We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at 657

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at 657
Save
You added The Inn at 657 to your Saves list
657 & 663 W. 23rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Housekeeping a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

"Why did you stay out here?" was the cabdriver's question as we left the Inn at 657
On our arrival,no maps or information on the limited local amenites or public transport. were provided
The Inn is located in a rundown area of inner suburbia where we felt unsafe walking at night [we had no car].
To be fair, the breakfasts were indeed delicious and generous but the biggest disappointment was the lack of house keeping.
Our room was cleaned only once in 5 days,after we inquired on the third day. We made our own beds and emptied the bins.
The information on the website painted a different picture to what we experienced
Why did we stay on ...well Wayne and his breakfasts were excellent and we are pretty resilient

Room Tip: Be prepared to clean .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcarter657, Owner at The Inn at 657, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I want to apologize for missing this guest’s room in our schedule. As proprietor, I have instituted additions to our cleaning schedule to prevent another oversight.

A sense of safety was another concern of this guest. We are located in a neighborhood of hard workers, students and professors. We are directly across from the park-like setting of Mt. St. Mary’s College through which many of our guests walk on their way to USC, the Exposition Park Museums, the Coliseum, or Shrine Auditorium. Many guests walk to the Convention Center, Staples Center and the Nokia Theatre. We are 2 blocks from Figueroa Street, a public transportation hub to which many of our guests walk. Our guests are often out and about on foot but in over 20 years never have we had a guest report an unpleasant encounter.

We take this review, as all of them , personally and seriously. We use information from each to inspire us to always do better so we can guarantee a pleasant stay based on our promise of cleanliness, comfort and convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
24
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hostess and the chef were warm, friendly and very helpful. Wayne and Patsy went out of their way to make you feel at home without being intrusive. The house was clean and nicely appointed. Very convenient to the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a business/pleasure trip and we wanted something other than the usual hotel. Staples Ctr./LA LIVE walkable. Easy access to everything downtown via DASH system (25 cents!!!!!!!!) though we often walked one street beyond to the light rail as we also needed to get to Hollywood sights and Pasadena. Lucky find. Very nice rooms, wonderful breakfasts, really good value.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This quaint facility is a few easy blocks from the USC campus. During the day it isn't a bad walk, but walking at night made this out of towner a bit nervous.

The facility is very well kept and the rooms we stayed in were generous in size.

Breakfast was nice and the hospitality by the host was excellent. They were meticulous in planning for our arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcarter657, Proprietor at The Inn at 657, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
At The Inn At 657 our business goal is perfection. So we are sad if we disappoint a guest by being merely adequate. Even with our modest prices our goal is to provides touches of elegance that combine with our clean, comfortable and convenient accommodations to equal a perfect experience. All of our small staff regrets our guest was disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I go back a long time visiting LA. It used to be incredibly smoggy...and you always traveled 45 minutes to anywhere you were going. And, staying downtown could be pretty pricey. Well, not any more.

We had the great pleasure of staying at the Inn at 657. There are actually two buildings probably built in the 50's with hardwood floors, beautiful sitting room and dining room. We were in LA to attend the Dwell Conference at the Convention Center. The Inn is 1 mile from the Convention Center. We walked it easily. We also walked (yes, LA is a walkable city) to the museum of modern art, restaurants and all sorts of other incredible places. And, here's the real cool part, we also took Mass Transit!! We took the Metro Rail. Unbelievable...efficient...beautiful and very cost effective.

The Inn is run by Patsy and her daughter Tracy. Wayne is the chef who prepared breakfast for us. They are all wonderful...knowledgeable...friendly...skilled...and very professional. By now you are thinking this review is way too upbeat and positive. Well, I apologize for that but we came home with a little extra hop in our step. The experience was fun and inspiring. The Inn's rooms are clean and spacious enough. Ours had a little sitting area off of the bedroom. The bathroom was a good size. The windows opened so we had fresh air. Our room was very quiet. The full breakfast Wayne prepared was delicious. We took advantage of the parking offer which I think was $8 per night which I would recommend because then you can just leave the car as we did for 3 days and walk or use the Metro.

Also, (we drove to this) do not miss the Getty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I struck out finding a hotel within walking distance of the convention center but then lucked out when I found thi place. I'm not a B&B-er; forced socialization with strangers isn't usually my thing. But wow. Easy walking distance to Convention Center. Nice setting and very interesting neighborhood (until, that is, it dumps you on the Figeuroa, though there's a great cafe across the St. and the usual convenience stores (and Wing Stop, my guilty pleasure). It was always a pleasure to return "home" after days and nights of business events. I did have a car and parking was very convenient. Only needed it to go to other parts of the City. Seems like the entrances to all the major highways are right there. Pretty front yard - I could sit out on it with coffee and an iPad (wifi strong and reaches the yard!).

Clean, spacious room. Finally the room was great. Bathroom and rest of suite very nice and clean. And I lucked out with a kitchen that even had pre-planted (and free) drinks and snacks. Patsy could not be nicer, my initial aversion to B&Bs melting away after my first b'fast table interaction with her and the other guests (all of whom were there for the very same convention). In short, I now feel like I have an LA home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I really cannot say enough nice things about the Inn. The location is perfectly between downtown and the USC area. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The gardens and outdoor sitting area are a nice respite from the bustle of the city. Patsy, the owner, is a wonderful host and a very interesting person. The breakfasts are as good as any restaurant in town. In fact, one day we had an early event, so hot coffee with cream and sugar, apples and granola bars were waiting for us when we were on our way. The little things were covered as were the big ones. Worth every penny and a great value at that.

Room Tip: Just ask Patsy, she'll take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at 657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 657

Address: 657 & 663 W. 23rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Inn At 657 Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at 657, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.