We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cute place, but not for those with handicaps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A very cute place, but not for those with handicaps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The lodges here are little self-contained cabins, fully equipped with kitchen facilities. You could live here for months quite happily. Everything was immaculately clean, our host was friendly and very helpful, and the decor was very charming. Th owners even provide a very comprehensive guide to where to find various services. The area is very nice and quiet, although it's a good walk to the nearest restaurants and stores. The hip street with all the "action" (Hillhurst Ave.) is quite long so you might want to drive. Unfortunately, parking there can be a problem at times.

People with difficulties climbing stairs, however, should give this place a miss. The entrance is a steep climb up several (maybe a dozen) steps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

On a quiet residential street but walking distance from a busy shopping area, this gem is ideal for travelers who have commitments on the east side of Los Angeles. We were there last week-end for my daughter's wedding in Eagle Rock, and visited a cousin in Mr. Washington, and a friend in Silver Lake.
The "casitas" were supplied with a kitchen, living room, and separate bedroom and bathroom. All modern conveniences (wifi, air conditioning/heat, TV in two rooms, unlimited telephone, a small library of books) including coffee, sugar and creamer.
Admission was by code through the gate and into the house (this later based on your home phone's last four numbers), but when we requested additional hangers, the host was immediately there-he lives on "campus."
Parking is on the street, but easy and available, and a Von's supermarket a short walk away.
This is a real find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I almost don't want to write a review because I want to keep this place a secret! My husband and I were looking for a place to stay in this area because it is close to where our daughter lives.The hotels in this area are not an option as they are not good quality.I found Los Feliz lodge searching in her zip code.We have stayed twice now each time for a week.Jacob is very helpful with info and getting you what you need. The street parking and secure gate and entrance are wonderful features.The neighborhood is exactly that and very safe.Everything is within walking distance or just a short drive to Vermont St. and Hillhurst which is a great area with amazing restaurants,shops and The Alcove where you sometimes see people reading scripts! It's in Los Feliz where many celebs live so you might see someone famous at a cafe!You must eat at House of Pies for home cooked food and the experience!The casita's are so funky,cute and clean!I love the decorating and sustainable materials that were used.It's very eco-friendly!You have a fully equipt kitchen with pots and pans and coffee maker,linens,etc.There is a flat screen T.V. in the bedroom and books and games in the living room.We had french doors which opened for a great view and fresh air if you don't want to use the air conditioning.The casita's feel so homey and cozy! The garden walkway is so pretty also.We have never been disappointed and will stay here in the future when we visit our daughter!

Room Tip: The website has very good pictures of each casita so you can choose the one for you!We had a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at Los Feliz Lodge with my partner during a whistlestop tour of the West Coast. It was my first time in LA and I had no idea what to expect so after days of trawling hotel deals with nothing standing out, we decided to opt for self-catering accommodation and found some great reviews for LFL here on Tripadvisor.

On this occasion we really weren't disappointed! The lodge is beautiful and charmingly decorated, a peaceful oasis just moments away from some of the city's biggest attractions. The guys who own the lodge are enormously friendly and could not have been more helpful or attentive (even with one man down as the usual owner was away on holiday). Our only regret was that we could not have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A friend from out of town stayed here recently and it was clearly a perfect experience. A super nice and roomy hardwood floored apartment with views of Griffith Park, this is a nice alternative to a traditional hotel. A reasonably priced and very large apartment complete with kitchen, living room, and bedroom. The place is tastefully furnished and decorated with quirky art and colorful paint on the walls. It creates a homey atmosphere that you can't replicate in a standard hotel room. I'd recommend this spot to anyone staying in my neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in the Green Casita for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Los Feliz is perfect if you want to get away from the more touristy side of LA and relax in quiet palm-lined streets. (the lodge's own little courtyard was very sweet).

I found it a great base for visiting Universal, and for taking a trip up to Frank Lloyd Wright's two local houses.

Jacob was extremely helpful and friendly. And you couldn't have asked for a more comprehensive guide to the local area. He recommended a great coffee shop in nearby Silverlake: 'Intelligentsia' and a lovely french restaurant. Both were very nice and made us feel like we were living like locals.

I'd visit every year if I could!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I can't say enough good things about The Los Feliz Lodge. What a wonderful contrast to the typical hotel experience. Our apartment was spanking clean, cheerfully decorated, well equipped and had a great view of the sunny neighborhood. Jacob Jurado welcomed us warmly, provided additional towels upon request but was respectfully unobtrusive. The property is well maintained. A guest book provides all the information you need to explore the neighborhood. Instructions on how to use the air conditioner, heat and TV are illustrated with photographs to help figure out operations. I especially liked the coffee page telling guests where to go to get coffee fast, Starbucks, a Good Cup of Coffee and place to have coffee and hang out. You bet the next time I am in LA I will be staying at the Los Feliz Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Address: 1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Feliz Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Los Feliz Lodge to your Saves list