind things you shared about our hotel.
We take joy and pride in our award winning Fitness Center, and we are happy to read that our guests enjoy its use during their stay.
I am delighted to read that you decided to come back for your honeymoon.
Please do not hesitate to contact our guest service department to make them aware you come back for this special occasion.
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting Beverly Hills and you want it all (Melrose Place, good boutique breakfast places, shopping, local's night life) coupled with how close it is to Burbank (go to Warner Brothers), Santa Monica, and Downtown look no further than this elegant yet hip/modern & perfectly located (for business and/or pleasure) home-away-from-home.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Bonjour JATulla,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sofitel LA!
I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and the neighboring shopping center.
Our goal is to make you feel as if you were at home in a "french elegance" atmosphere.
We hope to welcome you back as a guest soon!
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Sofitel in Beverly Hills was my introduction to the chain. We first stayed at the hotel over 13 years ago, and plan to continue doing so. The food, service, concierge, and front desk staff do an excellent job. We have enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Bonjour gkwawer,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, staff, and your experience.
I am happy to know that you are loyal to Sofitel brand since 13 years and hope we will keep meeting your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very professional and helpful. I asked the front desk the typical questions and they were always nice, but when I asked random workers questions when I was walking to the fitness center or somewhere else, they were also very friendly and helpful. I'd expect a quick, short answer, but their care and friendly attitude really went a long way.

The decor of the hotel is quite nice, but there were a few things in terms of room design and amenities that I found noteworthy/irksome:

-Fitness center is open from 5 or 6 am to 10 pm. As a night owl, I found this cut off time rather limiting. The gym itself is quite large and has many machines, both cardio and weight, but there are no chilled water bottles available. There are bottles on some of the cardio machines, but they were smaller than your average bottle size and warm. Chilled water was available for you to pour yourself, but the cups were small/limiting.

-The bathroom had some oddities...There's a window that is on the wall that's shared with the bedroom, in fact it's right above the bed. You can dim the glass so someone in the bedroom can't see you, but the person showering can still see them. Even if the glass is dimmed, the light from the bathroom is bright if someone is trying to sleep.
*There was also no bathroom fan or a scale, even though there was plenty of room for one under the spacious bathroom counter.
*Bar soap was just ok, not bad, but nothing special.
*There were 2 shower heads. One from above you with no adjustments, just a huge surface area of water spouts (impossible to use if you don't want your hair to get wet). The other was attached to the wall and had a detach'able' arm that you could maneuver if wanted. It's the perfect height for someone 5'4", but anything taller and it could be too low for you.
*The towels were great, imo. They were large(more like bath sheets) and soft.

-The bed mattress was good, but the frame was low quality. The way the bed was made meant it had a bottom sheet and just a comforter, no top sheet. Even though the A/C controls were good, I felt like this resulted in me rolling around a few times a night from getting hot from the warmth of the comforter.

-The hotel was pretty quiet and even though there's no way to quietly shut your door, at least the noise of that didn't reverberate into your bedroom. We had a view of the surrounding neighborhood, not the mall, and it overlooked a children's education center. It seemed like they had a lot of play time because I heard them several times during the morning. Once I popped in my earplugs though, it was no problem.

-The room has several lamps, but no good 1 light switch that'll get you the light you need. Instead, you have to go around turning on a bunch of small lamps that are ok, but not as strong as you need.

-There aren't many electrical outlets. If you have 2 people, both with iPhones and laptops, it's challenging. From tracking down where the wires of the lamps on the bedside tables went to, I was able to locate a power strip under the mattress, within the bed frame. It was kind of nasty/crummy looking, but I pulled it out closer to the top of the bed frame and was able to get 2 free sockets out of it. It did the trick, so I was happy.

-Wifi is free (up to 512, if you want faster, you'll have to pay) and worked well for us. I had a moment or 2 of slower speed, but overall it was great. I used it in the room and in the gym to watch videos with no problem.

Overall a good stay in a location that's right by Cedars Senai and a lot of good shopping; however, I don't think it's worthy of 4 stars as I've been in lower ranked hotels that performed better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Bonjour lws07,
Thank you so much for your honest review of Sofitel Los Angeles.
We are constantly reviewing guest feedback to make sure that we are providing the best service possible, and so that we may be able to prevent any future occurrences
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed other facets of your stay with us as our staff and our location.
We look forward to having you with us again soon,
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

For a visit mixing business, family and opera, this hotel always surprises me with it flawless service. It does not take long till they know your name. They were specially helpful during an alarm at the shopping center nearby, forcing the police to close the main street to all circulation. They quickly organized a new entrance through the backdoor, they even organized the valet service in these difficult circumstances. Everything functions, they have a large gym, a (small) outide pool, and everything nearby to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Take a junior suite, and you will never complain about the lack of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Bonjour JAXINMEXICO,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Sofitel Los Angeles!
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the difficult situation we had with the alarm at the Berverly Center.
We have some amazing staff members working for us, and it is always so nice to read such kind words about them!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

For the price this is a great value. Really 4 1/2 stars. Service top notch. Bar and restaurant excellent and room very nice. Everyone very friendly and many great restaurants nearby. You could pay more and maybe have a little better room at another hotel but we would definitely stay there again. Had room service, apps at bar and breakfast in restaurant. All very very good. 1 knock. They charge for internet after free 24 hrs. I dont understand why high end hotels charge for what is in this day and age a necessity when cheaper hotels dont. We were there for pleasure but if it was business I might reconsider

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Bonjour sccrref,
Thank you for your review of Sofitel Los Angeles. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed both our property, our staff and our location.
I am sorry for your problem with the internet. There are several options when you connect to the internet, and guests can choose the basic internet which is free during all your stay, or fast internet that you have to pay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Los Angeles.
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Address: 8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills is a stunning hotel in LA offering elegant luxury accommodations and dramatic decor with an ambiance that combines see-and-be-seen excitement and the calm of an urban resort.Ideally situated on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard opposite the Beverly Shopping Center this West Hollywood hotel is conveniently located near Cedar Sinai Medical Center Rodeo Drive Melrose Avenue and Sunset Boulevard.Discover a unique blend of French fashion mixed with Hollywood glamour at this elegant hotel.Choose from 295 rooms on 10 floors including 26 suites and two Imperial Suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system - SoBed.Savor the distinctive and delicious cuisine at Esterel, our new contemporary French restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, ACCOR, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Accor Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.