We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
Save Saved
You added Los Feliz Lodge to your Saves list
1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

While traveling through LA, we wanted to stay in a non-traditional hotel. Having stayed in a "suite" with home-like accommodations, we were looking for something similar. Los Feliz Lodges was just what we were looking for (and then some).

Notables:
Nicely decorated and clean
Close to neighborhood groceries and restaurants
Dish and silverware available (perfect for take-out meals)
Close to Hollywood and Griffith Park
Street-parking (wasn't much of an issue for us)
Owner (Jacob) made himself very available
...He gave me his cell phone number so I could call him or text him as needed
Top-notch customer service
...I texted Jacob about an HDMI cable for the TV, he brought it over within minutes.
...The dining recommendations in the binder were spot-on and extensive (with menus from nearby areas)

This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you live in LA (and not just a touring).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The owners were super on top of everything and made it easy for reservations and access to the property. We stayed in Villa 1503. The place was very thoughtfully decorated, from the painting on the walls to the eclectic art to the books chosen to display on the bookshelf. They also provided reusable shopping bags and a yoga mat. Reading lights are on both sides of the bed.

There was a good amount of space for two people, although the bathroom is small. As with many of these older properties there are some quirky features which at the same time add a degree of charm.

Minuses include noisy air conditioners and not great parking. One must remember when the street cleaners are coming and on which side of the street.

The location was perfect for visiting our daughter and was close for exploring the Silver Lake area. I recommend Los Feliz Lodge if you don't want luxurious accommodations and want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great alternative to a hotel - infact, it was like being at home! Great location, price and facilities.

We got stung by the parking situation and a $100 parking ticket when we forgot about the road cleaning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Each year before the start of school, we take our AFBV (Annual Family Bonding Vacation). Dependent upon our crazy schedules we book 2-5 days, hole up in Los Angeles and become tourists in our own town. I choose lodging and food and the rest of the family picks out the art/culture part of the trip.

My search for the perfect place to stay has come to an end. Los Feliz Lodge will now be our "go to" place for our annual excursion. Each casita is a well-equiped private apartment. The furnishings are comfortable mid-century/eclectic. The location was perfect for walking to shops, theaters and restaurants and perfect driving distance to Hollywood/Downtown/Wilshire, etc.

I would highly recommend the Los Feliz Lodge to anyone looking for something other than the average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Came here on vacation with my wife and 1 year old. We used to live in LA, so we were very familiar with the area. The price was right plus there was free street parking, since you definitely are renting a car when you come. (By the way, there is an enterprise about 2 blocks away that's a lot cheaper to rent from then an airport rental).

For us, it was like walking down memory lane since we lived about 5 minutes from here. Communication with the owner was great. The check in/check out process was smooth. The way the security access codes worked was smart, although my wife was still concerned about the doors not looking so secure. Once we arrived, we liked it instantly. It was like having your own apartment. It wasn't that big, but bigger than a hotel room, and bigger than our actual apartment when we lived here. We stood in the red villa.

There's a ton of stuff to do within walking distance, including groceries, restaurants, awesome movie theater, great area for running, and about 10 minutes to Hollywood. It's not far from downtown either, although I'm sure most people would be heading towards Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Venice beach, and Malibu, which are a drive, but that's what everybody in LA does...drive!

I would stay here again, although we probably would stay in one of the beach towns next time we come back. It was nice to be "back in the neighborhood"; we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in 1501. Wonderful. Apartment like. Von's right across the street, wonderful restaurants nearby (Little Dom's, El Chavo, Arbor, There's No Place like Home). Internet access, cable TV. No daily maid service, but not needed. LR, DR, fully equipped kitchen, even a washer and dryer.

Room Tip: 1501 is where we stays, based on reviews. Would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were looking for a place relatively close to our daughter's apartment while we visited LA, and weren't pleased with the hotel offerings in the vicinity. Then we found Los Feliz Lodge--and what a find it was! It was perfectly located for our purposes, close to restaurants (on Hillhurst Ave. and Hollywood Blvd.) and supermarkets, and to sites such as Griffith Park and Barnsdale Park, yet off the main streets and very quiet. We had the Green Casita--the smallest one, I believe--but it was perfect for two people, with a fully-equipped kitchen and comfortable living room in addition to the bedroom (with queen bed) and bath. It was tastefully decorated, with an emphasis on environmental sensitivity (bamboo towels and sheets, for example). It had good wi fi access, which allowed me to do some work while the family toured the sights. It was a great find, reasonably priced, easy to book on-line. We'll surely return when next we plan an LA visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Address: 1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Feliz Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.