We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a intimate classy b and b with exquisite views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Playa Del Rey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Playa Del Rey to your Saves list
Inn at Playa Del Rey
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   435 Culver Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90230 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 85 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a intimate classy b and b with exquisite views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Even though it's only 3 miles from LAX, you'd think of truly pacifiic moods and you would think you were in the middle of a nature. I spotted one egret and two fish hawks. Mind bending breakfast-and bicycle lending

Room Tip: any room overlooking the wetlands
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
167
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, MA USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We only stayed one night, to visit a friend nearby, but were completely charmed by everything about the inn. The views over the marsh, to the marina, with sailboats coming in, and the setting sun, were spectacular. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the decor restful, nature-oriented, the rooms spotless, the beds super-comfortable. We loved the whimsical touches of birds painted on an occasional door or wall. Free WiFi, free parking, lovely free wine and cheese hour in the afternoon, delicious free breakfast. The beach and a long beach bike/walking trail were a few short blocks away. They offer free bikes, but we didn't try them this year. All you could want in an Inn. We'll definitely stay longer next year on our annual California visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marsh are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to LA and we felt like trying something different than the usual conventional, impersonal hotels. We picked up this bed & breakfast after a long and tedious search on the web. First thing that caught our mind as we got in was the delicious smell of the cookies baking in the oven! There's always something being prepared in the open kitchen just behind the front desk and it always smells great! The staff is very welcoming and helpful, breakfast is delicious and the whole place is furnished with taste! The living areas are beautiful, warm and cozy and each room has its own personal decoration that is different from the others (we had the chance to take a look at several rooms during our 5 days-stay). The interior designer did a great job! In addition to all this, you have a free, private parking and you can borrow bikes to ride on the beach which is 5 minutes away. This inn has it all, great location, perfect amenities, pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's a nicely appointed boutique hotel/ B & B right on the Ballon Wetlands Reseve in Playa del Rey. There are nearby bike paths and its an easy walk to the beach/ocean a few blocks away. Our room had a feat view out the French doors into a small balcony with table and chairs. Several shared spaces that are comfy and beautiful. The breakfasts are very good. The service accommodating and the baked goods smelled and taste terrific. The neighborhood has several good restaurants, especially The Tripel, run by Brooke, one of the finalists on Top Chef truism season. I hear its one of the go-to places for hipsters. It's just a block away. We stayed 6 nights and would return in a heartbeat.dc

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the wetlands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just stayed at the Inn at Playa Del Rey with a group of about 25, and we will all be returning in April to stay there once again. I can't wait to return to this beautiful place. The staff was very accommodating, the food was delicious, the overall atmosphere was very peaceful, and the beds were AMAZING! If you are looking for a nice retreat amongst the craziness of LA, this is your spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn at Playa Del Rey with a group of friends working in the non-profit world. We needed a quiet spot, few distractions, and an inspiring atmosphere; and the Inn provided them all! The staff was exceptional too, providing our every need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I joined about 25 other people for the week and we chose to stay here. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay warm, welcoming, and customized to meet our needs. The layout of the place made it suitable for private conversations, as well as group discussions. A short walk to the beach allowed for bursts of refreshment and its close proximity to the airport helped us accomodate people coming and going from our gathering. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Playa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Playa Del Rey

Address: 435 Culver Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Playa Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at exquisite lodging near Los Angeles. Enjoy bike rides, country breakfasts, walks on the beach, luxurious amenities, private sunbathing gardens, and the serenity of nature at this elegant inn. Many rooms come complete with fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and private decks. Rated one of the "Ten Best Urban Inns" by Forbes.com, our Inn is sure to please. Look online to learn more about our convenient location, superb accommodations, and to book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Inn at Playa Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Playa Del Rey Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Playa Del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.