We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was ok, rooms need updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 S Beverly Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90035 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #97 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel was ok, rooms need updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was ok and adequate / quiet location, nothing to rave about, the rooms definitely require an update and freshening up. With that said, we only spent a minimal amount of time in our room. (Stayed 3 days and 2 nights in LA)

The Concierge was very helpful, arranging tickets & transport for both Universal Studios and Disneyland Resort. The car company the hotel used were excellent - very friendly, helpful and efficient.

The Location was ok, it was a bit of a hike to the famous Rodeo Drive and places to eat. Walking back to the hotel after dinner at night was a little intimidating as the neighbouring streets were dark and fairly uninhabited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    375
    245
    89
    45
See reviews for
249
304
51
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay here - it was the last stop of a 3 week San Fran to LA road trip and i wasn't disappointed.

The receptionist was lovely and as we were staying 3 nights, she siad she had put us on the 11th floor so that we had good views of the city - and she wasn't wrong, there was the Hollywood sign and the whole city set out before us - stunning!

it was quiet at dinner but the food was really nice and the service great. The concierge was really helpful and there is a bus stop right outside that takes you to Beverly Centre (huge shopping centre) and into downtown if you want (all for $1.50 - amaxing!).

It is around a 10 - 15 min walk to Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills, and though not a lot of people walk, it's nice in the day time and early evening.

i felt safe walking around the areas by the hotel and would definitely stay again. I don't agree with other reviews about the hotel looking tired or that staff were distant - they were always attentive to us and friendly, helpful and genuinely happy to help.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've stayed here a few times. It is very well located in the middle of the Jewish area of Los Angeles and close by the many synagogues - especially the Young Israel of Century City which is three minutes' walk.

The staff were very friendly, and I was given the star treatment which I think they give to everyone.

But the place is beginning to look tired and the rooms are in significant need of updating. Given that I'd stayed the previous night for two thirds the price at the Crowne Plaza in LAX with its refurbished rooms, I hope this one is on the list before my next stay

Room Tip: For a good view of downtown Los Angeles ask for a high room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGDBeverlyHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Royal Silk,

We at the Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review at this website.

It is always a pleasure to receive a review from and senior contributor and we appreciate your 5 star review for cleanliness and service and I am delighted to hear that our team rolled out the star treatment for you.

Our ownership has been very generous to us and we have had significant upgrades in the past year but appreciate your comments about our facility.

We hope that you will choose us on your next visit to the Beverly Hills area.

Brian Keys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The crown was great the staff were bubbly and the rooms were ok. Maybe a little outdated and a little run down in the rooms. But the lobby's was nice. We had hired a car and the location is perfect for it. You can access anywhere quiet easily from the hotel. 2-3 minute drive to rodeo drive. Will stay here again. Next time.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGDBeverlyHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Troy L,

We at the Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review at this website.

It is always a pleasure to receive a review from and senior contributor and we appreciate your 4 star review. We love our Aussie guests and we are updating our Marty's Bar tv's to include some Australian sporting events.

We hope that you will choose " the Crowne" on your next visit to the Beverly Hills area.

Brian Keys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm confused at the comments regarding great location. To me it seemed a hike to Rodeo Drive and to most of the eateries.. Nice deli round the corner but apart from that? Food in the restaurant fairly nice . Restaurant and bar staff nice and friendly. Front desk polite but distant. Booked a shuttle with the concierge - also polite but distant. Winds me up greatly when I'm asked whether I want to pay the tip now or on the coach .... 15 hours before the service is performed!!! Come on now! Taxis outside apparently don't like short journeys....the one we took said it would have been better for us to walk (40 minutes) as it wasn't a direct route for him. Presumably he lost his place in the queue on such a piddling $12 dollar fare. had a room on the 10th floor, nice size, clean and comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGDBeverlyHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Maureen M,

We at the Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review at this website.

While you were very gracious in your comments, I feel we did not exceed your expectations and your comment about the team being distant was disappointing as we preach to the team about being engaging with each guest. I will make a point to speak with the taxi company as in Beverly Hills this is not the experience we want our guest to have in our destination.

We hope that you will choose us on your next visit to the Beverly Hills area.

Brian Keys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It was a lovely stay. Comfortable and clean. Lovely pool area. The staff were very friendly and helpful when enquiring about tours and prices. They directed us to a fabulous cafe on South Beverly Drive called Beverliz. Highly recommend their french toast and Omlettes. We found our bed very comfortable although the bathroom was quite compact. Lovely two nights rest here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGDBeverlyHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Alan M,

We at the Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review at this website.

We are delighted to hear that we provided you with a restful stay and great local recommendations in the Beverly Hills area.

We hope that you will choose us on your next visit to the Beverly Hills area.

Brian Keys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stains on sheets, dirt on walls, muggy smell inside. I felt uncomfortable walking around or touching anything. For the price it's not worth it. Parking was about $18 if you sign up for their rewards program. Location was ok I guess. Overall it was dated and dirty. The bath tub filled up with water while showering, the toilet paper was cheap, towels were very rough. This hotel needs a facelift for sure. The employees seemed nice and professional but I would never stay there again. Everything looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGDBeverlyHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Maureen M,

We at the Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review at this website.

We obviously failed in our goal to be the cleaniest hotel in Beverly Hills by your expectations.
Please contact me and I would be delighted to show you what I know to be the real Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills and not this isolated experience.

Regards,

Brian Keys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills

Address: 1150 S Beverly Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills Hotel is ideally located within walking distance to Rodeo Drive. Rodeo Drive shopping and dining is just four blocks from the hotel. Hollywood landmarks like Walk of Fame, Universal Studios and downtown Los Angeles are just minutes away. Both the Getty Center and Sunset Blvd are near the hotel. Los Angeles attractions like Santa Monica, Venice and Malibu beaches are also close by. The Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills Hotel is central to Century City, UCLA/Westwood, West Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and LAX. Each guest room features upgraded amenities such as complimentary High-Speed Internet , the new Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program (a holistic approach to a great night's sleep) coffeemaker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, CD player/alarm clock radio. Our one-bedroom suites, each featuring a wet bar, refrigerator and microwave make us more than just a 'Los Angeles hotel' to the business traveler or vacationer.The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Beverly Hills offers an outdoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool, spa, fitness room and 5,000 sq. Feet of meeting space. Golf and tennis is nearby. Marty's Bistro offering a poolside view serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A Concierge/tour desk, business center and gift shop is located in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills Hotel Los Angeles
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles
Beverly Hills Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beverly Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.