We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 S Doheny Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90048   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
San Jose, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The bad: The hotel was tucked in a weird neighborhood, but close to Robertson Street (about 4 blocks away). The house car was nice, but we never got a limo or the Rolls Royce offered to us. Drinks are over priced and so is room service. My BF and I are in our late twenties and felt like the staff and other hotel patrons gave us "looks".

The good: They offer luxury soaps and had a nice turndown service. There is a doorman and very pretty floral arrangements all over the hotel. The pool staff was probably the nicest to us.

The hotel overall needs a makeover...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    87
    38
    9
    15
See reviews for
159
175
31
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you want to have a great stay plus enjoy the outdoors the Four Season is one of the best places in LA to meet and greet. The staff are great at getting hard to find tickets and work well to make sure they are attending to your every need as they are quite familiar with catering to the wants of A lister celebs without losing their cool or making the other guests feel any different.

Going to the pool is really great especially mid week and a lunch at the outside restaurant at the pool for lunch makes you feel like you are tucked in a garden oasis of lemon trees filled with California warm breezes.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside table at Culina at night by the fire waterfall and you will be mesmerized by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

the room rate wasn't a problem as we didn't pay to stay here, my company paid, but the drinks prices and the foosd prices are fearsome, i didn't much enjoy not being able to afford a beer in the bar and havinmg to go out all the time

Room Tip: mortgage your house before arriving, so you can afford a coke
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Fennyclogs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. While I am disappointed your experience fell short of expectations, I am thankful that you have shared the feedback with us as our team reviews all guest feedback in an effort to improve the guest experience.


Warmest regards,


Sara Roderick
Social Media Manager
sara.roderick@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Recently stayed over Mother's Day weekend. Not impressed at all.
Pros:

Can't fault the room - it was very luxurious, but that's where it ends.
Had a nice note in the room from the manager with fruit.
Liked the bedding and toiletries.
The library room is beautiful in the lobby.

Cons:

upon pulling up to the valet to check in, no one in sight (except for the trashiest looking hotel guests who I found out later were attending a party in the hotel restaurant)

Had our dog with us and went for an evening stroll around the block - terrible neighborhood. The large apt building behind the hotel (what our room actually looked out on) is condemned and looks horrific. Really bad. The whole area is surrounded by low income apt buildings. Not pretty.

Service was non existent.

The hotel gardens are looking tired, there was trash around the property. The decor of the lobby is meh. The lighting and statues in the entrance are hideous.

When checking out tried in vain to use the iPad in the room. Finally gave up and went to the long line downstairs. Then I realized when getting my car from valet that I was out of cash for tipping. I explained I was sorry and got attitude from the car attendant.

Save your time and money: stay at the Beverly Hills Hotel or other upscale LA properties where they know 5 star service. I contacted the general manager over two weeks ago to give him my critique of his property and am still awaiting a reply.

Room Tip: Breakfast on the roof was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Ike03

By now you’ve spoken with our Hotel Manager, and while we are disappointed to hear about your stay, we do appreciate the feedback you have provided us with.

Below, you may find my contact information should you have any further questions or comments.


Warmest regards,


Sara Roderick
Social Media Manager
sara.roderick@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is located in an excellent area on the westside of Los Angeles, close to restuarants, shops. Excellent location for weddings or private parties. Good restaurant with great food and great ambiance and an excellent Sunday brunch. Very friendly and professional staff. The atmosphere is very pleasant, the rooms are nicely decorated and give a very comfortable feeling of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

From the moment we pulled our car into the property, we felt like royalty! Each and every person who works there made us feel welcomed. Our room was beautiful, bed was heavenly, fresh flowers everywhere. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor. Nice to have the balcony to step out on and take in the gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter, friend and I decided on a quick long weekend jaunt to Beverly Hills to celebrate my daughter's birthday. It was simply a most wonderful weekend!

Arrival:

We had prearranged LAX pickup with the car service used by the Four Seasons. Our driver met us in baggage claims and escorted us over to the waiting town car. We were on our way to a girls weekend adventure. Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by some very charming valet and doormen. Nothing like great first impressions. The hotel has a private drive through off the main street that probably would serve well for the celebrity guests to make their entrance and not have the paparazzi on their heels....obviously was not a concern for us! We made our way to the front desk, where we kindly greeted and arrangements were made to take us up to our suite....but alas, the front desk personnel had said that he gave away our suite upgrade so that we would have to stay in the 1 bedroom suite that was smaller and not renovated. I would like to mention, that on all of my visits to Four Seasons around the world, that I have been offered an upgrade and that this particular visit because we were celebrating my daughter's birthday, I was hoping for the rule and not the exception....my bad. So what to do.....I was offered a double suite upgrade at a cost of 1500 per night. No thank you.....I am quite sure that they sensed my disappointment. Oh well, it was just a room.....

Suite:

Our suite was on the smallish side, with a decidedly blah tired face. A bit snug for the three of us, but we would manage. But just as we were getting unpacked, a call from the front desk informing us that if our original suite upgrade would be available the next day if we would care to move. Are you kidding me? We took the upgrade, and this subsequent suite was much more spacious with updated décor and 2 full bathrooms......Ok this is more like it! So readers, if your suite accomodations are important...be sure to insist on a newly renovated room.

Restaurant on site:

I forget the name.....but it had a wonderful outdoor décor with a magical waterfall. The evening lighting on the patio was lovely. Unfortunately, the food was just OK...some offerings were very good, and others....well not so.

Pool:

A nice vibe. Smaller pool but had well appointed loungers and fantastic pool service. My daughter had a manicure a cabana by the pool. She was in heaven.

Concierge Team:

A very efficient lady by the name of Barbara (thank-you), organized all of our activities pre-arrival. This included:

Car service to and from LAX......GREAT!

Glitterati Tours (with Davd)....What a fun and informative overview of Beverly Hills, Hollywood, etc. This is a well run operation. Would do it again in a sec!!

Dining Reservations:

THe Ivy for Friday lunch: there is a reason this place is packed....and not for the celebrity sightings.....this is great service and great food in a charming locale. Definitely a FAV!!

Matsuhisa Bev Hills: Ok, the décor is nothing, the atmosphere is alive and the food was divine. Nobu was even there that night (his family was dining at the table behind us) and he was gracious enough to allow a picture with my daughter for her birthday. (We have been to several of the Nobu restaurants in different cities......this was the best!) Most highly recommended!

Spago Beverly Hills: This was to be my daughter's 15 bday evening celebration.Our wonderful concierge had obviously been able to request a table in the most preferred seating area. We were excited to visit such a well-known restaurant! But alas, it seems that our female table attendant(/waiteress) did not take kindly to 3 well-dressed polite Canadian women who did not belong to some A-list crowd in her preferred section......so sorry, Ma'am.....but actually we could have quite afforded to order anything off the menu and come back daily. It truly was a shame that we were not given the same attention as your other tables. My dining experiences around the world, have lead me to believe that it is fairly typical to explain to your guests the entrée selection once it has arrived and then check back to see if it was to our liking.....nope nada..:( We finished our entrees, not knowing the accompanying sauces, etc. Never have I experienced such unpolished service at such a reputated restaurant. I actually did comment on our disappoint and the maitre'd overheard the conversation and tried to make it up to us....we had a very hostile uncomfortable server who delivered our non-requested but gratis dessert from the maitre'd and went into over the top detail about the prep and ingredients ad nauseum. Thank you MISS you know who you are....for making my daughter's birthday dinner less than what it could be. SO READERS.....when a restaurant has service like this......IT IS A PASS!

OK...so on a happier note, we phoned for the car service from the Four Seasons to pick us up from Spagos. Up to this time we had enjoyed this wonderful service back and forth to the hotel and our shopping expeditions. These gentlemen have to be commended. I understand that they are engaged with several of the better hotels, but I must say, they certainly gave a nice edge to the Four Seasons. We were always picked up in a very clean Mercedes Sedan, with bottled water waiting for us. However, on our last trip returning from Spagos, we had requested The RR Phantom to pick us up. The gentleman driver made my daughter feel like a star and even took time for picture with her on arrival to our Hotel. Really....it is kind of those little things that leave special memories and make one want to return to a hotel that left a great impression.

We ended up having a successful weekend of shopping, dining (with the exception of Spagos), laughter and of course the perfunctionary trip to Tiffany's On Rodeo. The Four Seasons exceeded our expectations with their amazing service and courtesies. When one has a choice of luxury properties to stay at, it really comes down to service, and I just love the Four Seasons because of their amazing and thoughtful service. My daughter asked if we can return next year for her 16th Birthday......I think that says it all! Happy and Safe travels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear WEARECANADIAN,

Thank you so much for your very thoughtful review! I am thrilled to hear that you and your daughter had such a wonderful weekend at Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, and we are all so pleased to have had the opportunity to celebrate the special occasion with you both. While all of the guest rooms and suites at the Hotel underwent a renovation in 2010, I can certainly understand your excitement at your second day suite upgrade, and do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced upon arrival.

It sounds like you both had quite a full – and fabulous – schedule during your trip! A poolside manicure, shopping on Rodeo Drive and dining at some of LA’s best restaurants including Culina, Modern Italian at Beverly Hills sound like the ways to celebrate your daughter’s birthday. If you have any concerns regarding your meal, however, I have provided my email address below, so please do feel free to reach out.

Again, we greatly appreciate the lovely review and your kind words, and look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back for another wonderful celebration, be it her birthday, or perhaps even yours!


Warmest regards,


Sara Roderick
Social Media Manager
sara.roderick@fourseasons.com
Please follow @FSLosAngeles and @CulinaLA on Twitter and Instagram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Address: 300 S Doheny Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills' 285 guest rooms and luxury suites all feature step-out balconies with expansive views of the gardens, Los Angeles or Beverly Hills. Uniquely oriented towards the outdoors, our gardens, terraces and dining patios capture the best of al fresco living on Doheny Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills
Four Seasons Los Angeles
Four Seasons Beverly Hills
Los Angeles Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.